Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Penning/doors/floors and sheeting in new shed

• 22-11-2012 12:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭

Having recently built another shed I now set about installing a maternity section where I propose penning calves in groups of 5/6 seperately
    I see on Done Deal an ad for stockboard
    Has anyone used it
    It looks like what I need
    Any feedback appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Having recently built another shed I now set about installing a maternity section where I propose penning calves in groups of 5/6 seperately
    I see on Done Deal an ad for stockboard
    Has anyone used it
    It looks like what I need
    Any feedback appreciated

use it all the time nowadays where I want gets sheeted. make sure the sheeting is warm before fixing it to gates as it expands with heat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

use it all the time nowadays where I want gets sheeted. make sure the sheeting is warm before fixing it to gates as it expands with heat.

saw the adds as well, is it plastic type stuff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭massey woman

Looks to me like some form of re cycled plastic
    I was really impressed with the strength and flexibility
    Properly erected/fixed Id say its a lifetime job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Looks to me like some form of re cycled plastic
    I was really impressed with the strength and flexibility
    Properly erected/fixed Id say its a lifetime job

Can you paste the link for done deal. I can't seem to see it.

google "stokbord" and you will see it. Better than tin but it has a tendency to expand and contract and this can cause slight problems. Also its bloody dear. its recycled plastic and its hard enough to bend the 6mm stuff in your hand but not too hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

8x4 sheet 12mm tick is 76e
    6mm is 56e. I was only on to them yesterday

It is not all plastic? Does plastic contract?

I was going to use the 12mm to refloor a ifor plant trail

And the 6mm to sheet dividing gates and stop calves licking calves in the ajoining pen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭jerdee

Would you bend it around to make a holding pen like semi circle need to block off a corner to stop cattle going head first into it

jerdee wrote: »
    Would you bend it around to make a holding pen like semi circle need to block off a corner to stop cattle going head first into it

yes not a bother. you would be able to bend it around to meet its self, hard but its bendy enough. Trying to compare something its as bendy as but whats bendy:D

Didnt think I paid anything around 56e a sheet last year. currently using last of old sheets and need 40 sheets to finish what I have started, price for that much is ouch territory. but once done its done and better than coming out in the morning and seeing a animal dead after getting his head stuck in a gate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Ye defo.

But be better to use it 4ft wide and 8ft high. (You wount have a "proper" curve) but a 6 or 8 sided curve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭jerdee

Would tex screws be enough for the expanding motion ....

yes but better to drill say a whole first a couple of mm bigger than the tec screw to allot expansion. unfortunately I dont follow my own advice :rolleyes: and tec screw straight in

Heading up to Boyle tomorrow to hopefully do a deal for 32 sheets x 12mm
    Is there anything else I should know about stockboard
    Is this the appropriate thickness

Heading up to Boyle tomorrow to hopefully do a deal for 32 sheets x 12mm
    Is there anything else I should know about stockboard
    Is this the appropriate thickness

for putting on gates etc 6mm is more than enough and will cost half the price. Alright classey massey;)

So Bob is 6mm or 1/4" good enough for long term job
    im hoping it will do for the next 20 years?:confused:

So Bob is 6mm or 1/4" good enough for long term job
    im hoping it will do for the next 20 years?:confused:

yip, anything I make is made to endure the toughest of animals, so do everything over the top ie gates, walls barriers anything that animals come into contact with while indoors. I imagine 12mm would be very awkward to even work with. 6mm is ample (quarter inch in old money)

Just finished the last of the penning
    Will move calves in tomorrow
    Looks really well if i say so myself
    Hopefully many years of comfort
    Went with the intention of just buying the stockboard but ended up doing a deal for all the gates hangers drinkers tek screws and stockboard from the same man in Boyle
    Did an all in package for me which included delivery that im very happy with
    Would recommend them to anyone
    Feet up now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Just finished the last of the penning
    Will move calves in tomorrow
    Looks really well if i say so myself
    Hopefully many years of comfort
    Went with the intention of just buying the stockboard but ended up doing a deal for all the gates hangers drinkers tek screws and stockboard from the same man in Boyle
    Did an all in package for me which included delivery that im very happy with
    Would recommend them to anyone
    Feet up now!
    great stuff and long may they last. Arny chance of a few photos? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

just do it wrote: »
    great stuff and long may they last. Arny chance of a few photos? ;)

dont have a clue how to put pics on boards
    will ask one of the kids at Christmas

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,757 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Below the box for submit reply you'll see another box with manage attachments, first step is there, failing that one of the mods here will help.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Hi Massey woman.

Sounds a great job. I have been meaning to sheet down a few gates too and this stuff sounds like the stuff for the job.

A PIC better than a thousand words, so please i think it would be very much appreciated if you do go to the bother of posting. I'I def 'thank' post ;)

Just leave people and surroundings out of it if you are worried about your anonymity.

Thanks in advance.

Muckit

Muckit wrote: »
    Hi Massey woman.

Sounds a great job. I have been meaning to sheet down a few gates too and this stuff sounds like the stuff for the job.

A PIC better than a thousand words, so please i think it would be very much appreciated if you do go to the bother of posting. I'I def 'thank' post ;)

Just leave people and surroundings out of it if you are worried about your anonymity.

Thanks in advance.

Muckit

Less of your charm Muckit, your a married man nowadays !!

I will steal Massey Womans thunder and post a pic of stokbord later this evening. I will be looking for at least 5 "thank you's" Muckit

There's one for ya anyway! :D

Fair play to ya Bob. It sounds the business anyway. Do you know if frost or UV makes it brittle over time?

Bump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Dont be daft

FAO Bobcharles

Seen your photo of the stockboard, but cant find it now?

Anyway just wondering, how much is it roughly per gate to put it in place.

Have you it on all your gates or just in a crush area/sick bay?

Also is it tough enough to withstand bulls?

FAO Bobcharles

Seen your photo of the stockboard, but cant find it now?

Anyway just wondering, how much is it roughly per gate to put it in place.

Have you it on all your gates or just in a crush area/sick bay?

Also is it tough enough to withstand bulls?

when finished :rolleyes: it will be on all enternal gates. nothing worse than finding an animal with it head out through a gate. It also means we could stock bulls and heifers side by side without the lads get over excited. Probably helps in the prevention in spread of sicknesses as well due to no contact between pens.

all our place is set for bulls, wild animals

here is pics of one of the gates
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=82131861&postcount=7452

price - I'm still using up the last of sheets bought 2 years ago, back then similar price to tin. someone said around €50 for an 8*4 sheet at 6mm thick. not cheap, but much cheaper than finding an animal having hung themselves off a gate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Dont be daft

Probably helps in the prevention in spread of sicknesses as well due to no contact between pens.

Was considering it for a sick-bay I want to kit out. For the exact reason that I want each animal in total insolation.

Thanks, knew I saw those pics somewere. Nice neat job and everything.
    price - I'm still using up the last of sheets bought 2 years ago, back then similar price to tin. someone said around €50 for an 8*4 sheet at 6mm thick. not cheap, but much cheaper than finding an animal having hung themselves off a gate

Yeah, dont talk to me about finding cattle hung:rolleyes:
    We've put mesh on all the internal gates now to stop it happening. I get why the stockboard is a better job though, especially if you've heifers and bulls side by side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,199 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

when finished :rolleyes: it will be on all enternal gates. nothing worse than finding an animal with it head out through a gate. It also means we could stock bulls and heifers side by side without the lads get over excited. Probably helps in the prevention in spread of sicknesses as well due to no contact between pens.

all our place is set for bulls, wild animals

here is pics of one of the gates
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=82131861&postcount=7452

it doesnt harbour disease like plywood/timber...?

Here are pics that massey woman very kindly sent onto me and wanted to upload here.

I think you'I agree it looks a good tasty looking job ;)

waterkl.jpg

scullinggate.jpg

penning.jpg

gatesf.jpg

dividers.jpg

crushgate.jpg

calfu.jpg

creeparea.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Muckit wrote: »
    Here are pics that massey woman very kindly sent onto me and wanted to upload here.

I think you'I agree it looks a good tasty looking job ;)

Super job and thanks to both MasseyWoman and Muckit for going to the effort of putting these pics up:).