Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crazy lady on Dublins O'Connell Street with the bibles??

• 26-11-2012 9:49pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭

Does anyone here remember that whacky white haired lady who used to walk around in circles singing and preeching about the bible and god??

She would be there everyday beside the Annalivia fountain,allways with her sunday best clothes on,and would be holding up 2 bibles while singing out loud.

The day that DCC removed the fountain,that lady disappeared too.

So anyone know what ever happened to her???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

ah yeah! yer wan with the grey hair! shur i know her well! But which o'connel st are we talking about here op?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

She dances in the park at Wolf Tone quay.

Here's a facebook page dedicated to her.
    http://www.facebook.com/pages/WHO-REMEMBERS-THE-WOMAN-THAT-DANCED-ON-O-CONNELL-ST-BESIDE-THE-ANNA-LIVIA/345527055568

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

She's off hiding in a bunker stockpiled full of aldi beans waiting for the end of the world

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

ah yeah! yer wan with the grey hair! shur i know her well! But which o'connel st are we talking about here op?

Dublin.:)

She would walk around in circles between the Annalivia fountain and the flower stand.

She was kinda like a bizzare tourist attraction,as I often remember seeing tourists standing there,looking on in amazement and taking pictures of her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

What do you mean man? She's been dead for 15 years....

Keno 92 wrote: »
    What do you mean man? She's been dead for 15 years....

Seriously?

Link??

Lumbo wrote: »
    She dances in the park at Wolf Tone quay.

Here's a facebook page dedicated to her.
    http://www.facebook.com/pages/WHO-REMEMBERS-THE-WOMAN-THAT-DANCED-ON-O-CONNELL-ST-BESIDE-THE-ANNA-LIVIA/345527055568

According to one person,shes still alive but in a nursing home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Her name was(is?) Mary Margaret Dunne

Smidge wrote: »
    Her name was(is?) Mary Margaret Dunne

Thanks.:)

http://themorningstrut.blogspot.ie/2011/02/style-swoon-mary-margaret-dunne.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

O'Connell Street where?

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    O'Connell Street where?

says it in post 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

Mad Mary is what I new her by. She lived on Pottery Road with her son. By all accounts she had a horrific life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

Joe Duffy followed up on her a year or three back. Lives in a care home in South County Dublin.

She would wear, or hold, Easter Lillies.

Bumped into her a few times coming and going. (school) Polite.

Her 'evil twin', on the other hand, dressed in black, cross over her shoulder with the 'Provo beret' and tricolour ribbons. The bang off her..

So is she still alive then?

One person here says shes dead,yet others on that facebook page claim she is alive and in a nursing home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Jasus I remember as a kid seeing her dancing with not a care in the world. Harmless woman and god be good to her.

Amalgam wrote: »
    Joe Duffy followed up on her a year or three back. Lives in a care home in South County Dublin.

Her 'evil twin', on the other hand, dressed in black, cross over her shoulder with the 'Provo beret' and tricolour ribbons. The bang off her..

Thanks,that answers my post above so.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,602 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    O'Connell Street where?

The culchies had an Anna Livia fountain too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

I'm not sure but maybe the OP was talking about the one that used to have the annalivia fountain on it? Just a wild guess there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 ktm

Amalgam wrote: »

I once witnessed her attacking three priest's, called them every name under the sun, shouting that they were only in it for the money, they were cornered , and a bit of a crowd were gathering so they legged it into clearys to escape, she followed. It was truly like a father ted sketch, the three lads didnt know what to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Andy-Pandy wrote: »
    Mad Mary is what I new her by. She lived on Pottery Road with her son. By all accounts she had a horrific life.

Is there a story about her life?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

o1s1n wrote: »

The culchies had an Anna Livia fountain too?
    The government of the day installed one of them in every town west of the Shannon, only way to make the locals wash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭james142

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

she lives just up a bit from bakers corner pub in monkstown, very pleasant woman

Yeh that's the last I heard too

Smidge wrote: »
    Is there a story about her life?

She was in the daily mail about 2/3 year ago and it was an article all about her life, tried to find it online(that's legible) but couldn't

edit - Heres a low qual one

http://lh3.ggpht.com/_AqwYZ7E6nus/S4v2XYhqbmI/AAAAAAAAACU/XEPWl2hsxTE/mary2.jpg

vicwatson wrote: »
    Yeh that's the last I heard too

i walked by her a lot when i worked on pottery road, she was always tending her garden and always said hello

She was in the daily mail about 2/3 year ago and it was an article all about her life, tried to find it online(that's legible) but couldn't

Was it something about her past etc?
    Just curious I guess :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭Rigol

Take it those bibles sold pretty well then.

Whos the mad one now she said, as she looked out on the sea from her monkstown condo, the smell of fresh bread wafting from the corner bakers.

Rigol wrote: »
    Take it those bibles sold pretty well then.

Whos the mad one now she said, as she looked out on the sea from her monkstown condo, the smell of fresh bread wafting from the corner bakers.

are you talking about monkstown in south dublin or monkstown in cork? because the monkstown in south dublin is 90% dog rough

23486_493661920470_2040693_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭cassid

The one with the black beret was the scary one!

cassid wrote: »
    The one with the black beret was the scary one!

With the tricolour ribbons tied around cross eh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭Rigol

are you talking about monkstown in south dublin or monkstown in cork? because the monkstown in south dublin is 90% dog rough

What the place near Dun Laoghaire?....with the big gaffs?

Rigol wrote: »
    What the place near Dun Laoghaire?....with the big gaffs?

yeah the place with the little scrotes running around and the dogs going in packs for protection around the farm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

No its not, the Farm is grand as well. I'm guessing you must be the type of person that is scared of their own shadow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭danslevent

paddy147 wrote: »
    Dublin.:)

She would walk around in circles between the Annalivia fountain and the flower stand.

Dublin? Never heard of the place.

It's in New Hampshire :rolleyes:

Ah ri.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 69 ✭✭TheFisherKing