Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Starting Line Etiquette for a n00b

• 16-11-2012 11:48am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭

Hi everyone o/

After starting C25K in late summer this year I popped my 5k Run cherry on Wednesday at the Run In The Dark event, thoroughly thoroughly enjoyed it and was absolutely enthralled at the red LED snake going up and down the Docklands on the night :D

I was reading the thread about the race here and a few people mentioned having to overtake slow runners at the start of the race - in all honesty that was something I didn't even think about :o We got there early enough, made our way towards the start line and we found ourselves in the first third of the runners I'd say.

Now this was my first race, my only goal was having fun and trying to run <30mins (which I did, 29.40, yay!) so I'm no top ten contender but I'm not the slowest in the pack either. For future races (the Aware Christmas run is next on the list) is there a Start Line etiquette that I should be adhering to that I don't know about? The last thing I want to do is get in the way of people but knowing how nervous I get before the start of any event I like to just get in and get started sooner rather than later. What's the best place for me to be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Generally if you look around you at the start line and there are loads of skinny looking lads and lassies in club singlets you are probably too far up! If you are running 29 mins for 5k or an hour or so for 10k you are a mid pack runner and that would be the best place to start. It would also be to your benefit to start a bit further back because if you start near the front with the quicker runners you could carried along at their pace which could be too quick for you and it could ruin your race in the first few mile. Good Luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Really the best measure is to look at the people around you to try and see who looks most like you :)

If you're standing in a pack of forty-something mothers who are wearing t-shirts, chatting in groups and don't look like they do much running, then you're in the wrong place. Likewise if you're surrounded by men and women who look very fit and are wearing short shorts and a running vest with a club name on it, then you're probably in the wrong place too. :)

You're looking for people who look like they seem to do a bit of running, but probably won't be wearing club gear and will be quiet and relaxed.

5k events are so popular with new runners and joggers that a 29 minute goal time will have you much closer to the front than you think you should be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

pconn062 wrote: »
    Generally if you look around you at the start line and there are loads of skinny looking lads and lassies in club singlets you are probably too far up!
    That seems like a fairly good sight guide :D
    pconn062 wrote:
    If you are running 29 mins for 5k or an hour or so for 10k you are a mid pack runner and that would be the best place to start. It would also be to your benefit to start a bit further back because if you start near the front with the quicker runners you could carried along at their pace which could be too quick for you and it could ruin your race in the first few mile. Good Luck.
    That's exactly what happened to me :o I'm so used to running one or two defined routes at my own pace I got carried away on adrenaline and other people's pace and left the starting line like a bat out of hell only to suffer 3km in :pac:

Cool, so there are somewhat 'good' and 'bad' places for someone to be? I'll make more of an effort to hang back and find somewhere I'll fit in better for the next one :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

Looks can be deceiving. So you are a 29min 5k runner. See where you are on the results. Say your 200 out of 400. then you should be 1/2 way up the field etc. This is a guide and I use it myself. Also you can also ask people their goal time and move forward or back then and repeat

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

The more you run, the more youll know your own 'paces'* and youll be less likely to get sucked along in a fast crowd, but bear in mind that you will normally run a race 10-15% faster than your in your training, because you get your race day head on!

A slow(er) runner at the front of a start line is poor etiquette but at your pace not the end of the world. It's when 3 abreast walkers do it that runners get really irritated.

*pace varies according to distance.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

When doing a race I've not done before I'd sometimes have a look at previous years results to see how many people finished ahead of my kind of time. In some 10k races I'd be lining up with my toe on the start line and 500 people behind, in another one the next week I'd be lining up with a couple of hundred in front of me. Different races attract a different crowd so can make it tricky to guess where to stand sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

I find it a real boost to be doing more overtaking that being overtaken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭Clearlier

It is but it can also be a right pain if you go so far back you can't get a clear run. I ran the Great Ireland 10k a few years back and put myself in the pack at the pole for my target time. I was constantly dodging people up to the 8k point.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,878 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Some good advice there, I lol'd at some of the comments. Fell into the "running too fast at the start" trap on my first few runs, it's easily done. I've got to know my comfortable pace a little better now, but a GPS watch can be a great help when you're starting out, so you can check your pace every so often, see how you are doing at the half way point etc..

As for where to start, I keep back from the skinny ones in the singlets and compression socks, but well ahead of the buggies and walkers!!

Spot the odd one out. Basically that is not what to do. Go up the from in your GAA best and mix it up with sub 2:20 marathoners :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

^^^ I lol'd :D

Thanks everyone for the advice, makes total sense, and there's some great ideas I never even would have thought of. I must say it's quite humbling coming into a sport as a total newcomer, so I really appreciate the guidance.

I like that sentiment, I'd never thought of it that way!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

Nice when they have helpful signs up. The inaugural Adamstown 8k had a choice of (something like)
    • 35min and faster
    • 35 - 40min
    • Joggers :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

But, unless there's some sort of physical barrier separating the areas, people will move forward into empty space.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

RayCun wrote: »
    But, unless there's some sort of physical barrier separating the areas, people will move forward into empty space.

Not if you have people with flags on their back stood in the right position, then everyone lines up correctly and dare not step in front. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I remember seeing a startline photo of on of the big races I was RD for, as pconn said, the usual lots of skinny lads/girls in club singlets in the front row, and then this one girl who clearly shouldn't have been there, I checked up results and saw she was well over 30mins :O, (it was a 5k), god love her, she must have got passed by 90% of the field during the race! From our (the race directors) point of view, we can only do so much to encourage people to start in around their own pace, but there always will be people who are in the wrong place!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

On the topic, do you think it is acceptable to politely ask someone to move back or point out that they should probably not be lining up at the front?

Not something I would really do but I thought about it this year at a race when a guy in board shorts and a camouflage t shirt stood beside me. He was about my weight but maybe a foot shorter than me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Timmaay wrote: »
    I remember seeing a startline photo of on of the big races I was RD for, as pconn said, the usual lots of skinny lads/girls in club singlets in the front row, and then this one girl who clearly shouldn't have been there, I checked up results and saw she was well over 30mins :O, (it was a 5k), god love her, she must have got passed by 90% of the field during the race! From our (the race directors) point of view, we can only do so much to encourage people to start in around their own pace, but there always will be people who are in the wrong place!
    I really believe that a lot of the time, it’s not people’s own faults that they start in the wrong place (too far up). In a lot of races, a huge section of runners are fun runners or maybe even doing their first race. A lot of people don’t have a clue that there is even an etiquette issue. In some of the more high profile, commerical races, I really believe the race directors should do more to highlight the fact that one should place oneself in a particular area behind the start line. Race in Dark for Mark being point in case. Placing wasn’t mentioned in any of the information provided or at the race itself. I know it was more a fun run but still I don’t think it’s fair on anyone at the end of the day. The faster runners lose time and slower runners get trampled on. Nobody’s happy.
    I did my first race a little over a year ago. I was there early and automatically made my way fairly near the front. I didn’t have a clue that I was doing anything wrong until I saw very clear signs to say sub 20 min, sub 25 etc. I made my walk of shame to the very back but learned my lesson FOR EVER ☹

On the topic, do you think it is acceptable to politely ask someone to move back or point out that they should probably not be lining up at the front?

Not something I would really do but I thought about it this year at a race when a guy in board shorts and a camouflage t shirt stood beside me. He was about my weight but maybe a foot shorter than me!
    yep, i would think you should say something. For his sake and yours. I know I would be delighted to be told rather than suffer the humiliation at the off :o

You should just chat about what time they are aiming for, and if it's then obvious that they don't know where to be suggest that there are more people doing their speed a bit further back and they will just get trampled on if they stay at the front.

Looking like they have had a few more square meals than you is not always an indication of speed, and the board shorts might be for a bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,850 ✭✭✭Cartman78

If people around you have less that 5% body fat and are wearing what appear to be dayglo slippers you're probably too near the front :D

If you're not sure it's probably best starting near the back somewhere (keep ahead of the walkers, dogs on leads and prams though ;)) and work you way up thru the field.

As mentioned above, it can be very disheartening to have dozens of people bombing past you in the first mile and it will probably ruin your pacing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

robinph wrote: »
    Looking like they have had a few more square meals than you is not always an indication of speed, and the board shorts might be for a bet.

Anyone carrying more timber than me is in a lot of trouble!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

230846_162528640477363_3588422_n.jpg

Start of a 10k race I did last year. I'm not sure my angry glare is doing much!!

230846_162528640477363_3588422_n.jpg

Start of a 10k race I did last year. I'm not sure my angry glare is doing much!!
    Ha ha love it! Priceless expression there. Are there three guys there that should not be?

AFAIR, the two guys who came first and second are 3206 and 3207 with third place chatting to somebody over on the far left. 3199 was 8th, I was 9th, 3202 was in the top 20 I think.

3199 is a good example of doesn't look like he should be there but should. How did 3020 get on ? Mr No Number is a classic one. Would be a great idea for a thread. Where's wally just showing start line photos like this one.

3199 actually got on very well, I was surprised at him. I knew him in school 10-15 years ago, and he was a decent enough soccer player. I think he ran around 38.xx for what was a very tough course.

I don't remember how No Number got on but I saw him taking me out at sub-6 minute mile pace in a 5 miler this year for about a quarter of a mile and finishing in about 37 or 38 I think.. I didn't see 3020 in the half hour I spent hanging around after the race either.

I didn't see 3020 in the half hour I spent hanging around after the race either.

From the knee down Grandpa Walton looks like he could do the business:) Some nice calf muscle definition there:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭lway

3199 actually got on very well, I was surprised at him. I knew him in school 10-15 years ago, and he was a decent enough soccer player. I think he ran around 38.xx for what was a very tough course.

I don't remember how No Number got on but I saw him taking me out at sub-6 minute mile pace in a 5 miler this year for about a quarter of a mile and finishing in about 37 or 38 I think.. I didn't see 3020 in the half hour I spent hanging around after the race either.

Proof if proof were needed that starts should be graded based on length of shorts. :D

Top tip, if the people around you are in shorter shorts than you, then you're too far forward.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I don't think the guy on the far left has short enough shorts.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Shocking lack of flashy runners up front. None of yee should be there if you don't have bright colourful shoes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Shocking lack of flashy runners up front. None of yee should be there if you don't have bright colourful shoes.

I think that race was in Monaghan, there a few years behind the times up there! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

pconn062 wrote: »
    I think that race was in Monaghan, there a few years behind the times up there! ;)

That's very insulting, we have some of the snazziest shell suits in the country. :o

Oh here we go!!! For a start, I see at least three pairs of yellow runners there. And Pconn, we'll not even start to get into how chic Clogherhead is!!! And also, would you say the same thing to Mrs Pconn062???? Jaysus...