Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is your favourite thing about the county you live in?

• 27-11-2012 9:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

the exit onto the motorway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

The roads out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

narwhalthe wrote: »

The scenery!

The closest to this beautiful Kerry scenery that I have found is in Switzerland :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

That it is Cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Winty

narwhalthe wrote: »

The underground rail system

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭narwhalthe

kerry4sam wrote: »
    The scenery!

The closest to this beautiful Kerry scenery that I have found is in Switzerland :)

I definitely want to check Kerry out. Have only really gone through it! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

That it's not Sligo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

kerry4sam wrote: »
    The scenery!

Donegal?

I like the beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭mashedbanana

Cork... 'nuff said!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

Even if you don't like your county though, is there at least one thing you do like about it? Could be a place or a restaurant or anything!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

The junkies.
    Great bunch of lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Oh, beautiful Meath, you've got all that I need,
    your rivers they flow with delight
    your fields are so green, there's plains to be seen
    and your towns are so gay and so bright
    fishing down on the Boyne, I remember the time
    you would think it was all just a dream
    and wherever you roam, there's no place like home
    and the beautiful county of Meath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Its fairly peaceful here. (Cork)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

It has the widest range of amenities, services and opportunities in the country. It also has the largest and most diverse population. More opportunity for a buzz basically.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭boomkatalog

I'm from Kerry, living in Dublin. Eddie Rockets is now within walking distance, not an hours drive away :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

At the moment it's the Winterval festival that's about to start Friday,looks amazing and Christmassy!

-Waterford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Winty wrote: »
    The underground rail system
    Ssshh, the secret Kinnegad underground rail system is for sending the gold out and bringing the slaves to work the mines in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,816 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Phoenix wrote: »
    The cheese.

Stupid question but what great cheese can you get that the rest of the country can't ??
    Or is it really cheesy house music that you mean ...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Oh, beautiful Meath, you've got all that I need,
    your rivers they flow with delight
    your fields are so green, there's plains to be seen
    and your towns are so gay and so bright
    fishing down on the Boyne, I remember the time
    you would think it was all just a dream
    and wherever you roam, there's no place like home
    and the beautiful county of Meath.

GET A ROOM!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Generally speaking, the fact my home and family are there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Co. Clare

Its amazing scenery - The Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Doolin, Ballyvaughan, Lough Derg and the Loop Head Peninsula.
    Great surfing/beaches - Lahinch, Kilkee, Spanish Point and Fanore.
    Excellent Gof courses - Doonbeg and Lahinch.
    Good Trad music

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

That it is not cork

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

live in wicklow - my favourite thing is its close to home (dublin). arklow is a dump

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

We have town.

All the media focus on the capital.
    The government spend all their resources and efforts on the city.

CJC999 wrote: »
    That it's not Sligo.

Sligo is Irelands hidden gem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭triple-M

dublins fair city
    Where the girls are so pretty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Uh, we have the highest security prison in Ireland. That's reassuring I guess...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

The pubs open until all hours of the night .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

Dean09 wrote: »
    The junkies.
    Great bunch of lads.

Ehh.... are ye not mixing them up with the Chinese?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Carlow is where I live and I like it because they'll never beat Kilkenny in the hurling. I moved to Carlow because my fella's from here so to paraphrase Rihanna I found love in a hurl less place :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

The coast (Cork).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

The hot sexy girls summer weather. 30+ degrees for about four months straight, magic when you live ten minutes from the beach.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    The hot sexy girls summer weather. 30+ degrees for about four months straight, magic when you live ten minutes from the beach.

yeah Gorey is nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭cazzak79

I like in bray on Wicklow but my heart will always be to Galway where I was born and grew up
    Lovely people, great city and Connemara there is so many good things

Mine would be the coffee and brownies in 3fe or Roasted Brown, and the lad who fell on his ass on RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,816 ✭✭✭Markcheese

That it is not cork
    So that means you've never lived in Cork
    ( or maybe you're actually from Cork)

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

slightly ot but there is a little coffee shop in Cahir called the lazy bean (iirc). it has to be the best coffee house in tipp, if not the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭anthonyos

the hill on a sunny summers day:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

It's never so hot that it's sweltering or so cold that you can't shove a good jacket on and get sh-t done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

It's not Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

I live in Dublin. My favourite part is that I live right beside the sea :D but I can still get to the city centre easily

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Dewey collins

my home i don't have to cook dinner there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Pilotdude5

Ring of Kerry. Spent 3 hours flying around it and doing orbits over Valentia during the summer.
    Then I mistook Fastnet rock(which I know is in Cork!) for a helicopter on the flight back.
    Oops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,689 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

The coast of Wexford and the fact I live no further than three miles from every decent beach in the locality, although I rarely venture to said beaches as I don't like how the sand ends up everywhere. So I'm kind of contradicting myself.

But yeah Wexford's coast is lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

MrsD007 wrote: »
    Co. Clare

Its amazing scenery - The Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Doolin, Ballyvaughan, Lough Derg and the Loop Head Peninsula.
    Great surfing/beaches - Lahinch, Kilkee, Spanish Point and Fanore.
    Excellent Gof courses - Doonbeg and Lahinch.
    Good Trad music

Totally agree with this want to swap for a house in Dublin. It's great craic, seriously!