Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Got my stolen phone back!

• 27-11-2012 2:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭

Got my stolen phone back!!!

So my phone went missing out of my pocket on Saturday night at the Grand Social. Phone itself wasn't sold in Ireland, only on the orange network in the UK so fairly rare. Sunday afternoon I spot the same phone up on adverts.ie, no photos of it, the guy doesn't know if its unlocked or not, no charger. Suspicious.

So I make him a lowball offer for the phone like I'm trying to bargain him down and arrange a meeting. My good friend HammerHeadGym, legend that he is, waits ten feet away pretending not to know me but ready to step in if it all goes a bit pear shaped.

A large Arab looking gent approaches me and identifies himself as the seller. As soon as I see the phone I know its mine, same cracked case over the camera, the guy is pretty big so I give my mate the nod to come over and stand behind him and I confront him about it being my stolen phone. The guy stammers some excuse about just buying it in the club for €20 on the night, he works there, how could he have known it was stolen etc. Me and Hammerhead walk away like gunslingers into the sunset with the recovered phone :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

thank god
    i was so worried for a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

That's a cool story.

I once farted an entire plum.

My story is better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

Did you or HammerHead report this guy to the cops?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭gustafo

Peetrik wrote: »

So my phone went missing out of my pocket on Saturday night at the Grand Social. Phone itself wasn't sold in Ireland, only on the orange network in the UK so fairly rare. Sunday afternoon I spot the same phone up on adverts.ie, no photos of it, the guy doesn't know if its unlocked or not, no charger. Suspicious.

So I make him a lowball offer for the phone like I'm trying to bargain him down and arrange a meeting. My good friend HammerHeadGym, legend that he is, waits ten feet away pretending not to know me but ready to step in if it all goes a bit pear shaped.

A large Arab looking gent approaches me and identifies himself as the seller. As soon as I see the phone I know its mine, same cracked case over the camera, the guy is pretty big so I give my mate the nod to come over and stand behind him and I confront him about it being my stolen phone. The guy stammers some excuse about just buying it in the club for €20 on the night, he works there, how could he have known it was stolen etc. Me and Hammerhead walk away like gunslingers into the sunset with the recovered phone :)

All i say is BULL ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Pj! wrote: »

..or better yet to the 'club that he works at'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Freddy Smelly

report that guy in the grand social for stealing or handling stolen phones and get him the sack

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Or the place he works in where it was taken from you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Peetrik

No, I had no way to prove the guy stole it himself I figured it would be a waste of time. I was just happy to get my phone back :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭Spiritual

Any chance you could track down my bike. It was a blue one stolen on December 28th 1982.

There's no rush but if you could get it back before the 28th of December it would be great as I will be able to organise a 30th reunion party. You and Hammerhead would be guests of honour.

Thanks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 735 ✭✭✭joydivision

I love stories with arabs in them .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

you sucked him off to get your phone back, didnt you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭AEDIC

I love stories with arabs in them .

Arab 'looking' ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Go to the Grand Social. If he does work there tell the manager he's been either stealing phones or buying stolen phones in the pub.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Go to the Grand Social. If he does work there tell the manager he's been either stealing phones or buying stolen phones in the pub.

Oh I'll be reporting him alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭working fool

I lost the key to my locker at school in greystones on a school trip
    It had 319 on it and had a ford keyring on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭ronjo

gustafo wrote: »
    All i say is BULL ****

why why why why why???

Fair play OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

No Bull at all

http://www.adverts.ie/search/user-640771/status_sold/type_all

Looks like George managed to acquire a few devices in a very short time.

All sold from what I can see

Congrats OP on getting your phone back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭Spiritual

gustafo wrote: »
    All i say is BULL ****

You are such a cynic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭MajorMax

Badly disguised "I have a friend and a phone" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Johnnio13

When was this grand social. I didn't get an invite!
    As for George755 - should be banned from Adverts/Donedeal for selling stolen property.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

story sucks, no faces were kicked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭RainMaker

phasers wrote: »
    story sucks, no faces were kicked

Yea Peetrik - you of all people letting us down like that! Back to MT training with you and next time we want more violence in the story!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

If George was in his own country his hands would be missing now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,619 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

...and I deeclayred a jeehahd on dehm.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

MajorMax wrote: »

Poorly concealed "thinly veiled" comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,032 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Saw this earlier in the LGBT forum

well done lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

Did he make you ask for it back in a girls voice?

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Johnnio13 wrote: »
    When was this grand social. I didn't get an invite!
    As for George755 - should be banned from Adverts/Donedeal for selling stolen property.

Absolutely. OP should report him to the adverts mods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Bet he was Persian. Them lads aren't happy with tributes of water and earth anymore, it's all iPhones and Playstations now.

5starpool wrote: »
    Absolutely. OP should report him to the adverts mods.

Yep already done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Damn Mexicans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Nice work, P. The only thing that I'm upset about is that you didn't get me to go along in case it all went pear shaped. :D

HammerHead may be twice my size but (I have no comeback from that).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

'Hammerhead' sounds hot....

Tell me more about him OP......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭alphabeat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Oh I'll be reporting him alright

To the coroner's office...
    YEEEEAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,927 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Pics of hammerhead or GTFO...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

MajorMax wrote: »

Does this mean that 'thinly veiled' is now in fact banned? :pac:

Fair play BTW OP

edit: I see Oink got there (well) before me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scioch

Why didnt you punch him in the face and say something cool like they'd have done in the movies ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Admit it OP, you paid the asking price on the ad to get it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭ArtyM

I guess you caught him red orange handed!

see what I did there? orange network....

Ok. I already have my coat on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Logical_Bear

post the link to the adverts add..AH can go troll the fuk out of him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

mfceiling wrote: »
    Pics of hammerhead or GTFO...

Is the vid any good ?

http://vimeo.com/31689675

Not sure if this is the same Hammerhead we are talking about here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

HammerHeadGym

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Twiki

HTC San Francisco? A very rare phone indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

report that guy in the grand social for stealing or handling stolen phones and get him the sack

Ask to check if he has a work permit :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭rusty_racer94

A large Arab looking gent

As true as this story is, you might aswell had Osama as the main character.

When I said Arab I simply meant that to me (and I could well be way off) he looked like to be from Western Asia/North Africa. I wasn't referring to any specific country/religion/stereotype.