Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Windows 8 "This app can't run on your PC"

Options
  • 26-11-2012 4:08pm
    Registered Users Posts: 662 ✭✭✭

Hi,

I am trying to install/load an original disc from Lotus on my laptop.
    I have upgraded from Vista. The disc is old but was working fine.
    I had this running fine, but now I cant get it to install using Windows 8.
    The message I keep getting is " This app can't run on your PC".

I am new to this Windows 8, can anyone help/advise.
    I'm not trying to run an app, I'm trying to load a disc ??

Thanks

jay

Comments

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,022 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Jay Dee wrote: »
    Hi,

I am trying to install/load an original disc from Lotus on my laptop.
    I have upgraded from Vista. The disc is old but was working fine.
    I had this running fine, but now I cant get it to install using Windows 8.
    The message I keep getting is " This app can't run on your PC".

I am new to this Windows 8, can anyone help/advise.
    I'm not trying to run an app, I'm trying to load a disc ??

Thanks

jay

It sounds like there's an autorun function on the disk that is called when you try to open the disk. Try going into the desktop (open the tile screen, then press Windows + D), opening the Explorer window (Windows key + E), then right-clicking your optical drive and selecting "open" from the list.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,113 ✭✭✭homer911

You dont state if you previously had the program/app working under Vista

If it wont work under Vista, it wont work on W8..

• Registered Users Posts: 662 ✭✭✭Jay Dee

Hi,