Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New shed gone wrong

• 17-11-2012 8:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭

Putting ups small machinery/ lambing shed at the moment. It's only a 2 bay to add onto existing shed. Anyway they put down the foundations wrong and the second bay is 2 ft narrower than it should be. They admited their mistake. Then they put up the wrong coulour cladding. It also wasn't the same profile as specked. This is a reputable shed building company...

Was of the view we would come to a price agreement on the fcuk up.
    However today was inspecting it and realised that two bolts were bolted into gravel rather than concrete due to the mess up on foundations. Secondly where the sheets overlap in the roof they just used rivets instead of nuts and bolts. Is this the norm now.

In between 2 minds to tell them to take it down and feck off or should I just squeeze them on price. What would you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭dzer2

Must have had [SNIP] putting on the cladding. Normally put stitchers in the laps. Id get a healthy discount for the wrong colour Done my own shed a few years back and ordered the sheeting and they delivered the wrong colour rang them and told them to they offered it at half price if I would keep it. The bolts need to be in proper goumding so point it out to them and get the foundation stripped and concrete poured and tied into them then get the uprights chemically fixed.
    -

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

dzer2 wrote: »
    [SNIP]. Normally put stitchers in the laps. Id get a healthy discount for the wrong colour Done my own shed a few years back and ordered the sheeting and they delivered the wrong colour rang them and told them to they offered it at half price if I would keep it. The bolts need to be in proper goumding so point it out to them and get the foundation stripped and concrete poured and tied into them then get the uprights chemically fixed.
    -

Yeah Right... and we have no home bred doozers !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,831 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Get them to send their engineer (not a salesman) down, to inspect and give a written report...colour you can deal with , different spec you can come to an arrangement over ... Structural issues you've got to get sorted... I'd be inclined to get it taken down and start again, if the shape and size dont suit...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

You said 2 bolts are only into the gravel, if the column has 4 bolts and 2 are in the gravel, the existing concrete has to be broken out and a new foundation poured. It'd not be advised to put a cold joint in the concrete under a column.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

bbam wrote: »

Yeah Right... and we have no home bred doozers !!

All Irish guys.

[. The bolts need to be in proper goumding so point it out to them and get the foundation stripped and concrete poured and tied into them then get the uprights chemically fixed.
    -[/Quote]

What do u mean by chemically fixed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Chemical fixing is where a hole is drilled approx 2mm larger than the bolt/threaded bar being used, and a 2 part glue/resin is mixed (hilti is the most common) and put into the hole, then insert the bolt and leave it set.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭massey265

pakalasa wrote: »

coulnt say it better meself!!

pakalasa wrote: »

Can't disagree with you there.

[Quote=dg. Normally put stitchers in the laps.

What are stichers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

sea12 wrote: »

What are stichers

http://www.evolutionfasteners.co.uk/downloads/Tech/22/201011051534175946EvolutionStitchingTekDatasheet.pdf

There ya are. They're a great fixing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

What are stichers
    Tech screw

Bizzum wrote: »

Ah yea that's what they did put in. Just wasn't familiar with them. One less thing to complain about so. Thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

A shed column not sitting on a foundation wouldn't be much good to me. It would have to be put right by them or by someone else before I'd sign any cheque, in fact before I would even discuss payment!
    They sound like some chancers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

I'd contact them an tell them that I was hiring an engineer to inspect the building. His fee was coming out of theirs and they would only get their fee once they had completed the work to the satisfaction of your engineer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭locky76

Get your own engineer in to carry out a thorough inspection of all aspects of the shed, get him to write a report and get him/her to forward it to the shed company. Send them a solicitor's letter outlining your issues and that no further oayments will be forthcoming until these issues are resolved to your satisfaction. I presume the shed budget is in around €10k, the inspection, report and solicitor's letter should set you back ~€500 but will put you on a far sounder footing as regards getting a proper discount/ your issues resolved.
    Putting ups small machinery/ lambing shed at the moment. It's only a 2 bay to add onto existing shed. Anyway they put down the foundations wrong and the second bay is 2 ft narrower than it should be. They admited their mistake. Then they put up the wrong coulour cladding. It also wasn't the same profile as specked. This is a reputable shed building company...

However today was inspecting it and realised that two bolts were bolted into gravel rather than concrete due to the mess up on foundations. Secondly where the sheets overlap in the roof they just used rivets instead of nuts and bolts. Is this the norm now.

In between 2 minds to tell them to take it down and feck off or should I just squeeze them on price. What would you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭kboc

dzer2 wrote: »
    Must have had non nationals putting on the cladding. Normally put stitchers in the laps. Id get a healthy discount for the wrong colour Done my own shed a few years back and ordered the sheeting and they delivered the wrong colour rang them and told them to they offered it at half price if I would keep it. The bolts need to be in proper goumding so point it out to them and get the foundation stripped and concrete poured and tied into them then get the uprights chemically fixed.
    -

In my opinion, I am afraid that first line is shocking. Considering us Irish have and still are moving to all parts of the world for work, treat others the way you would like them to treat you and yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

Can't imagine it's costing too much to put up as its only a two bay. So I'd tell them to take it down and put it up right. A day or two should do it. Failing that just tell them your not paying for it, then they can either leave it there or take it down and you can get someone else to start from scratch.

Cavanjack wrote: »
    Can't imagine it's costing too much to put up as its only a two bay. So I'd tell them to take it down and put it up right. A day or two should do it. Failing that just tell them your not paying for it, then they can either leave it there or take it down and you can get someone else to start from scratch.

Relative is engineer so he is going to look at it today for me and take it from there. He also drew up the plans so is familiar with it,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭dzer2

kboc wrote: »
    In my opinion, I am afraid that first line is shocking. Considering us Irish have and still are moving to all parts of the world for work, treat others the way you would like them to treat you and yours.

You taking it up wrong, I seen a shed put up by non nationals and they pop riveted the laps as they were trained to do thats where I was coming from as for the concrete work we dont need to import cowboys for that. It wouldnt be the first time I seen a set of plans for the shed being totally different than the set for the foundations:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭6480

its a good job the shed was only 2 bays long

An update. Got my engineer to do up report. Emailed it to company. The headman of the company came out to inspect it. In fairness. Held his hand up and accepted it was a very poor job and reflected badly on them. Offered to take it down completely and start from scratch with the right colour spec put in new foundation etc.
    or option b
    build on another bay which would help stabilise the problem upright in question. Put in additional stay bars for security. Put in additional concrete to secure upright. And give a very hefty discount on the complete job.

I went with option b after consulting my engineer and he passed the job.
    In fairness to the guy he was completely professional. He said there was no profit left in it for him but that it was important for their reputation that it was corrected and that i left as a happy customer .
    now have a bigger shed than planned for less money than originally planned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭Askim

Fair play to the company, they put hands up, admitted it & offered what would seem like a good solution.

Bet the lads who put it up got a boll**king

A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

An update. Got my engineer to do up report. Emailed it to company. The headman of the company came out to inspect it. In fairness. Held his hand up and accepted it was a very poor job and reflected badly on them. Offered to take it down completely and start from scratch with the right colour spec put in new foundation etc.
    or option b
    build on another bay which would help stabilise the problem upright in question. Put in additional stay bars for security. Put in additional concrete to secure upright. And give a very hefty discount on the complete job.

In fairness to the guy he was completely professional. He said there was no profit left in it for him but that it was important for their reputation that it was corrected and that i left as a happy customer .

good for you, great result in the end and well done to them for their professional attitude in the end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

or option b

good to hear it. he was right though there may not be any profit in this job but the fact that he came out and made good with you will put him in good stead further down the line. If anyone asks you about him you'll be able to say that at least he put it right.

during the grant time a few years back my neighbour was tellign me about one of his frieds who was getting a new 6 colum slatted tank and shed built for his cows. the shed was to be used to take the flow from the parlour too so needed to be be below the parlour. builders came out and said they would look after the whole jog in cludign teh digging out. the day of the dig out the farmer wandered over to see how it was going and tought it was a bit shallow, the fore man and engineer told him that they had doen loads of these and pretty much told him to F off and not tell them their business. He rang the builder and told him his concerns and the builder said not to worry its proably just the way it looked. anyway when the lads poured the floor and put up the shuttering the farmer again though it didnt look right and again said it to the foreman who told them it was just the design of the shuttering and it would look different when i was finished. Low and behold once the shutterign was down and the slats on the top of the slats was a couple of feet above the surrondign ground and was goign to be higher then the parlour so there would be no flow. Builder and fore man got a f***ing from the farmer, who told them to start again this time at the other side of the parlour. it would have cost about 35k to break up the tank. Have to ask the neighbour how it all finished up, i farmer wanted a new shed in a new location built, while i think the builder was just going to walk away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,682 ✭✭✭Kat1170

or option b

I'd keep a close eye on them this time and get engineer friend to inspect a couple of times along the way if he has time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

I had the same problems from a lad ( A repulable John Deere dealer in Westmeath/Longford area) i bought a kit shed off.

Arrived with deliver 2 hours earlier that agreed. Had to get a neightbour to lift 20ft rsj off lorry and 21ft cladding as i was on way home from work. No hiab :rolleyes:.

the auld one was sick so it was a 2 weeks before i checked the "kit"
    he was missing the following

6no 6x3 timbers
    missing all the clets welded to RSJ for the timbers at 5ft down
    sent me 300 hex screws for a 48 x 20 shed with 5ft sheeting all around
    the angle at the top of the 8 uprights were not all the same angle :eek:

when he finally arrived with the timbers in July (I got it delivered in Feb) he sent me 300 hex for steel not timber :rolleyes:.

****ing cowboy. I called and asked him what the story was and his excuse. It was a budget shed. The dope advertised it at that price exactly. Then hug up on me.

My advise stick with it and get it right :D