If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Business Information Systems

• 24-11-2012 04:59AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭

Hello there, I'm looking for information on this course. Having taken a year out of college (financial reasons) I am hoping to do a law/business bassed course this time next year and would be thankful if you could answer these questions based on this course:

- I didn't do business for Leaving Cert so would this hold me back? At what level do they start?

- I did do accountancy, A1 in Ordinary so I'm able enough for it. WaS wondering what the jump is like from LC Ordinary to Accountancy BIS?

-Also, how deep is the IT in the course? I don't mind, just like to know :)

Thanks to anyone who helps :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,315 ✭✭✭Reventon93

Well i'm in first year corporate law. Im mixed with BIS and commerce students.

I didnt do business either but its optional on my course. I chose to do it because it sounded really intetesting and im glad I did. The lecturer i have is really good and he makes it really intersting

The cousrse is split into 2. In the first semester its BIS and in the second its BIM. Theres an assignment in the first semester worth 20% of the semester marks. Its not really business, more of how technology plays a part in business and if you have a slight interest you should like it

Its something similar for accounting. Its split into 2 with management accounting this semester and financial accounting next semester. So far we've covered cost volume profit analysis, costing systems and budgeting. Theres 3 online test worth 5% and then an exam at the end of the semester woth 85%

Hope thats helpful, and if you want to know anything about law just let me know :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

Hi there CFC4lyfe,

I'm second year BIS student and I'll be glad to help you out if you want to seek any further information regarding the course beyond this post if you wish. To answer your question regard the business orientation of the course, it doesn't matter one bit that you didn't do it for your leaving, to be honest I believe the courses' name misrepresents it to a certain degree in the sense that it is a bit heavier on the IS/IT aspect than it is on the business spectrum; Information Systems with Business Principles would be a more appropriate name in my opinion.

The course really does build from the ground up though; if there's anything you haven't done before concerning either the business or the IS/IT discipline, then it will be covered eventually. You really aren't at an great disadvantage if you're not too familiar with either spectrum from the start.

Concerning your previous experience with Accounting, that should help you quite a bit in the first couple of years in BIS given the fact that you'll be covering introductory level modules in Financial and Management Accounting split respectively into each semester in first year, then in the first semester of second year there is a module based off Drury's Management Accounting principles. So you should do fine in that regard, there is no great jump between second level and third level when it comes to introductory accounting.

The IS aspect of the course, as I have touch on in another paragraph, is indeed the main basis of the programme, and its integration with business makes the course quite interesting; not to mention highly employable. It won't be as heavy on maths based IT modules, such as a module in Algorithms, as CS/IT would be, but it does go into all the different IS/IT module available in a typical CS based course.

To be honest I could only ever recommend this course, I personally enjoy it, it's a highly rewarding, unbelievably high employment rate, and you get to learn some cool stuff as well (although, that "stuff" generally falls into the IS aspect moreso than business; having said that economics is interesting). In the second semester of second year — depending on your first year results — you get the opportunity to study abroad, which is a great prospect for any young student in my opinion.

If I remember correctly, BIS' exchange programme is marketed as an "opportunity to study in America", but it is definitely not restricted to that; you may also be offer the opportunity to study in the likes of France, Sweden and England, among other places; I, for instance, will be studying in the Hong Kong University of Science & Technology, which is ranked #1 in Asia and #33 in the World according to the CS University ranking system, it's business school is also placed 10th if I remember correct. Again, a hard opportunity to pass up!

Then in the second semester of third year you will also be put out on work experience, and considering the fact that the course is partners with some big name companies it's not strictly a bad thing to have in ones' CV.

I hope I helped you, if you do have anymore questions, please don't be afraid to shout. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭BhoscaCapall

Nailz wrote: »
    to be honest I believe the courses' name misrepresents it to a certain degree in the sense that it is a bit heavier on the IS/IT aspect than it is on the business spectrum
    Well two-thirds of the course name relate to IS while only one-third does Business :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭CFC4lyfe

Thanks alot for the answers, really made me go for this course tbh. Much appreciated! I remember when I was considering doing this last year a couple of people told me it was a boring course, but I'd like to hear your opinion on that? From what I've read regarding the module it seems very interesting.

Well two-thirds of the course name relate to IS while only one-third does Business :P
    Damn you, Buzz Killington! :o
    CFC4lyfe wrote: »
    Thanks alot for the answers, really made me go for this course tbh. Much appreciated! I remember when I was considering doing this last year a couple of people told me it was a boring course, but I'd like to hear your opinion on that? From what I've read regarding the module it seems very interesting.
    No problem at all. Well I certainly wouldn't call it boring, it's a hell of a lot more interesting than your typical generic courses such as Arts or Commerce anyway, from what I know, but then again that's only my opinion. I won't lie to you, though, if you find that you are not particularly interested in certain aspects of the course then there is a possibility that you just won't like it, a few people last year dropped out because of that very same problem, but that is usually only those who are in college exclusively for its social aspect; which in my opinion I don't think will be a problem for you as you do appear to be putting in a great deal of thought into what course you'd like to do.

Having said all that, the course is considerably time consuming and will end up becoming incredibly difficult if you miss too many lectures, therefore avoid the mentality of casually repeating certain modules as a viable option to get by each year, it will require a substantial amount of work to do very well in the course overall. In fairness, it all depends on what you want from your years in college; that's not to say you won't be able to go out and have a good time though. But, for me at the very least, the course is very rewarding, interesting and good for you future career prospects, so I would without doubt recommend it, and I'd suggest you at least consider it as an option when choosing your courses on the CAO this year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭aliaslinden

I'm doing BIS as a module of first year corp law. It is definitely interesting for the most part. Helps if you attend all the time and read the notes and text book. I've attended but havent done much work outside the lecture hours and the exam is around the corner.

Don't want to change topic, but do you who've done the course, think you really need to go through the text book well to pass the exam? Also any tips for the exam? Appreciated :)

Sorry to bump this up but was just reading a bit on BIS and the level of maths needed for the course?

Having taken a year off from studies after the Leaving Cert and not being that strong in Maths I'm worried this could lead to me struggling in some modules?

Thanks for the help!

CFC4lyfe wrote: »
    Sorry to bump this up but was just reading a bit on BIS and the level of maths needed for the course?

Having taken a year off from studies after the Leaving Cert and not being that strong in Maths I'm worried this could lead to me struggling in some modules?

Thanks for the help!
    It's no problem good sir.

You need sweet feck all maths, I came into the course two years after I completed my Leaving Cert and had forgotten the majority of what I had learned with regards maths. It must be pointed out that there is a Quantitative Techniques for Business class in the first semester of second year, but given the fact that a lot of us in the course had a few years between that and doing the Leaving Cert, the entire year passed on the first try, I got somewhere around 95%, which is generally typical for a maths based course when you know what your doing from what I'm told.

The lecturer wasn't great to be honest, but the material was relatively easy to learn and it was taught from scratch, without the assumption that we knew maths already - so any maths that we might have had prior was not taken into account. There are plenty of accounting modules in the first couple of years, so if you have any trouble adding and subtracting using a calculator then I suggest you steer clear of Business Information Systems, otherwise I think you'll be grand. ;)

Thanks alot for the answer mate. Was just worried after reading up on a few posts elsewhere that seemed to indicate that a strong level of Maths was needed in the course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,055 ✭✭✭Ficheall

The only maths content in the entire course is that one semester in second year. First year commerce students cover the same material in their first semester, if that gives any indication as to its difficulty.

Thanks for the answers, much appreciated!

Was wondering, if anyone would have any knowledge on the course structure down in UCC and if it would be similar to this course here in terms of workload, difficulty, maths difficulty etc.

T'is a pleasure to help.

Hmmm, I think your best shot at getting a well informed and accurate perspective on that is to go on to the UCC forum, so I think you should ask them and compare and contrast by your own account. I do know they don't have an EPAS or any sort of accreditation like that which the heads for the BIS programme in NUIG figuratively jumped through hoops to get, but that's not saying less about UCC's programme... I'm "told" that the facilities at UCC are lacking in comparison to the ones back in Galway, that was by a guidance councillor in my FETAC college before hand so take that whatever way you like.

I did check into Trinity's BIS course whilst researching too, even attended a bit of a promotional shindig for a culmination of Trinity courses in which BIS was involved and it didn't appear to me that it was up to scratch either. Not that that matters... Again though, I reckon you're best off asking the lads and lassies on the UCC forum for their opinion on it and work it out between the two. Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭IRISHSPORTSGUY

Is the work experience abroad a big part of the course (regarding achieving full marks/future employment opportunities?). I'm unsure about my capabilities of being able to afford it.

It's not totally necessary, out of about 25 students last year only 4 of us went of on the study abroad programme. It contributes absolutely zilch to your marking or overall degree, but it will naturally help out in terms of your employment prospects, it looks great on the CV.

Of course the effect that will have variers depending on the quality of institute you attended whilst on the programme as well as how cultural different the location was to Ireland, for example; you'll be able to go to a relatively average college in the UK as part of the programme, that wouldn't look quite as good in comparison to going to HKUST in Hong Kong or Uppsala University in Sweden, but will still catch the eye somewhat.

All in all though, it honestly doesn't matter, plenty of BIS graduates have got on quite well without it and I'm sure that will continue to be the case. It's great if you can do it, and I'd definitely encourage it, but not necessary for success in the course.