Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Entry Level Bike

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

You can get the SL Pro with a Sram Apex groupset for €1150 now, which, imho, is the best value of any bike under 1500 I've seen anywhere.

Not on the website but if you call the lads in Planet X Ireland Athlone they will build it to order for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Obsolete01

Is the Sram Apex not the bottom range groupset ? The lowest groupset I will go for is 105.....I was at the Planetx store on Friday and tehy said they would do the SL Pro for 1250 but I dunno is the cube better because of the fact that it has Ultegra rear derailler ? But correct me if I am wrong here becuase I want a good quick bike that I can eventually go into races with....if ye think there are better bikes out there please post :)

Obsolete01 wrote: »
    Is the Sram Apex not the bottom range groupset ? The lowest groupset I will go for is 105.....I was at the Planetx store on Friday and tehy said they would do the SL Pro for 1250 but I dunno is the cube better because of the fact that it has Ultegra rear derailler ? But correct me if I am wrong here becuase I want a good quick bike that I can eventually go into races with....if ye think there are better bikes out there please post :)

Apex is a better groupset than 105*.

Apex is Sram's lowest end groupset but they don't start at 2300 level like Shimano do.

I'd take the SL over the cube any day to be honest.

IF they told you they'd do the SL Rival for 1250, that's as good of a deal as you will get anywhere.

*in my opinion, it's all subjective, I prefer Sram, and it's lighter, smoother and has a wider choice of gear ranges.

Seaneh wrote: »
    Apex is a better groupset than 105*.

Apex is Sram's lowest end groupset but they don't start at 2300 level like Shimano do.

I'd take the SL over the cube any day to be honest.

IF they told you they'd do the SL Rival for 1250, that's as good of a deal as you will get anywhere.

*in my opinion, it's all subjective, I prefer Sram, and it's lighter, smoother and has a wider choice of gear ranges.

Oh ok fair enough and what do you ride yourself? I assume you have Sram/PlanetX stuff before ?

I'm currently on an old Giant with sora, I've ridden the SL Pro and loved it, I rode the Rival. But I've used Apex on a Boardman as well and loved it (I like the range, me and hills aren't friends).

I just much prefer Sram's ergonomics and shifting system, it's all a lot more natural to me.

I'd take apex over 105 every time given a choice.

Ok thanks for the input.....I will take it on board before making my final decision

Sure, try them all out yourself, whichever you prefer the feel of, buy.

Also, remember, looks are important, if you think the bike is sexy, you will go faster.

It's science an stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

I'd probably opt for Apex over 105 myself. Their of comparable quality although Apex is probably lighter. Actually I just remembered Saxobank rode a giro stage on some Apex stuff a few years ago.

http://road.cc/content/news/36163-giro-tech-contador-goes-apex

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Full Ultegra on a canyon here http://www.canyon.com/_en/roadbikes/bike.html?b=3074

and someone posted some lovely wriggle Ridley's lately too...

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/ridley-orion-1105b-105/

Lots of nice bikes around really for 1300 ish. Fair play to you for having the foresight to look above the 1000 euro parapet.
    http://www.mycycle.ie/bianchi-impulso-105-p/7y7y78oyoyui.htm

fat bloke wrote: »
    Full Ultegra on a canyon here http://www.canyon.com/_en/roadbikes/bike.html?b=3074

and someone posted some lovely wriggle Ridley's lately too...

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/ridley-orion-1105b-105/

Lots of nice bikes around really for 1300 ish. Fair play to you for having the foresight to look above the 1000 euro parapet.
    http://www.mycycle.ie/bianchi-impulso-105-p/7y7y78oyoyui.htm[/QUOTE]

Well since the bike to work scheme is there I may aswell get a decent bike while i can....Think the Planet X bike will be the best to go for so by the looks of things....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭BailMeOut

fat bloke wrote: »
    Well since the bike to work scheme is there I may aswell get a decent bike while i can....Think the Planet X bike will be the best to go for so by the looks of things....

Before deciding on a Planet X call / email the folks in Athlone about availability for the SL Pro in your size as they have been having very long delays filling orders (several months). I ended up cancelling my order as got tired waiting for it to come in.

BailMeOut wrote: »
    Before deciding on a Planet X call / email the folks in Athlone about availability for the SL Pro in your size as they have been having very long delays filling orders (several months). I ended up cancelling my order as got tired waiting for it to come in.

Solid advice.

BailMeOut wrote: »

Oh ok I will definatly do that so.....and what did you buy then ?!?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭BailMeOut

Oh ok I will definatly do that so.....and what did you buy then ?!?:D

I ended up getting a Cannondale SuperSix - see http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056758041