Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wheel bearing question

• 29-11-2012 5:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭

My Campy Khamsin front wheel when I lock the qr skewer 'locks'. Wheel isnt touching anything.
    Take the wheel off and spins nicely in my hand.However when I put a bit of pressure on the caps over the bearings I can start to feel resisitance.
    Now the wheels are about a year old and have been through a lot and considering the cap over the bearings arent exactly watertight I presume the bearings are shot when pressure is applied.
    Is the best way to get the axle out by just giving it a gentle tap or does anyone have any tips.
    I havent taken the seal off the bearings...yet!
    Anyone any recomend any bearing suppliers if I decide that they are'nt worth saving.
    As I have gone to the trouble of getting the cap/circlip off (wasn't the easiest and industrial ppatience was needed) I may as well drop in new bearings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭Lusk Doyle

bcmf wrote: »
    My Campy Khamsin front wheel when I lock the qr skewer 'locks'. Wheel isnt touching anything.
    Take the wheel off and spins nicely in my hand.However when I put a bit of pressure on the caps over the bearings I can start to feel resisitance.
    Now the wheels are about a year old and have been through a lot and considering the cap over the bearings arent exactly watertight I presume the bearings are shot when pressure is applied.
    Is the best way to get the axle out by just giving it a gentle tap or does anyone have any tips.
    I havent taken the seal off the bearings...yet!
    Anyone any recomend any bearing suppliers if I decide that they are'nt worth saving.
    As I have gone to the trouble of getting the cap/circlip off (wasn't the easiest and industrial ppatience was needed) I may as well drop in new bearings.

Only a year old? Don't do anything with them before you try to nail the manufacturer first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

Yeah was debating whether to email Campy or Ribble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭Lusk Doyle

Yeah was debating whether to email Campy or Ribble.

Both. Always aim for as many marks as is possible.

So I put the wheel back on without the end caps and it spun freely ie no extra pressure on the bearings. Plenty of grease still in the bearings (which rules out a warranty replacement :o)
    Put the caps back on with some heavy duty grease in between the bearings and the cap to a) aid spinning and b) to prevent any moisture getting into the bearings in case of damage to the bearing seal.
    Wheel back on and still excatly the same which leads me believe ,from what I have read on another forum, that there is no seal on the inside of the bearings ie on the bearings that areon the inside of the hub.
    Will drop an email to Ribble and Campy regardless.

Now to source a set of bearings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

So I put the wheel back on without the end caps and it spun freely ie no extra pressure on the bearings. Plenty of grease still in the bearings (which rules out a warranty replacement :o)
    Put the caps back on with some heavy duty grease in between the bearings and the cap to a) aid spinning and b) to prevent any moisture getting into the bearings in case of damage to the bearing seal.
    Wheel back on and still excatly the same which leads me believe ,from what I have read on another forum, that there is no seal on the inside of the bearings ie on the bearings that areon the inside of the hub.

bearings are fecked, check out sjs cycles for replacement bearings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭wav1

Probably only standard bearings like a 6001 or someting like that.Better off just sourcing them in an engineering factors and make sure they are 2RS.This 2RS number at the end of a bearing number means 2 rubber seals.If they are 2Z these are 2 metal seals which only protect against dust etc but not water,so whatever the bearing num is make sure they are 2RS.A few euro will get these small bearings in an engineering factors.Also get a good make if you can such as FAG or RHP.

Bang on Wav.They are only 6001 bearings. There is an bearing supplier not far from my way home from work so I will pop into them and pick their brains. Will take the bearings out at the weekend which means taking those bloody circlips off again.

Did you get sorted?Might have a couple if your stuck.

wav1 wrote: »
    Did you get sorted?Might have a couple if your stuck.
    Wasn't near the yard today so didn't get a chance to pop in to Dickinsons or whatever they are called. Need to get the old bearings out first but amn't stuck.....yet.
    What you got there anyway.

there is no seal on the inside of the bearings ie on the bearings that are on the inside of the hub.

......And so it is.
    I popped out the bearings and sure enough there is only 1 seal on the outside with nothing on the inside.
    Cheap Bastards!

Wasn't near the yard today so didn't get a chance to pop in to Dickinsons or whatever they are called. Need to get the old bearings out first but amn't stuck.....yet.
    What you got there anyway.
    Think I have a couple of 6001.2RS bearings somewhere iof your stuck,but thats a good spot your going to if its the same place im thinking of.Dicksons on the North Rd in Finglas.They will have the good brands there.Just remember 2RS and not RS as thats your problem at the moment.

wav1 wrote: »
    Think I have a couple of 6001.2RS bearings somewhere iof your stuck,but thats a good spot your going to if its the same place im thinking of.Dicksons on the North Rd in Finglas.They will have the good brands there.Just remember 2RS and not RS as thats your problem at the moment.

Cheers wav1. Will keep it in mind.
    Yeah Dicksons is the place.
    Though strangely the seals say 2RS on them.

Cheers wav1. Will keep it in mind.
    Yeah Dicksons is the place.
    Though strangely the seals say 2RS on them.
    Yes thats just on the seals though.Same seals go in to the bearings regardless.It would be strange to buy a bearing with just one seal.Assembler could have popped out the seal on the inside for reasons best known to themselves.Id def leave the seals on both sides though.

Just a follow up ,in case anyone googles it or any boards'ie comes a cropper with the same prob,
    I finally got into Dickinsons this aft. 2 brand new bearings with seals on both sides for €10.20. He said they were the most expensive he had SKS or something.
    Easy to pop back in.
    Job done.

Just a follow up ,in case anyone googles it or any boards'ie comes a cropper with the same prob,
    I finally got into Dickinsons this aft. 2 brand new bearings with seals on both sides for €10.20. He said they were the most expensive he had SKS or something.
    Easy to pop back in.
    Job done.
    SKF are the bearings and are a top make.You could get jap or chinese ones for half the price but theres no point.At the end of the day you're sorted for a tenner.Happy days.