Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Creating a Flat Cycling Route

• 21-11-2012 12:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭

So this is going to sound like a stupid question, but does anyone know an easy website or tool to allow for the construction of a, as flat as possible, cycling route? I managed to seriously hurt my back a few months back and I'm very constrained in what exercise I'm allowed to do. Basically, max of 60 mins with no hills whatsoever. I was hoping there might be an easy website that would allow me to construct a route starting at my house that I could do every evening.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Many tools include the open street maps contour maps, and show a graph of height against distance, but they're not 100% accurate. If you want totally flat, a canal tow path seems like a plan. There's been a number of threads here on various canal routes if you do a search. Anything else will have *some* grade changes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,159 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Try constructing one by going outside on your bike! :D

What did people do before the internet eh? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭victorcarrera

Where you live will largely decide how easy it is to construct. The profile graphs on any of the mapping apps I have used are not very intuitive unless you have experience of matching actual spins with the scale settings. It is possible to make an easy undulating spin look like a grand tour mountain stage just by changing the x and y scale.
    I am afflicted with a similar condition intermittently and the best advice I can give you is when it is sore plan your routes on N roads, stay off the L roads and if possible use a hybrid so you can keep your back straight, preferably with fat tyres and a hydraulic seat post. The N roads tend to go around hills and have better surface.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Canal paths a great suggestion above. I'll copy that and say coast roads. It depends on your location obviously if you can take advantage of any suggestions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

I've never been on a totally flat route. Surely you can manage rolly roads where your speed could carry you up and down small hills?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    What did people do before the internet eh? :rolleyes:

They waited on people to invent the internet. :)

@op - ridewithgps.com is generally quite good and will show elevation on routes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

You don't want anything longer than 60 mins? That means you will never be more than 15k from your house (and probably no more than 10k). Surely you must know the humps and hollows within such a small radius?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

You don't want anything longer than 60 mins? That means you will never be more than 15k from your house (and probably no more than 10k). Surely you must know the humps and hollows within such a small radius?

Thats what i was thinking...can you not get in your car or get someone with a car and spend a saturday or sunday afternoon driving around the roads to plot out a route close to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭mp31

Turbo trainer...:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,901 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

mapmyride.com is handy enough for that sort of thing.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭michael196

'down with that sort of thing' sorry , i could not resist.

personal favourite: ridewithgps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

Buy a Turbo trainer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

If you have gears and know how to use them, I don't quite understand why a gradient would make any difference? Certainly not slight gradient changes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

Blorg is 100% on the button with his post,use your head and make the best use of the gears on you bike and if it does get a wee bit hard WALK until the roads levels out.
    but remember listen to the advice of your doctor take things easy and good luck.;)