Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

my dropper

• 25-11-2012 6:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭

So it's been a while since I asked about what dog to get here on the forum, and since then Ive had some good times and bad times with my fella. He is a springer sire x pointer dame dropper. He looks like a pointer. His name is Harry.

I was training him away as per the books up until about 6 months ago, he was coming, sitting and starting to retrieve for me but he got a skin disease, I can't remember what exactly the vet called it but it was mites that are on all dogs, and some dogs just get really badly infected with them. He had had a small but persistent cut on his tail from wagging it of the wall outside, and I think this lowered his immunity and allowed the mites to thrive. Anyway after an initial wrong diagnosis and treatment for Mange, the vet gave him a skin scrape and rightly diagnosed the mites. This was followed by about 6 months of daily Ivomac doses, and an initial course of anti biotics. He was really shook at the start, but after all that treatment he is back to A1, thankfully.

So in the last month I brought him back to where he had been with the training (this had lapsed with his illness) and started to take him out in the field to let him hunt a bit, he is about 20 months old now so needed to get out I think.

Anyway, his recall was ok until he got distracted, by livestock which he would bark at, or by a scent and he would be gone like a lunatic he also tended to hunt out of range and ignore when called. Epointer had said that droppers could be hard to reign in and that an e collar might be beneficial. So a couple of weeks ago I watched ebay and found a PAC collar for a good price, 2nd hand but looks brand new to me. its an nDXT+ all I can say is it has been brilliant.
    I gave him a bit of a pick when he was barking at some horses and now he has no interest in them. I use the vibrate button if he ignores a recall and he just turns and recalls straight away. He is fairly timid and I was afraid the shock would be to harsh for him and even on a low setting for a recall correction I think it would be to much for him. As a deterrent for chasing livestock it has been perfect. The vibrate is perfect for correcting the recall, he isn't bothered by it just recalls with a wagging tail. Spent 3 hours today walking around rough ground and he was hunting perfectly, not really pointing yet but I feel he is getting there. I had to use the vibrate to get him to recall twice.
    He is pretty slow to go into heavy briary cover, but once he gets a scent he will plough on in!
    So this long winded post is really to say thanks to Epointer for recommending the PAC collar, and that I would highly recommend them to anyone with a head strong dog.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Well done KFod.
    Glad it's working out.
    Ecollars are the single best dog training tool on the market IMO.

You could try the wing on a fishing rod or a planted bird in a cage to encourage him to point...

Some droppers never will point you see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

Sounds like the dog got a bad start good hear he is on the mend.

After been out of training I'd say he is just really excited that's adding to the relatively small trouble your having.

Sounds like your happy and your on the right track.

Best of luck with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭fiestaman

Good to hear . Would you have to use that collar all the time? or over time would the dog know if it was on him or off him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭kfod

Thanks lads,
    it's good to be heading down the right road with him again anyway,

I figured that as a dropper he may or may not have the characteristics of either parent, so may not point, I see him kind of pointing though and more so lately, he stops with paw up kind of fixed then a few seconds later off he goes after the scent. I don't know if you can train him to perfect this though?
    Anything I have read about gundogs seems more towards springers or retreivers so pointer training is vague enough in my head!

The ground I've been on the last few days was pretty good for game last year but is slack this year so far. Today all we put up was one snipe!! I've a few more places lined up for him though! We will find a Pheasant or two yet this year lol!

fiestaman wrote: »
    Good to hear . Would you have to use that collar all the time? or over time would the dog know if it was on him or off him?
    Epointer would be the man to answer that as I have mine only a few weeks.

in the booklet with the collar it says to leave it on him during the day for 10 days or so to trick them into thinking it's just a collar. I've done that, but I dunno does he know or not. Either way he is recalling ok 99% of the time as is, just that 1% when he would feck of after a rabbit or something and be gone, with the collar he is called back before disappearing out of sight.

I keep the collar on the pointer as he's too clever. He knows when it's on him & when not. At this stage it's not that big a deal as he's matured but up to say 3/4 years old sometimes a deaf ear would re appear if I had no collar on him.
    Furthermore having a dog at the range pointers go, I would like to maintain that extra sense of control so keep it on him.
    I didn't bother putting it on the springer this weekend as there's no need anymore. It's easier keep on top of the dog at closer range & he's well conditioned now too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭fiestaman

I keep the collar on the pointer as he's too clever. He knows when it's on him & when not. At this stage it's not that big a deal as he's matured but up to say 3/4 years old sometimes a deaf ear would re appear if I had no collar on him.
    Furthermore having a dog at the range pointers go, I would like to maintain that extra sense of control so keep it on him.
    I didn't bother putting it on the springer this weekend as there's no need anymore. It's easier keep on top of the dog at closer range & he's well conditioned now too

You had one on a spring too? Are they bulkey yokes, any chance of gettin caught up in heavy cover? Its sounds a good job,i hope i wont need one but i think i mite when the time comes. Maybe my lad will surpirse me.

I was out with 3 springers yesterday. 2 had em on, mine didn't for a change.
    One of the ones that had is the best dog I've seen in cover & it doesn't slow him. He was bleeding on the paws, ears, around eyes, nose etc from the cover he was in going home & we'd no issue.
    I'm sure it snags a bit but if that stops a dog in cover then it's not the collar I'd be worried about...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

kfod wrote: »
    So it's been a while since I asked about what dog to get here on the forum, and since then Ive had some good times and bad times with my fella. He is a springer sire x pointer dame dropper. He looks like a pointer. His name is Harry.

I was training him away as per the books up until about 6 months ago, he was coming, sitting and starting to retrieve for me but he got a skin disease, I can't remember what exactly the vet called it but it was mites that are on all dogs, and some dogs just get really badly infected with them. He had had a small but persistent cut on his tail from wagging it of the wall outside, and I think this lowered his immunity and allowed the mites to thrive. Anyway after an initial wrong diagnosis and treatment for Mange, the vet gave him a skin scrape and rightly diagnosed the mites. This was followed by about 6 months of daily Ivomac doses, and an initial course of anti biotics. He was really shook at the start, but after all that treatment he is back to A1, thankfully.

So in the last month I brought him back to where he had been with the training (this had lapsed with his illness) and started to take him out in the field to let him hunt a bit, he is about 20 months old now so needed to get out I think.

Anyway, his recall was ok until he got distracted, by livestock which he would bark at, or by a scent and he would be gone like a lunatic he also tended to hunt out of range and ignore when called. Epointer had said that droppers could be hard to reign in and that an e collar might be beneficial. So a couple of weeks ago I watched ebay and found a PAC collar for a good price, 2nd hand but looks brand new to me. its an nDXT+ all I can say is it has been brilliant.
    I gave him a bit of a pick when he was barking at some horses and now he has no interest in them. I use the vibrate button if he ignores a recall and he just turns and recalls straight away. He is fairly timid and I was afraid the shock would be to harsh for him and even on a low setting for a recall correction I think it would be to much for him. As a deterrent for chasing livestock it has been perfect. The vibrate is perfect for correcting the recall, he isn't bothered by it just recalls with a wagging tail. Spent 3 hours today walking around rough ground and he was hunting perfectly, not really pointing yet but I feel he is getting there. I had to use the vibrate to get him to recall twice.
    He is pretty slow to go into heavy briary cover, but once he gets a scent he will plough on in!
    So this long winded post is really to say thanks to Epointer for recommending the PAC collar, and that I would highly recommend them to anyone with a head strong dog.:D

Would like to see a picture of your dropper, here is one of mine from a few years ago.

c403532e.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭kfod

Just took a few there now, he's not to keen on having his picture taken lol!!

DSCN1044.jpg

DSCN1046.jpg

DSCN1047.jpg

usually when he is in the house he is asleep in the corner or begging for food....