Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gave a guy my number today...

• 15-11-2012 8:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hey all,

I'd be really interested to get some opinions on this one.

There's this guy I've been seeing around the city the last few months. At first I just knew him from being a customer where he works, then we started to pass each other in the street. He'd always say hi and smile and seeing as he's a fairly handsome guy, I'd obviously always smile and say hi back.

I've been running into him a lot more lately, so I decided to be bold for a change and slip him my number today when I went in to make my usual purchase.

I handed him the cash with my name and number paper-clipped to it and told him to keep the change before walking away.

That was at about 1 o clock today... I haven't heard from him yet.

Now I know there's a million reasons for this, he could have a girlfriend, he could be busy, or just plain and simple, he may not be interested.

What do you guys reckon? Was it a bit too bold a move on my part? What's an acceptable period of time for me to wait for a response?

Thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Hey OP,

I could have written that post a when I was 17/18! was in the exact same situation with a guy who worked in a shop, months and months of relentless flirting had gone on, intense eye contact, the lot... I was hook line and sinker for him but it was so built up I could barely talk to him(again he was very handsome). Like you I decided to bite the bullet, went up to him one day with my number, said something brief while looking VERY coy, then walked away adrenaline pumping!

Did i hear from him? Nope. For some reason it really upset me and made me feel a complete fool for giving him my number. He had given me more than enough encouragement to come over to him. I still had to see him around after and he told me he accidently lost it, only after i light heartedly gave out to him for flirting so much (me trying to look like it was all just bit of a laugh and keep my cool),anyway I said "yeh right etc.."to that and walked off. He continued all the flirting that he always used to do while I actively had to avoid participating in it. It was AWFUL cos I still liked him like I always had but I couldn't figure him out so had to try ignore him.

I would say well done for doing it because I know how hard it is!in a way i regretted doing it because he made me feel like he wanted to know he had more of the power and that I would be the one to make the move. On the other hand I didn't know if it was that he was outrageously shy etc. But neither made a difference in the end anyway, it never happened cos I had no idea what had gone wrong. In another way though I was glad I did it, cos it shows a bit of bravery. But I wouldn't do it again ever.

Don't worry about him not replying, I know you feel like an eejit while he hasn't replied but give him a bit of time! He wouldnt text you that fast. Chances are he has more balls than the guy I gave my number to. Plus like you said he could have a gf, etc. Hold your head up high no matter what anyway!

I do hope he texts xx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,394 ✭✭✭ManOfMystery

It was only 7hrs OP. The guy could have been incredibly busy, could have had a crap day and didn't feel like starting texts, or he may not be interested. Or hecould be interested but is nervous or thinking how to approach the situation without rushing into it.

Either way, I think you need to give it a bit more time to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 pcnoobie

if he doesnt reply within 48hours im afraid you'll be stuck in the 'friend zone'

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

Irrespective of whether he calls you or not, you pushed your comfort zone and its admirable that you had the courage to give him your number. Don't regret it or overthink it. I'm sure plenty of guys will tell you that lots of times they ask out girls they get turned down - its all part and parcel of dating.

He may have a girlfriend on the scene, but if nothing else, you probably gave him a nice ego boost for the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

I think it's great OP, flirting and risk taking is all part of the fun of single life. So what if he doesn't call, it's all a bit of a laugh and you'll have made his day. If he is single and in anyway interested then I can guarantee he's impressed with your bravery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭dollypet

you asked a question (fair play by the way, ballsy!) but he is entitled not to answer. Esp as you just slipped him the number not asked him to his face. easlier to not answer. But I still think its a very cool thing to do!

Thanks for the replies everyone.

Haven't heard anything yet, and its been about 23 hours so I doubt I'll hear anything. I do feel a bit foolish but also glad that I had the courage to do it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭Idle Passerby

Fair play on making a bold move. But if you were actually hoping for something to happen you should have asked for his number instead.

How's that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

I think you're very brave, OP. The one thing I will say though is you've put he ball in his court. He's the one who has to call you now, which is difficult even if you know the person likes you. I suppose he could text you though. Is there any chance he might not see the number? Was it very easy to see? Good luck and I really hope he calls you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Wow, that's a really brave thing to do! I don't think I'd ever have the courage to do something like that.

It's only been a short amount of time, so I'd give it a bit longer. It may be that he's with someone else or not interested, and won't reply. But it could be a case that he's still trying to figure out how to approach the situation (I doubt he's encountered something like this before!). Either way, I say fair play to you for chancing your arm like that. You should be pretty proud of yourself for trying something like this, it's a ballsy thing to do.

I wouldn't lose hope just yet though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

Hope you wrote something on the note other than your number?

Like "Call me" - otherwise he might just take it as a bit of scrap or an accident etc.

I did similar once, a guy chatted me up but I had to leave so we didn't exchange numbers. I knew where he lived so I dropped him in a christmas card with my number in it.
    He called, we dated for a while but ultimately he was a jerk. But I'm still glad I took the chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭Idle Passerby

How's that?

Because you want to get in contact with him. If you'd asked for his number you could do that, rather than waiting to see if he'll contact you. On the plus side if he does contact you this way, you know he's at least interested so there are benefits to this way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭PhiloCypher

I did that once with a girl I got chatting to in the queue of a chipper after a night out , asked the guy behind the counter for a pen and paper while he bagged my stuff and handed it to the girl telling her to call me maybe . It didn't work of course and its definitely not something I'd have done sober (so kudo's there) but I was pretty proud of myself for trying it and so should you be OP whatever happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Cunning Stunt

I think it's great too. I never had the nerve for anything like that!
    I hope he calls but if he doesnt it could be for any number of reasons - he could be unsure as to whether you actually meant to include the piece of paper with the money, for example and is too shy to find out..

Thanks again all!

Oooh I feel like a bit of a dope now, I just put my name and number and paperclipped it to the note...

*facepalm*

Ah well, nothing ventured and all that! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭shampooman

Excellent stuff! Fair play for giving it a go, if he texts back then great if not you're still a legend! Keep up the good work :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

i gave a girl my phone number and it took a week to hear anything back.

also a few years ago when I was still working barman at Dinn Ri some girl slipped her number into my shirt pocket over the counter. Did I call her back? Well, I would have, if I remembered it was there when I went to do laundry -_-

Don't stress

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

I read the OP and said to myself, "Please tell me you wrote something like, 'Call Me, Handsome!' " or something like that.

I've had lumps of hash handed to me with a 10'er never mind pieces of paper with phone numbers on them. Some people just pull out the contents of their pocket in one go and plonk it on the counter.

Unless he knows your name then as far as he knows, you accidentally handed him a piece of paper with the fiver with your friend Marys' new mobile number on it. Even if he thought for a second that you'd done what you actually did do, well, he likely said to himself, "Nah!! Cop yourself on mate" and he is unlikely going to risk making a fool of himself.

You are going to have to follow this up methinks. All is not lost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

Even if you don't hear back don't be discouraged, it takes guts to do! I was working in a shop and would always see this one guy around, he would come in and chat to me as he was buying things, flirted for a while and then one day he handed me his number as he was paying, I texted him, and the rest is history :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 zarazoe

I wouldnt start doubting that he got it - theres a 1% chance he didnt but if you paperclipped the note to the money and you are a regular customer i would say you are grand. You are super cool to do it and if this guy doesnt realise it, so what! Also, I do think that any decent guy or gentleman with a girlfriend would respond with "thanks im flattered but taken" but actually hearing myself there is the possibility he just could be a flirt and therefore wont get in contact. Either way just try not to obsess about it (not incinuating you are of course, you know what i mean) and if he doesnt repsond, dont let that stop you from giving your number to the next guy that catches your eye ;)

Good on you, OP!
    I've always wished I could have that kind of confidence. Whenever I see someone attractive my first instinct is to run and hide.
    As for whether or not he'll call... he either will or he won't. You've done your part and it's up to him to take the initiative now. If he doesn't call, don't worry about it. There a million reasons why he should call, and a million reasons why he shouldn't. If he doesn't call honestly it's his loss. On with the next one :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

Good on you, OP!
    I've always wished I could have that kind of confidence. Whenever I see someone attractive my first instinct is to run and hide.
    As for whether or not he'll call... he either will or he won't. You've done your part and it's up to him to take the initiative now. If he doesn't call, don't worry about it. There a million reasons why he should call, and a million reasons why he shouldn't. If he doesn't call honestly it's his loss. On with the next one :D

I take it you read the OP and replied straight away without reading the rest of the posts??

OP clarified that she only wrote her name and number on a piece of paper clipped to a fiver. Now unless he already knows her name, for all he knows, he was accidently handed a note with her friend Mary's new mobile number on it.

Had she written, "Call Me!!" with the other details, then one could reasonably assume that her intent was unambiguous and the rest of your post would apply to her situation.

Had she walked up to him in the street and handed him a note with just her name and number, well no "Call Me" written on it would be required because there can be no other interpretation of her intent in that scenario.

However in a shop situation where he is serving her and she pulls a fiver out of her pocket, hands it to him, says keep the change and walks out....well that leaves it up on the air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 summerlucey

i admire you for what you did. Bet he has a gf coz you said he was good looking. Perhaps hes one of a very rare breed of men thats wants to stay devoted to his lover so prob felt best to not even txt coz then you'd have his number and he doesnt know you properly so imagine if you kept txting - leading to argument with his gf coz as us women would say - theres no smoke wo fire so perhaps he was genuine in not txting.

Just trying to cheer you up!

He text me last night...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

He text me last night...!

Woohooo??? or Not Wooohooo :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Kersh

What a super thread :)

Fair play OP, so whats the update? Hope it was a positive text!

I once asked a girl out that worked in a shop in Swords, way back when I was 17 or 18. She was about 25. Really liked her from going in and out buying things, and just grew a pair one day!

She said "give it a few years" :D and joked about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭emsie80

great thread!! fair play OP..... hope you at least get a date :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,830 ✭✭✭✭Taltos

OP - as you have heard back from him I am going to go ahead and close this thread now.

All the best and I hope it works out for you.

Taltos