Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Armed robbery at BoI on College Green today - Anybody ever caught up in a robbery?

• 23-11-2012 1:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/1122/armed-robbery-at-boi-at-college-green.html

On todays news...
    Gardaí are investigating an armed robbery at the Bank of Ireland in College Green in Dublin.

Two men, carrying firearms, entered the bank at 11.40am and got away with a sum of cash.

They entered the foreign exchange department of the bank.
    The men left on foot via the side entrance and ran onto College Green, Fleet Street, Princess Street and then onto Aston Quay where they hailed a taxi.

They produced a firearm in the taxi and ordered the driver out, they then drove the taxi to St Michael's Estate, Dublin 8 where they abandoned the vehicle.

I'm amazed this sort of thing still happens with increased security in banks.

They're brave I'll give them that!

Anyways anybody ever caught up in an armed robbery? I'd love to hear your story :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Twice in as many weeks. Walking past my towns AIB which is beside an alley way. A guy runs out the door of the bank right into me. Swats me out of the way with some sort of a bat..ouch! He vanishes whilst I collect my wits. Just as i do his two mates run out of the bank. I turn on my heels and turn back and run up the previously mentioned alley...which is where the first bloke has gone and is now bearing down on me in the get away car. The car stops, i stop, the two blokes behind me stop. We share a moment and then i get the feck outta there!!:eek::eek:
    Two weeks later Im in a small village Ulsterbank when two guys run in. Nordy accents, masks and sawn off shot guns and I spend a pleasant half hour locked in the safe with the all female staff;)
    The gas part is I am involved in the local Am Drama and ended up in two reconstructions on Crimeline (Not playing myself) (or with myself to the memory of the half hour in the safe)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

They arent brave their total f**ing ****, i caught up in a armed robery and then spent a few years getting over pts. These twats never think how shoving shot gun in some ones face then counting down to shoot you in the head is going to effect some one :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

Lone Stone wrote: »
    They arent brave their total f**ing ****, i caught up in a armed robery and then spent a few years getting over pts. These twats never think how shoving shot gun in some ones face then counting down to shoot you in the head is going to effect some one :rolleyes:

brave probably wasn't the correct word, apologies :)

you had a gun put to your head?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

Christmas Eve 1997 I was caught up in a robbery at my business. Ended up in the Meath hospital and got 34 staples in my head. The two guys weren't armed with firearms but one had a hammer and the other a cosh. I fought the guy with the hammer but the guy with the cosh caught me with a few heavy blows to my head and face.

The thing is I would always tell the staff to just hand over the cash if anything like that ever happened but on the day in question I just completely lost my temper and decided that they'd have to fight me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

When I worked in a petrol station we were raided by four lads. Peak time and all. They were all in balaclavas with axes and bats. Told us all to get on the ground and then reversed a jeep up to the door and chained it to the ATM and tried to pull it out of the ground. Eventually they gave up and left. It was empty anyway. They took a large part of the front of the shop worth them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Hippies!

You've all got really exciting lives :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭franktheplank

Me nd my kids will be getting robbed for the forseeable future to pay for politicians, bankers, property developers, overpaid public serpants etc.

If we don't meet their demands, expect to be locked up and put in jail.

So I'd consider this armed robbery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

In my last job had a guy come in with a knife, I was behind him, he didn't see me so I ran for the door, he lashed out at me with the knife ( was never near enough to stab me ), I ran to the police station across the street and they came over but let him out two hours later :mad:

Another time was held up by two junkies with a syringe up to my neck while the other picked over my belongings. Police were less than helpful then too :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Caveman1

Me nd my kids will be getting robbed for the forseeable future to pay for politicians, bankers, property developers, overpaid public serpants etc.

That didn't take long :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

*slow clap*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

My aunt works in a small corner shop that was robbed last year. Some scummy fcuker held a knife to her and made her hand over the money.

The conversation between her and my father went exactly like this....

"Jesus Christ what did you do?!"

"What do you think I fcuking did, I gave him the fcuking money"

Gyalist wrote: »
    Christmas Eve 1997 I was caught up in a robbery at my business. Ended up in the Meath hospital and got 34 staples in my head. The two guys weren't armed with firearms but one had a hammer and the other a cosh. I fought the guy with the hammer but the guy with the cosh caught me with a few heavy blows to my head and face.

The thing is I would always tell the staff to just hand over the cash if anything like that ever happened but on the day in question I just completely lost my temper and decided that they'd have to fight me.

you're lucky you lived to tell the tale...

acutally THATS brave :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭franktheplank

Caveman1 wrote: »
    That didn't take long :rolleyes:

And how long did it take to start robbing the poor honest people of this country in the interests of be-suited scumbags? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 bellson

And how long did it take to start robbing the poor honest people of this country in the interests of be-suited scumbags? ;)

Suited Scumbags with a "Mandate"! License to do what you want,

Still cant believe two persons had to neck rob the BOI in College Green, spur of the moment operation surely!

bellson wrote: »
    Still cant believe two persons had to neck rob the BOI in College Green, spur of the moment operation surely!

i think maybe seeing they didn't have a getaway car sorted and who is in town on a friday morning with with two guns and thinks fcuk it lets rob one of the biggest banks in ireland :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Gyalist wrote: »
    Ended up in the Meath hospital and got 34 staples in my head.

Jaysus, you'd think they'd use a gun or a bat or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

I was involved in one it was pretty rough, imitation firearms the works.

Although all the money we stole made up for it. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

I think I'd be more scared of a guy with a knife than a gun. Either way, I'm amazed that they weren't caught as it's so central.

Arm the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 bellson

zuroph wrote: »
    I was involved in one it was pretty rough, imitation firearms the works.

Although all the money we stole made up for it. :pac:

hmmmm........