Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much are nursing homes?

• 23-11-2012 2:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭

My mom was saying they are approximately 800 euro a week. That can't be right, surely? That's far too much.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

OMG your mom is like so right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,993 ✭✭✭Soups123

ilovesleep wrote: »
    My mom was saying they are approximately 800 euro a week. That can't be right, surely? That's far too much.
    Shes just making it sound expensive to deter you from putting her in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

she is only saying that so you don't put her in one.

EDIT: damn you soups

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Planning your parents demise already, OP? That's a bit unfair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Your old dear is correct my little friend. My old dear is a carer in one and that one is pushing the 1k a week some rooms are more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Its on the lower end of the scale i'd reckon, tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭degausserxo

The one my grandmother was in was €1250 a week, and it wasn't particularly fancy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

They cost a fortune alright, better get saving OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭deisedave

More if you want one thats anyway good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Tell her no matter about the price, she's worth it...

Seriously though, €800 would be the run of them...

There is another scheme which we used and found very successful..
    The Boarding Out Scheme..

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/health/health_services_for_older_people/boarding_out_of_older_people.html

Less than half the price of a nursing home, more friendly non institunal feel but still 24*7 care... Boarders need to be able to dress and feed themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭orchidsrpretty

My mom was saying they are approximately 800 euro a week. That can't be right, surely? That's far too much.[/Quote

That would at the lower end of the scale. Its usually not lower than 1000€ going up to about 1400€ per week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Sounds about right. In fact thats one of the cheaper ones. A good one is about 4-5k per month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Cheaper to just stick her in the shed out back.

That way you can make her knit scarves and pay her way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

I'm not pricing nursing home care for anyone. I just think that price and the sums mentioned here in this thread are scandalous. How is someone supposed to pay that kind of money? Maybe some of it comes out from a pension the oldie is getting and then the rest is up to any offspring they have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

I'm not pricing nursing home care for anyone. I just think that price and the sums mentioned here in this thread are scandalous. How is someone supposed to pay that kind of money? Maybe some of it comes out from a pension the oldie is getting and then the rest is up to any offspring they have.

sell the family home, thats how they screw ye

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

All the more reason to acquire a terminal heroin addiction in your 70s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

How many old people do you know that have a pension of 5k a month? I have a relative who is considering whether to sell her flat (not at a great time to be selling lets be honest) or spend her savings on it. Which begs another question, how long do you stay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

davet82 wrote: »

100% with this. My ma says that's how most do it or they would spend their life savings on it. I'm sure lots of people struggle with it also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Heraldoffreeent

syklops wrote: »
    How many old people do you know that have a pension of 5k a month? I have a relative who is considering whether to sell her flat (not at a great time to be selling lets be honest) or spend her savings on it. Which begs another question, how long do you stay?

With the fair deal scheme 80% of the residents pension is paid to the nursing home and up to 5% of the estate for three yrs after, longer if the estate includes land or money or shares, the three years time limit applies only to the principle private residence of the patient.

syklops wrote: »

Under the subvention or fair deals scheme the government will assess your means and the first €11k isn't counted..
    Whatever you can contribute is taken and then the remainder is covered. Your property may need to be sold to fund your stay, depending on who lives there.

When the patient is down the their last €11K the government will cover the cost...

This is of course providing you NEED to be there rather than choosing to be there...

I know a number of people who have been through this process and while cumbersome it does work... there are always relatives who feel agreived to see their inheritance sold to pay for someone's care...

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/health/health_services_for_older_people/nursing_homes_support_scheme_1.html

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/health/health_services_for_older_people/nursing_home_subvention.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Ah now Dave, it's called Fair Deal which in return for your house and most of your life savings, the HSE will put you in a room (probably with 3 or 4 other mentallers) and ignore you for most of the day whilst you get food slopped to you a couple of times a day.

If your Granny or Grandad are bound for a nursing home, tell them to shoot someone and opt for prison, they'll get treated much better there.

How's that screwing you??
    If you have means to pay for your care why shouldn't it be used??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

bbam wrote: »
    Under the subvention or fair deals scheme the government will assess your means and the first €11k isn't counted..
    Whatever you can contribute is taken and then the remainder is covered. Your property may need to be sold to fund your stay, depending on who lives there.

When the patient is down the their last €11K the government will cover the cost...

This is of course providing you NEED to be there rather than choosing to be there...

I know a number of people who have been through this process and while cumbersome it does work... there are always relatives who feel agreived to see their inheritance sold to pay for someone's care...

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/health/health_services_for_older_people/nursing_homes_support_scheme_1.html

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/health/health_services_for_older_people/nursing_home_subvention.html

My father is on the Fair Deal scheme, its a good scheme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

I'll take care of her for €795 a week OP

bbam wrote: »
    How's that screwing you??
    If you have means to pay for your care why shouldn't it be used??

WHERES MY FCUKING INHERINTENCE GONE!! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭crotalus667

800 seems far too cheap , i work in a nursing home 1600 is more realistic depending on the care needed over 2000 can be common
    Plazaman wrote: »
    which in return for your house and most of your life savings, the HSE will put you in a room (probably with 3 or 4 other mentallers) and ignore you for most of the day whilst you get food slopped to you a couple of times a day..

most people get their own room unless they require high dependincy care, food is not slopped up , it is highly requlated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

I know someone living in a nursing home and the deal is when she dies, the home will take a certain percentage from the sale of her house to cover her expenses while she lived in the home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Welcome to the ****ty place called Ireland. Its criminal but the reality too :) You work all your life, then when you're past living it, it all goes to paying to mind you to your death

I don't know why there isn't some competition that isn't outright extortionate. Nursing Homes need huge reform.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 4,472 Mod ✭✭✭✭TherapyBoy

Just spent 5 weeks in Beaumont hospital where my bed cost between €800 & €1250 a day. Nursing home sounds like a bargain for anyone who needs that level of care.

TherapyBoy wrote: »
    Just spent 5 weeks in Beaumont hospital where my bed cost between €800 & €1250 a day. Nursing home sounds like a bargain for anyone who needs that level of care.

Yeah but the nurses rob your milk tray and lucazade :mad:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 4,472 Mod ✭✭✭✭TherapyBoy

I can take the milk tray hit for some lovely nursing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

My ma was in one for 1200 a week, box room sized which also charged rental on a 24" CRT colour TV on top of this. Some owners are just greedy bas*ards.

Moved her out of there as soon as a vacancy came in another more down to earth place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭crotalus667

I don't know why there isn't some competition that isn't outright extortionate. Nursing Homes need huge reform.

It costs alot of money to run a nursing home , thats before you even take into account the building of it, most people are paid by the hse , at the min the way the tax is ste if you build a nursing home it will take 20 years before you are in profit and you will still need to pump money into it for the first few years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Look at it this way, OP: is it worth €800pw to not have to wipe your mum's arse?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Siuin

Jaysus, for that kind of money you could enroll them in college and stick them in campus accommodation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I'm not pricing nursing home care for anyone. I just think that price and the sums mentioned here in this thread are scandalous.
    Is it? Your not just paying for a bed, your paying for care and food on top of your accommodation. Old people require a lot of care, I was in hospital recently and the majority of people in the yard where old people that didn't want to leave. But my care was up on €800 and I think all things considered it was a fair price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

speaking from an england perspective but registered care homes including nursing for the elderly are a lot cheaper than for registered residential homes for learning disability/autism,however they dont give enough support in many elderly homes,it isnt nice to see older people neglected because they dont have the relatives advocating for them.

from memory the residential centre am living in now costs over one thousand pound per week, the government decides how much each of us contribute to it with people from some boroughs [mine is one] contributing a lot more,and we are not allowed to claim DLA care despite the fact it does not cover half of our needs; am only on HRM and the basic income support which all ends up going on disability needs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭GRMA

A grand a week for a decent one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

The vast,vast majority of patients in private nursing homes are subsidised by the State. Take a simple case of a pensioner with no assets going into a nursing home. They will be required to pay 80% of their income towards the cost of their care. The State (us) picks up the tab for the remainder.

Simple calculation: Pensioner on Non-Con max pension of €220.00. 80% of that is €176.00. N.H costs €800.00 per week. Client pays €176.00. State pays €624.00.

Its a great little country, is'nt it?;)