Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Summer Internship

Options
  • 30-11-2012 12:20am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭

I was wondering if anyone has any advice on summer Internships with the big 4 ie application process and what they mainly look for in an interview??

I'm a second year accounting student and seriously considering applying for these positions.

If anyone has already completed a summer Internship your feedback would be very much appreciated. ( what role did you have and what part of the experience did you enjoy most?? ) :)

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 17 tkelly2012

I did a summer internship with PwC in 2011 - the joint audit/tax programme - six weeks in each, 12 weeks in total. A thoroughly enjoyable experience to say the least. Gives you a great taste for future role in accounting.

Set me up as well in terms of a job. If you get the internship you are almost guaranteed a graduate offer unless you really made a complete mess of it! Very nice way of avoiding the milk round process.

As far as I am aware though it's only for Penultimate year students.

Overall, I'd heavily recommend applying!

• Registered Users Posts: 316 ✭✭moleary20

i did an internship with a big 4 firm this past summer - excellent experience! So good that it completely changed my career path from being 99% sure I wanted to be a teacher to now going into an accounting job next year.

Agree with the other poster that its a brilliant stepping stone into a contract and avoiding the milkrounds cannot be underestimated!