Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running Etiquette

• 21-11-2012 10:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭

Little bit of a rant but also looking to see am i being unreasonable.

Firstly, i am not claiming to 'own' the pathways or anything, nor am i intending to come across as sexist but there are just observations i have made over the last month or two as a result of getting into running.

In short, women do not move when walking towards runners to make room.

Longer version..
    When out running on the path on my various routes and I notice people coming towards me i will always move to one side (while still staying on the path to avoid grass where i can stand in s**t or wist an ankle etc etc) and in the hope that they will also move a little, which in the case of women.. they dont.

I am not asking for much.. obviously if there is room on one side initially i will go to that side, but i am talking about 2-3 people walking in a line on the path and see me coming towards them. Why should i come off the path? Why wont they just move in for that one or two seconds?

While a big generalisation.. men appear to be better and more accommodating of this (based on my experience to date)

Am i being ridiculous?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭McWotever

Burst through them, or come to a stop toe to toe with them.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Yes. Women give way for me all the time when I'm running. They say hello too.

Sometimes people dont give way to me, but thats down to the individual I guess. Maybe theyre having a bad day or got insulted by a jogger once, or something.

'A pleasant 'scuse me ladies!' might go a long way towards making any women you come across realise they are in your way.

I'm female btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭Lombardo86

Oryx wrote: »
    Yes. Women give way for me all the time when I'm running. They say hello too.

Sometimes people dont give way to me, but thats down to the individual I guess. Maybe theyre having a bad day or got insulted by a jogger once, or something.

'A pleasant 'scuse me ladies!' might go a long way towards making any women you come across realise they are in your way.

I'm female btw.

Like i said some women do give way to me as well.. i just noticed that an awful lot don't! I don't feel like i should have to move off the path either and their group would take up the whole thing so i imagine i am more than entitled to my little portion and run past without stopping, as it's fairly clear they are in the way!

I think ill try the power through method :D The scuse me is a close second!

Was just wondering how other people dealt with this.. i am fairly reluctant to go off the track i can see as i have rubber ankles that have a tendancy to get upset on certain terrain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

ah the sex in the city walk.

The one way to combat this is to get yourself one of these. Keeps the head warm too.

balaclava004.jpg

rom wrote: »
    The one way to combat this is to get yourself one of these. Keeps the head warm too.

If i wasn't so sweaty this would be another option!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Haven't noticed this myself. I find old people are good for giving you a little smile and saying hello, and groups of teenagers are incapable of showing any consideration for other human beings, but outside of that I wouldn't say any group are particularly more or less likely to move out of the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

couples will always find a way to make the path as impassable as possible.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

If they look like just a smile and hello will get them to move then I do that, but you can often sense from a way out if they are going to move at all. I'd go into the playing chicken mode if it's a bunch of kids and look as if I'm paying them as much notice as they are me, they then suddenly remember something from their science lessons about kinetic energy and not standing in the way of a fast moving object and jump out of the way at the last moment.

When people are going the same way as you a few coughs and sneezes just as you are approaching usually does the trick and they jump out of the way. It is strange though that people going the same way cause less of an issue than people coming towards you. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Gambas

The one thing that grinds my gears is :
    On a narrow path where someone has to step onto the road to get by, the person facing the traffic should to so, and not force the person who can't see if there is something coming to do so, irrespective whether they are runners or walkers.

As for etiquette, my rules are to give a nod or a hello to other runners when you meet them

a) off the beaten track.

b) very early in the morning

robinph wrote: »
    If they look like just a smile and hello will get them to move then I do that, but you can often sense from a way out if they are going to move at all. I'd go into the playing chicken mode if it's a bunch of kids and look as if I'm paying them as much notice as they are me, they then suddenly remember something from their science lessons about kinetic energy and not standing in the way of a fast moving object and jump out of the way at the last moment.

When people are going the same way as you a few coughs and sneezes just as you are approaching usually does the trick and they jump out of the way. It is strange though that people going the same way cause less of an issue than people coming towards you. :confused:

Absolutely agree with that.. i find head on is more of an issue. And i actually dont have an issue with going around people walking in front of me.. i accept they can't see me.

I just struggle to think what goes through peoples heads when they see me clearly taking a line along the edge of the path, which to me clearly indicates this is the line im taking, could you please move in?! Also worth noting that this stand off can begin from anything up to 20 metres away.. it's not a last minute thing, they have plenty of time to move in.

If i was walking and noticed runners coming toward me i would move in, realising that my group are taking up the whole path.

Happy to change this from a 'women dont move in' to 'people dont move in' thread as i may have caused some offence :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

I'd try and wave/ nod/ say hello to everyone running in the opposite direction. But some days I'll pass 20+ people and they will all smile and wave back, the next day running the same area and nobody does.

I don't always expect people to wave back though... was out at an XC race the other week waiting for my race to start and was cheering on one of the slower women from our club, she was so surprised that someone was cheering her that she started waving back and nearly tripped up. I then had to shout at her to stop waving and just run faster. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭dev123

Gambas wrote: »
    The one thing that grinds my gears is :
    On a narrow path where someone has to step onto the road to get by, the person facing the traffic should to so, and not force the person who can't see if there is something coming to do so, irrespective whether they are runners or walkers.
    This. Couldn't agree more. I have started hugging the inside lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Manzoor14

Phew, I thought I was the only person who noticed this!
    It's not all but more often than not if there's 2-3 women (or 1 woman with a dog) they'll keep spread over the entire path. I mentioned this to my girlfriend who runs basically the same route as me and she agreed completely...

Men definitely seem to be more accommodating, pulling the dog in on the lead etc.

I swerved off the path a few times to get around them but the last time I ended up ankle deep in muck so refuse to anymore, I just slip through the gap between them, say sorry and keep going!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

rom wrote: »

balaclava004.jpg

Pro tip: keep looking back over your shoulder as you run for maximum effect.

Down to spacial awareness and realising that the object approaching you will collide with you if you don't take avoiding action, or the dogs lead will get in the way of the approaching runner and Rover will not come out of the interaction particularly well if you don't pull him out of the way quickly.

There does seem to be some gender differences in that area.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spatial_visualization_ability

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭lway

I'd try and wave/ nod/ say hello to everyone running in the opposite direction. But some days I'll pass 20+ people and they will all smile and wave back, the next day running the same area and nobody does.

My usual 10 mile route takes me out into the countryside then back through the town, I've found almost everyone out the countryside says hello, from fellow runners and walkers to people just stood outside their houses, no-one in the town says anything despite my hellos even if it's just the two of us on the road.

I posted previously about rubbing shoulders with teens who refused to move and got quite a few critical responses, but I do have a question, what side of the path should you run on. I go by the rule of "you run on the right hand side of the road so run on the right hand side of the path" is this correct ? I often meet runners runnin gon what would be their left hand side of the path and not sure who should give way:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭Peckham

lway wrote: »
    what side of the path should you run on. I go by the rule of "you run on the right hand side of the road so run on the right hand side of the path" is this correct ? I often meet runners runnin gon what would be their left hand side of the path and not sure who should give way:confused:

Chivilary would have it that men should be on the outside of the footpath, women on the inside!

I would suspect that the person who is facing the traffic should be on the outside of the footpath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 524 ✭✭✭b.harte

I find couples are the worst, usually walking side by side and neither will move.
    I've often had to step off the path to pass.
    To be fair most people I meet walking in groups will leave enough room to pass and get a friendly nod or thanks as I pass, you get back what you give.
    The only bad experience I had was playing chicken with two teenage lads, who were visably realligning themselves into my path, I moved to the edge of the footpath, still no clearance so I dipped a shoulder as I got closer, they moved at the last second.:D
    Mind you if I saw myself moving towards me I would move too.
    Got a shower of abuse off them but I was sprinting running away on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

What is it with young teens? Only issue I ever had was with two sets of eejits in their early teens. One lot moved late enough but another time I was running along a very narrow path along a dark busy road, they saw me coming, I moved to the outside, they didn't move and I collided with one of them. He shouted something after me but I had no idea what it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭BenMicheal

Sounds like a friendly area, where I run people treat you like you are the arch rival in a gold medal race. Never understood it! Thought it was just because I was a noob to running, a year on and all i can assume is that my neighbours are ignorant bas*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭dechol

I run along the canal a lot and find people generally good to move. One night though an idiot decided it would be really funny to jump in front of me waving his hands blocking my way. Refused to move and thought he was hiliarious! Actually really frightened me cause I am female and it was dark enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

I've never had any trouble with teenagers myself, they always seem to make way and give me plenty of room. Only problems I ever have is with dog owners and those extendable leads that go on forever.
    I was running during the week and approaching from behind a guy walking his very small dog on a very long lead. Just as I went to pass him(having given him a very wide berth) the dog veers over in my direction and my legs get tangled up in the lead. I went flying and came down hard on my right side. I didnt flip out or lose my cool, i just got up off the ground and calmly asked him how is anybody meant to get by when between himself, the dog and the massive lead, all maneuvering room is taken up? The response I got confirmed something I've suspected for a while now about people who use those massive leads for their dogs: They think about nobody but themselves. This guy just looked at me with a blank expression and went "Wha?" He didnt give a monkeys that the ridiculous lead he was using was the cause of me getting decked. So long as he did what he wanted to do to hell with everybody else. I've had so much trouble trying to get by people with those leads from tripping over the lead itself to almost being hit by cars when I have to run out into the midddle of the road to get by.
    I agree about the couples thing aswell, to a point anyway. I find that middle aged - older couples are very accomodating, whereas younger couples wont budge or make room for anybody. I recently saw an older lady out walking and was approaching a couple who looked to be in their 20s or 30s. The couple didnt even try to make any space for the older lady to get by, instead she had to resort to walking out onto a busy road. I think it boils down to awareness of the self and others. A lot of people seem to be off in la la land in their own little world and not even aware of anybody else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,372 ✭✭✭✭walshb

dechol wrote: »
    I run along the canal a lot and find people generally good to move. One night though an idiot decided it would be really funny to jump in front of me waving his hands blocking my way. Refused to move and thought he was hiliarious! Actually really frightened me cause I am female and it was dark enough.

That is scary. And, really, I would stick to the built up and lit up areas. Bad enough for a man out in the quiet and dark areas, but for a woman the threat can be far worse. You just don't know who is out and about. At least in a built up and lit up area you have some chance.

I have come close to just stopping infront of people when they don't move out the way as an alternative option. They see you approaching, they don't move, I keep running straight along the side of the path, then just stop infront of them and wait for them to walk around you giving them an evil stare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,372 ✭✭✭✭walshb

BTW, I would have thought that it's the runner's job to manoeuvre when he/she is running. I manoeuvre when I am running. I don't expect a walker to move for me.

walshb wrote: »
    BTW, I would have thought that it's the runner's job to manoeuvre when he/she is running. I manoeuvre when I am running. I don't expect a walker to move for me.

Why?

No pedestrian has priority over another on the footpath, we just have to share it. A runner running to one side of the path should not have to leave the path because two people approaching from the other direction are taking up the whole footpath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭dechol

walshb wrote: »

That is scary. And, really, I would stick to the built up and lit up areas. Bad enough for a man out in the quiet and dark areas, but for a woman the threat can be far worse. You just don't know who is out and about. At least in a built up and lit up area you have some chance.
    Agree but it was actually only about six in evening and lots of people about. I never run at night and it had just got dark on way home. Think I was just unfortunate to meet an asshole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭McWotever

dechol wrote: »
    Agree but it was actually only about six in evening and lots of people about. I never run at night and it had just got dark on way home. Think I was just unfortunate to meet an asshole.
    Nothin' a kick in the nuts wouldn't sort out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭coolhandspan

I run with a dog on a lead, most people jump out of the way on seein the dog, thinkin of puttin a muzzle on dog for maximum effect ha ha :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

tunguska wrote: »
    I was running during the week and approaching from behind a guy walking his very small dog on a very long lead. Just as I went to pass him(having given him a very wide berth) the dog veers over in my direction and my legs get tangled up in the lead. I went flying and came down hard on my right side.

Had a very similar fall myself a few years ago, dog on an extendible lead chases kid on BMX, dog runs through my legs, lead trips me up. Fcuking hate those leads and the idiots who use them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I use them, two simultaneously in fact. I'm pretty sure I'm not an idiot though :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

Last week I encountered an exercise in Grade A stupidity, so completely mad that if I didn't see it I wouldn't believe it. The track was busy and while I was warming up there was a coaching session in lanes 3-6 in the homestraight for the kids. Some absolute moron took this as an opportunity to watch his kids train from lane 1, the lane that a 50 second 400 was using. However it was worse than this, he and his wife were pushing a f*cking pram, while walking slowly down the lane! WTF is wrong with some people. Granted I should have approached it in a calmer manner, but in my defence I can't tolerate such stupidity and dangerous incompetence, and I proceeded to order the clown off the track in a pretty harsh tone. He didn't take kindly to this, and stated his rights as the father of a paying member that he should have every right to walk around the track! I told him it is extremely dangerous to have a baby on the inside lane of a track which was packed with sprinters and middle distance runners, and he said it would be dangerous for his kids if he wasn't there (as if he was going to be able to intercept an 11 second runner just before he runs into his kid!!). I'm still shocked that somebody could be lacking in such common sense!

Also I hate when joggers and racewalkers take up lane 1 and 2 of a track while sprint and fast middle distance groups are in the middle of a session. It's common courtesy to take the outside lane when you are running 120 seconds per 400m.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭BobMc

I've had several run ins (pardon pun) mostly with younger teens, groups 2,3,4,5, not giving an inch I tend to take up a position on the outside in plenty of time and often resort to shouting passing on right etc., have been known to drop the shoulder and my point is if I'm making an effort to make space for you I expect the same, any guff after a shoulder charge = increase in pace !, had one incident where 3 girls pushed a young lad into me, he got some shock as I was half expecting it and he got some shove right back into the girls dont think any of them expected that, again abuse towards me heard none of it as I was well gone, Share and Share alike, and we'll all get along dont and I'm prepared to fight for my right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭spurscormac

Had a very similar fall myself a few years ago, dog on an extendible lead chases kid on BMX, dog runs through my legs, lead trips me up. Fcuking hate those leads and the idiots who use them.

I have a dog, I have one of those leads & I love them.:D

The problem is not with the leads, it's with the complete lack of awareness a lot of people have when using them.
    They are a great tool when out in the park to give your dog some freedom while still having them under complete control.
    If you are on a footpath or other limited space, then you should retract the lead and keep it at a short length to prevent any incidents as described already.
    And its not just runners that suffer, you could have an incident with cyclists, kids, older people, buggies, or anyone who has a fear of dogs. Its incumbent on the dog owner to be fully aware of the situation at all times & retract the lead when its appropriate to do so.
    Unfortunately, far too many dog owners are oblivious to the chaos they cause people having to dodge their wandering hound on a long lead. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭coalshed

For approaching dogs with long leads or people in general I find it's good to scuff your feet or make a noise when you are about ten seconds out. Dogs can get a fright if you sneak up on them making their movement less predictable.

I generally give other runners a nod but am often surprised at how frequently people will pass without some kind of acknowledgment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Personally, I don’t sweat it. If someone moves aside they’re being nice, if they don’t, it’s not because they’re an asshole.

I would agree that it’s up to the runner to move aside and give pedestrians priority.

Long leads are fantastic but with great power, comes great responsibility. People just don’t have a clue how to wind their dog back in once the lead is extended.