Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vocal Reputable Opponents to Cannabis Legalisation in Ireland

• 28-11-2012 12:38am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭

Hey all, As we all know, legalisation of cannabis in two american states for personal use has had renewal calls for similar action in Ireland, most notably by luke 'ming' flanagan. He does have a very credible reasoning, but as he has legislation being brought before the Dáil in the coming months - early next year I believe, what vocal opponents will show theselves, while I believe he doesnt have a hope in hell and that most parties will oppose the motion, I am seeking to host Ming for a debate on the issue in college but cannot think of an individual that would stand against him in a toe to toe debate, while Fine Gael and Labour will probably oppose the motion,i cant see any individual politician that would stand against him, can anybody on here think of a "vocal reputable opponent " to such a debate against Ming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,731 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Sure it could only be Captain Fun himself

Micheal-Martin.jpg

I can't think of anyone else, maybe he might want to get hip with the young crowd and he'll actually support Ming.

Ming isn't the only one, the HSE are pushing for a change in the law as well, it could happen, the sooner the better so we can turn all the dole subsided drug dealers into tax payers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

I'm not sure what Senator Ronan Mullen's stance is on dope but I'd doubt he is in favour of legalisation.

And it'd be great craic watching him and Ming battle it out ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

Try michelle mulherin (FG TD). Honestly don't know what her stance is on it but she's bat **** crazy conservative so would likely oppose it. She also has a history with ming as she's pushing to get a Dail dress code which will target members like ming. They've had some run ins with each other already.
    She wasn't afraid to put herself out in the media to defend her infamous "fornication" comments so she'd probably be up for a debate with Mr Ming.

She's also done a book review on 50 shades of grey on live tv which no doubt she was invited to do because of her conservative view point so she's not afraid to take the debate bait. (she actually came across well in that review considering what most people were expecting her to come out with).

(I'm just assuming she's against legalising cannabis btw)