Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

an example of whats coming

• 23-11-2012 7:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭

this is an example of what happens for phones. now imagine this with hungry people. this is nothing to do with walmart or the US, this is people and how they behave when they want something. in this case its a phone.....

if the SHTF, it wont be pretty out there....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭BigBoi83

Thats nuts, but i would have expected them to be worse...still for food i dont want to think how they would react :eek::eek::eek:

Thanks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,732 ✭✭✭weisses

BigBoi83 wrote: »
    Thats nuts, but i would have expected them to be worse...still for food i dont want to think how they would react :eek::eek::eek:

Thanks...

That's just flawed reasoning ... how can you order a pizza without your phone !!!! jaysus :D:p

Serious... its shocking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Once again...

http://www.guardian.co.uk/education/2010/mar/16/disaster-planning-research
    One thing that does make him upset, however, is disaster movies. The latest to hit our screens is 2012, which Galea says makes him "frustrated about how badly Hollywood gets it wrong".
    "Disaster films convey completely the wrong view of how most people behave in these kind of situations," he says. "Hollywood shows people panicking, but my research shows that 9.9 times out of 10, people don't turn into crazed individuals, but behave quite rationally. They tend to help each other, too."

http://voices.yahoo.com/disaster-myths-reality-people-act-in-6831468.html
    Myth #1: People will revert to a barbaric state (i.e., looting, murder and rape).
    As a result of this myth, military troops are often deployed as law enforcement rather than humanitarian aid. Business and home owners refuse to evacuate their property because they are scared of looters.
    If you remember the headlines during Hurricane Katrina, the press sensationalized looting, murder and rape as common occurrences. However, Jaime Omar Yassin divulges that a lot of these stories were unfounded. For example, while there were accounts of people taking necessary survival items, the number of actual looters (people stealing luxury items) was quite exaggerated. Furthermore, the violence at the infamous evacuation shelter, the Louisiana Superdome, turned out to be virtually non-existent. Lucy Tobin quotes Ed Galea, a professor of mathematical modeling at the University of Greenwich, as saying, "...9.9 times out of 10, people don't turn into crazed individuals, but behave quite rationally."

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/johann-hari/the-myth-of-the-panicking_b_837440.html
    On April 18th 1906, San Francisco was leveled by an earthquake. Much of the city collapsed, and the rest began to burn. Anna Amelia Holshouser -- a middle-aged journalist -- was thrown out of bed, and then felt her house collapse all around her. She wandered the streets, and found herself sleeping that night in the park. But then the daze wore off, and she did what almost everybody else did: she began to look after the people around her. She knitted tents out of old clothes to house all the children who had lost their parents. She set up a soup kitchen, and the local shop-keepers handed over the goods for free. Hundreds of people gathered there, as they were gathering around similar people across the city. Anna put up a sign that said: "One Touch of Nature Makes the Whole World Kin."
    In San Francisco that week, all the city's plumbers began -- unpaid -- to fix the broken pipes, one by one. People organized into committees to put out the fires with buckets and anything they could find. The philosopher William James, who watched, wrote: "Everybody was at work... and the discipline and order were practically perfect." It had been an incredibly divided city, prone to race riots against Chinese immigrants. But not after the disaster struck. San Fransicans handed out food and clothes to astonished Chinese people. A young girl called Dorothy Day watched her mother give away all her clothes to survivors, and wrote: "While the crisis lasted, people loved each other."

http://media.wiley.com/product_data/excerpt/45/EHEP0007/EHEP000745.pdf
    One of the most widely held myths according to the literature is that people
    act irrationally in disaster situations. It is believed that people always panic.
    Panic is people’s inability to think clearly or their tendency to run frantically
    from buildings or the disaster scene. Another related belief is masses of people
    evacuating at once.

http://healthland.time.com/2012/10/31/how-disasters-bring-out-our-kindness/
    Although there’s a mentality that disasters provoke frenzied selfishness and brutal survival-of-the-fittest competition, the reality is that people coping with crises are actually quite altruistic.

http://www.slate.com/articles/health_and_science/science/2012/11/looting_after_hurricane_sandy_disaster_myths_and_disaster_utopias_explained.html
    On Thursday, three days after Hurricane Sandy swept across the Eastern Seaboard, darkening power grids, flooding neighborhoods, and killing at least 74 people, former Star Trek actor and social-media dynamo George Takei posted a lovely photo to his Facebook timeline. It showed two power strips draped over the gratework of a fence, phone cords tendrilling from each one. A sign said, “We have power. Please feel free to charge your phone!”

Elsewhere on Facebook, a user from New York described what happened a few hours before the storm hit on Monday when a man attempted to steal a woman’s pocketbook:

Immediately, people were at their windows yelling “Stop that guy!” and then, it was as if all the people on the sidewalk immediately conspired to do just that. A couple with a stroller blocked the guy from running east, a man appeared and chased him across the street where a woman with a dog forced him to stop so the man in pursuit could tackle the guy in the middle of the street. The purse was wrested from the thief, who got up and ran away again, only to be caught by an older guy on the opposite sidewalk who pulled him out to the street where the woman … could identify him.

And on and on and on...

People look after one another in times of trouble. That's the way it is, so I recommend we adjust any plans accordingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭ShadowFox

Doc Ruby wrote: »
    Read up on whats happening in America today after Sandy people are terrified to leave their homes because of looters People a looking in bins for food as fema are not giving the help they said they would The camps for people left homeless have no heating little food and are being stopped from charging their phones tablets and laptops so they cant get word out ive posted links on another page that i found. Where it is possible people are helping each other neighbors helping to protect each other but these are small groups nothing reported on a large scale and some of these groups are looting other groups

grapeape wrote: »
    Read up on whats happening in America today after Sandy people are terrified to leave their homes because of looters
    I'm not asking you to take my word for it.
    Galea has forged a career out of working out the science and psychology behind how people's brains function in disaster zones. He has interviewed thousands of survivors, from 300 people who escaped the World Trade Center on 9/11 to plane crash and Paddington rail disaster survivors. The results of his research are used by governments, building designers and emergency workers around the world to try to plan for the effects of future catastrophes.
    Of course there may be some trouble, and government actions are not the same thing as public actions. What I'm saying is the evidence suggests people by and large help one another and act cooperatively in a disaster.

I guess even from an evolutionary standpoint it makes perfect sense, once the disaster switch is flipped we're all one big happy family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭wolfeye

Unfortunately there does seem to be looting going on.

It's a crime that can almost be expected after a disaster. As Hurricane Irene pummeled the Atlantic Coast last year, looting was so prevalent that truTV put together a security fotage slideshows of the crime .Shortly after Hurricane Katrina new orleans was plagued with looting and violent attacks The New York Times reported.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/10/31/hurricane-sandy-looting-brooklyn-coney-island_n_2047183.html

The Washington Post reports that there were 14 home break-ins in Breezy Point from Nov. 12 to Nov. 18. There were none during the same period last year.

NYPD Commissioner Ray Kelly announced on Thursday afternoon that 18 individuals were arrested for looting at a Key Foods in Coney Island, and 2 more were arrested in Staten Island, ABC News reported.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/national/nyc-residents-say-houses-damaged-by-fire-flooding-during-sandy-looted-over-thanksgiving/2012/11/24/8b465738-3657-11e2-92f0-496af208bf23_story.html

Areas that were hit hardest by Hurricane Sandy were plagued with all sorts of crimes in the aftermath of the storm. Some places reported abnormally high numbers of break-ins, muggings, home invasions, and store looting soon after the storm clouds had lifted.

The newyork post reports that looters are ransacking “stores and homes across the city” and that some are posing as utility workers to con victims.
    These people are not acting out of desperation by looting water or food, they are stealing clothes and electronics

Are these news stories sensationalized?

Interesting article here .Looting after Disaster: A myth or reality?

http://www.colorado.edu/hazards/o/archives/2007/mar07/index.html

Im going by what I see in my community 20/30 years ago yes people would join together and help each other out there was less crime and little to no drugs doors were seldom locked 90% of houses used to have the key in the front door 24 hours a day neighbors helped each other with odd jobs kids out playing without their parents having to be worried about them because everyone knew everyone

These days crime is 200% worse there have even been reports of peoples clothes being robbed off of washing lines around the area. There had been shootings pipe bombs drugs only a month ago in the local shopping center a mother sent her child up to use the toilet a male and a female changed the childs clothes and cut her hair and tried to take her out of the shopping center only for the child seen someone she knew and screamed. There has been van(s) spotted trying to get kids to get into them at schools. Women being raped/attacked on their way home from work/shopping. When the bad weather cut off the water supplies a couple of years ago people were fighting over water from the tanker trucks it was crazy

Personally my way of thinking is to be prepared to look after me and mine first and not to depend on others then take it day by day and see if I help/join others

wolfeye wrote: »
    Are these news stories sensationalized?
    Yes, did you read the paragraph I quoted. Its not even hypothetical, the research is clear.
    Im going by what I see in my community 20/30 years ago yes people would join together and help each other out there was less crime and little to no drugs doors were seldom locked 90% of houses used to have the key in the front door 24 hours a day neighbors helped each other with odd jobs kids out playing without their parents having to be worried about them because everyone knew everyone

These days crime is 200% worse there have even been reports of peoples clothes being robbed off of washing lines around the area. There had been shootings pipe bombs drugs only a month ago in the local shopping center a mother sent her child up to use the toilet a male and a female changed the childs clothes and cut her hair and tried to take her out of the shopping center only for the child seen someone she knew and screamed. There has been van(s) spotted trying to get kids to get into them at schools. Women being raped/attacked on their way home from work/shopping. When the bad weather cut off the water supplies a couple of years ago people were fighting over water from the tanker trucks it was crazy

Personally my way of thinking is to be prepared to look after me and mine first and not to depend on others then take it day by day and see if I help/join others
    This always ends the same way so I'm not going to bother arguing with you. Do what you like in the event of a disaster, I'll do what I like, and best of luck to the both of us.

Doc Ruby wrote: »

This always ends the same way so I'm not going to bother arguing with you. Do what you like in the event of a disaster, I'll do what I like, and best of luck to the both of us.
    Theres no arguing yet you have your way i have mine If we are ever put to the test (hopefully not) and we make it out the other side thats the time for arguing over which way if any worked so we will shall start arguing in the very distant future :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

While civil disorder may frequently be overstated, crime during times of crises has certainly been seen to flourish

http://www.guardian.co.uk/society/2010/aug/29/blitz-london-crime-flourish-blackout

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

only a month ago in the local shopping center a mother sent her child up to use the toilet a male and a female changed the childs clothes and cut her hair and tried to take her out of the shopping center only for the child seen someone she knew and screamed.

Thats a classic story thats being doing the rounds for years now. Dont worry, it never happened.

bohsboy wrote: »
    Thats a classic story thats being doing the rounds for years now. Dont worry, it never happened.
    I arrived in the shopping center while the Guards were dealing with the mother of the child so YES it did happen and YES there is a lot of need to worry