Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Facebook - garda checkpoint alert pages... playing with fire?

• 29-11-2012 12:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭

What's people's view on these pages that are popping up! I was not a member of one, but saw a status (because a friend liked the comment) update tonight warning of a checkpoint checking everything on a route that I would normally take!

Do you think that the authorities will take notice of these garda checkpoint pages as for one, they may be having an effect on garda revenue streams>????

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

My friend only drives when its raining out because he knows there'll be no checks.Hasn't paid tax in years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭repsol

neaideabh wrote: »
    What's people's view on these pages that are popping up! I was not a member of one, but saw a status (because a friend liked the comment) update tonight warning of a checkpoint checking everything on a route that I would normally take!

Do you think that the authorities will take notice of these garda checkpoint pages as for one, they may be having an effect on garda revenue streams>????

I saw that programme on Sky about the Bike Cops in UK.They prosecuted a driver who flashed oncoming traffic warning them of a speed check.The charge was of obstructing the police.Would say its the same with these websites but the law here might differ.Many a time I have been saved from those poxy vans by a driver going the other way flashing me

pmcmahon wrote: »
    My friend only drives when its raining out because he knows there'll be no checks.Hasn't paid tax in years.

Sounds worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭neaideabh

a nice recession busting story!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭neaideabh

repsol wrote: »
    I saw that programme on Sky about the Bike Cops in UK.They prosecuted a driver who flashed oncoming traffic warning them of a speed check.The charge was of obstructing the police.Would say its the same with these websites but the law here might differ.Many a time I have been saved from those poxy vans by a driver going the other way flashing me

I remember hearing a similar news story years back where the guards just outside Dublin did a trap specifically to catch people doing warning flashes and prosecuted about 30 people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

His car must be worn out after this summer.
    repsol wrote: »

I regularly flash my lights at speeding and dangerous drivers irregardless of checkpoints/poxy vans. If I'm ever prosecuted I can produce several witnesses to this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

I wouldn't be too sure if I were them. I got stopped at one in that horrific rain the other night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

MarkMc wrote: »
    I wouldn't be too sure if I were them. I got stopped at one in that horrific rain the other night.
    Was it in Dublin? In the country you will never see a checkpoint if it's raining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Only the traffic lads would be bothered to do you for no tax/nct,regulars are just looking for drink driving or no insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,181 ✭✭✭✭event

Was it in Dublin? In the country you will never see a checkpoint if it's raining.

thats a massive lie there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,083 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

event wrote: »
    thats a massive lie there

I agree, there was a bike cop out with his speed gun last winter when it was pissing rain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭chris2008x

My excuse if I was ever caught without valid tax/nct is the car drives the same without it xD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Freedom of speech FTW.
    Besides, what can they actually do about it? Ask Facebook to take down the page? Sure, 5 replacement pages will be online by tomorrow morning.
    Get Facebook to totally wipe it out? No problem, they'll switch to Twitter, Blogger, or something else.

That's the beauty of the internet, the Streisand Effect as they call it. The more the government tries to kill something, the more people will start spreading it just as a "f*ck you" to censorship :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,237 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

The idea behind the speed vans is to reduce speed on certain roads, not to gain revenue! Whether you agree or disagree with this statement it (or something along the lines of it) is on the garda website...

Therefore, in theory, if you flash lights at oncoming traffic due to the presence of a speed van you are slowing traffic down on that road and therefore doing the job that is stated above!

Doing this means you cannot possibly be arrested!

Same goes for the facebook pages legality

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭Wicklowandy

I drove 50000 miles a year, mostly at night for years.(dublin and country)

Checkpoints are far more frequent monday, tuesday and wednesday nights when theyve less public order etc to be dealing with, and they can breathlyse delivery men / lorry drivers /taxis. Most of these people wont be drunk and will have everything in order.

And then they can say we breathylsed x amount of people. Sure they have monthly targets.

And when it rains, its back to the station unless theyve been bold;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭HeyThereDeliah

neaideabh wrote: »

Does everyone check Facebook while driving?

If you have all your documents in order checkpoints will not bother you.

Don't they have wet gear for those rainy days, plenty of checkpoints around these days/nights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭repsol

I agree, there was a bike cop out with his speed gun last winter when it was pissing rain.

He must have been caught in bed with the inspectors missus and was being slapped:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

More than likely you mate is driving an unroadworthy vehicle without NCT.

Dose he have insurance?.

Garda cars fitted with dashboard ANPR usually picks out these guys. :p.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Pacly

The guards should post onto the facebook pages saying there are speed vans on a road, even when there aren't. Would make some people slow down!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭mahonykid

why would gards care ? the roads where speed checkpoints are on are already posted up on the garda website?
    heard an interview on the radio a while back too where a super was asked on the garai's view on this facebook page, he even went as far to say it was a good thing because its getting people to slow down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Freedom of speech FTW.
    Besides, what can they actually do about it? Ask Facebook to take down the page? Sure, 5 replacement pages will be online by tomorrow morning.
    Get Facebook to totally wipe it out? No problem, they'll switch to Twitter, Blogger, or something else.

That's the beauty of the internet, the Streisand Effect as they call it. The more the government tries to kill something, the more people will start spreading it just as a "f*ck you" to censorship :D

And what about criminals using these pages the check where the Gardai are?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭wilfitz

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    And what about criminals using these pages the check where the Gardai are?

What about the lads who flash the cars to warn them about the checkpoint up the road only to get home to find there house burgled and who do they call then?? Pity the burglar did not pull up to the checkpoint because some gob****e is after flashing up the road!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Checkpoints generally only last 20 or 30 min so unless you regularly checking FB as you drive then chances are that they'll be gone and finished by the time your next in that area...so they're pointless and only serve to make those contributing think they're doing some sort of public favour but in reality they're sad little people with nothing else much going on in their lives.