Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what time do you get out of bed?

• 18-11-2012 10:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭

was going to say what time do you get up but i am sure some smart arse would have a smart answer:o my alarm goes off at 5.55am , get a lie on til 7 on either a saturday or a sunday, normally in bed by 9.30 pm.. love the feeling of knocking alarm off knowing you dont have to get up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

sometime between 5 and 8 depending on work load weekdays, usually two very early mornings, get up at 8 Sat/Sun. Dont go sleepy usually till 12 - 1am though. nothing happens while you sleep;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭grumpyfarmer

Alarm goes at 6:55 and i like to be hitting the hay around the 11:30 mark...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Bout 6 . Its my favourite time of the day . I try to hit the hay before ten if I can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

Depends on the day. Awake at 6:30 during the week as herself goes to work before me, usually doze for a bit then get a few small jobs before going to work. Weekends I lie in till 8-ish. Try to swap Sunday mornings with my dad so I have a bit of time off.

That said if I have a lot to do I could be up at 5 or 6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

normally alarm at 6.40 during the week. working in limerick for a couple of weeks in the run up to xmas so the alarm is now 5.30ish.. dont go to bed til 10.30 or 11.weekends kids are the alarm :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Tom_Cruise

Can some one help me, theres a question i have.

What do farmers do if they want to go on holiday for say 2-3 weeks? Do they get a family member to take over the farm for the few weeks or can you hire someone if you have no family members capable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

Tom_Cruise wrote: »

What do farmers do if they want to go on holiday for say 2-3 weeks? Do they get a family member to take over the farm for the few weeks or can you hire someone if you have no family members capable?

Didn't you know Tom we have holidays everyday! Who needs sitting on a beach for two weeks that's just boring n not for me anyway I'd rather be doing something constructive I'd get more pleasure outa that, having said all that a couple of days away in new places is nice now n again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

depends on the time of year. around this time of year the clock goes off at 7 but is politely ignored ,during the spring /summer from 530 to seven depending on what has to be done.wouldnt go to bed until 12 at the earliest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

Tom_Cruise wrote: »

Yeah that's what we do. If I wanna go away my dad looks after the place. Same when I was younger when the folks wanted to go away I'd be around. When we were kids the the fols didn't really get to go away much. My uncles would help out with the milking but that would only really be for a few days. I'd say a holiday for them was shipping us kids away to relatives for a few weeks in the summer. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭stanflt

7.45 we must be shocking lazy. start machine at 8in morning home at 6.15 unless were at silage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

stanflt wrote: »
    7.45 we must be shocking lazy. start machine at 8in morning home at 6.15 unless were at silage
    i have to be back in the house by 8.30 to get kids to school, so start early

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I'm usually up at 7.30 week days, could as late as 10 at weekends this time of year.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭case 5150

up at 7.15 to milk and finish up at 7pm now different when silage and calving happening, then when the cows dry up at 9.30am and finish at 4pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

Have you any neighbours that would do it for you in return for you helping them out? Alternatively, there's the Farm Relief.
    I haven't had a holiday since my honeymoon (17 years ago)! But that's not for everyone!

Sorry this is a reply to Tom_Cruise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

We go in June after 1st cut and before any danger of second cut. A.I. usually done and stock bull out. My father is still plenty fit enough to manage the milkings and whatever light work is on topping or fert spreading. Portugal is our spot for a week to 10 days depending on funds. We found a nice spot 6 years ago and go back there usually. No faffing around trying to get your bearings with regards to shopping or good spot to eat. We hit the ground running or actually lying very still for a change, highly recommended. There's not much point breaking your ass all year if you can't give yourself a break at some point. Often thought discussion groups should be able to set-up a rota for guys to keep an eye on each others yards/relief milkers during holidays.

BTW 5.30 up and aim to be home @ 5.30 also. Doing school run again now the boss is back fulltime. She's gone before 8 so I have to back in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭dzer2

Go skiing every year usually get my uncle to look after the place. He is starting to get on in years now so looking at a neighbours son who does a bit for me every now and then. Get up a 7 most days as lads like to feed the calves before they go to school normally finish around 7 pm but take time out to go to the kids games and training. But dont do much on Sunday as herself says its a family day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

dzer2 wrote: »
    take time out to go to the kids games and training. But dont do much on Sunday as herself says its a family day

She's right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

quarter six when im milking, and around eight during december

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭farming93

8 am every morning recently. Use to be 7 am during weekdays while I was on work experience and was getting home anytime between 5:30 and 8:30pm.

just booked 4 days away in spain in february, aer lingus sale on at the minute, this would be the longest we would go away, kids coming too:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

Up at 7.30 until 11 or 12. No stock of any kind but can't wait to get back at it. Full time carer at moment but the wee man is doing great. The most important thing is time with your family. The farm is now in second place.

what age is he now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

3 in April. Plenty of verbal sounds. He might be walking for Christmas. He is in play school 2 mornings a week so I go to the land then. He has made me focus on what is really important in life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

usually up between 5.30-6.30 sometimes lye on till 8.30 on sundays and back between 7and 9. Bed between 11-12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭rs8

up at 6 most mornings and hit the hay about half 11, 12 oclock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭dasheriff

Up at 6.30 most mornings bar sunday and bed then between 11 and 12 usually..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

7.30 winter 6.00 summer
    I set the alarm half an hour before those times so that I can hit the snooze button a few times before I get up :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭munkus

Up at about 10 o clock. Back in by 4:30. Playin the Xbox till about half eleven and then off to bed. What the hell are the rest of ye at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

munkus wrote: »
    Up at about 10 o clock. Back in by 4:30. Playin the Xbox till about half eleven and then off to bed. What the hell are the rest of ye at?
    Are you not gone past your bedtime now then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭munkus

simx wrote: »
    Are you not gone past your bedtime now then?

No, I'm not. How original an answer. Have you been on boards before?