Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I want to point and laugh at this, but it's in Economics....

• 15-11-2012 12:28pm

....so I'm quoting it here so it can get the reply it deserves.
    The Irish Spring - Rise up and say no to this bank debt.
    Dear People of Ireland
    Our banks went bust and our Government saddles us with their 64,000,000,000 euro debt. That’s a lot of cash which will be taken from you and me, on a dept which does not belong to you.
    The upcoming budget will take 3,000,000 Euros from your pocket to pay interest on a loan which you never took out.
    This loan belongs to the Banks; they took out the Loans, not you. Hello! This bank shackle is being placed on the necks of every man, women and child in this country. We are being sold into slavery. For a loan which is not ours. Full stop.
    And the Banks are gaining possession of our homes, our lands, and our businesses and shops.. Can you not see it happening?
    And foreign financial vultures are swooping in to clean up the best of these properties.
    Time to say,
    NO, NO, NO.
    The spiritual, emotional and financial implications of this yoke on our necks are enormous. We are all effected, some more than others, some driven to suicide, it is
    Time to say,
    NO,NO NO.
    WE are a tiny nation on the edge of the Atlantic which has being oppressed for generations. We fought and paid a huge price for our independence. Brother killed brother in a horrific civil war. For what?
    For this?
    Our elected representatives are grovelling their way to Europe and particularly to Germany, begging, begging begging. Like a puppy dog our Taoiseach is more interested in getting a pat on the head than standing firm and refusing to accept this Bank Yoke which is being put on the necks of the people he is supposed to be representing...Our Taoiseach and Finance ministers are only puppets of the Troika. That is clearly seen today.
    WE HAVE HAD PROMISE AFTER PROMISE FROM THESE BODIES THAT IRELAND WOULD BE TREATED DIFFERENTLY...
    We have no patience left for their lies.
    Time to say,
    NO, NO, NO.
    Our Bankers are still engaged in a feeding frenzy on your money, your taxes. They lavish on themselves salaries and pensions and bonuses of 500,000 Euros and more and treat us with absolute contempt in the process. They have no sense of morality, no sense of having done anything wrong, their thinking has become futile and their foolish hearts have become darkened and hardened. They have become filled with every kind of wickedness, evil, greed and depravity.
    Most of our politicians are just as greedy, especially the last lot who drove off with your money.

Meanwhile What Has Happened To Us?
    Why are You taking all of this lying down?
    Do you feel like I do that there is nothing I can do about It.? We are like a people drugged and anaesthetised, waiting to be operated upon on the table of super powers , economists, financiers, accountants, bankers and politicians who care nothing for the plight of the poor of this country. And I include the middle class as part of the new poor.
    Sure proof of this fact was clearly seen last week when the head of the Bank of Ireland, Richie Boucher, strutted his way into the offices of the Joint Oireachtas Committee on Finance, Public Expenditure and Reform. This is a body representing you in the Dáil. These are your elected representatives, this is YOU, who was treated with the highest level of contempt and insult, as that Banker refused to answer any of YOUR questions in an open and honest way. This is a Bank that received a good part of that 64,000,000,000 euro bailout. This is arrogance at its highest...
    The Banks are Private Foreign Companies who have no interest in the plight of the Irish People. Their aim is to make a profit for their shareholders. Wake up People. I have no problem with a company making profits, but I have a huge problem when private companies such as called AIB and Bank Of Ireland (so called pillar banks), Permanent TSP and Anglo Bank have being bailed out by the Irish People, by you. And in return what do these banks do? They put the yoke of this loan on you and strip you naked in the process. They treat our Government with utter contempt. And their decision making will impact every man woman and child for generations. These Banks which received massive loans of 64,000,000,000 Euros from the Troika, and our Government, are now saddling us with this loan and Richie Boucher sneers at the Irish people in the process. He showed his real card, he showed what the banks are really about. And Mr Noonan continues to protest that he can do nothing about this, even though the Irish People in principal own both AIB, Anglo and Permanent Tsp!
    It is time for us all wake up to what the banks are about. They are private companies and they are nor answerable to the state. Mr Boucher proved that! We have been sold a pup. We are actually bailing out a private company owned by shareholders whose sole mission is to make massive profits. At our expense.
    So it is time to say NO,NO,NO To this unjust Yoke being put on our necks. It is not ours. Say no to your hard earned money being extracted from you and given to these banks. Don’t be fooled with AIB either.
    So what can we do?
    Don’t say “a sur what can I do”... I have been saying that too...but no more...
    Because if you do not do something now, and i do not do something now, we can never again complain about the Budget, the Troika, the Government, your local TD...the weather, whatever.
    If you and I do not do something now, we are saying in effect, that we are willing to allow the Troika, our Government and the Banks to put a yoke of 64 Billion Euros over our necks and lead us into slavery for at least 30 years. They will lead you and I into another Van Demons land, like lambs to the slaughter.
    To accept this, lying down, is a sure sign of madness, Hello?
    We make excuse after excuse, the greatest being that we say this is too big, we are all saying “what can i do”, we all feel exactly the same, we feel powerless...we cannot overcome this monster. I believe together we can slay this monster.
    And some of us may fear that we could be kicked out of Europe if we push this too far. Europe will never kick us out as they have a loan of 64,000,000,000 out on us. Why? If we were to default on that 64,000,000,000 euro bank loan then we would pull Europe down as well. I don’t want either to happen but I for one, am no longer willing to make any repayments on a loan which is not mine.
    Are you?
    It is time to call their bluff.
    I am sorry if this offends...But this is the choice we have. I am simply willing to be the vehicle through which you can empower yourself and your community and regain you voice, because you matter!
    It’s Simple.
    It Starts with You.
    And this will end with you.
    So who are you?
    Are you unemployed? Do you know there are 450,000 of you out there? Can you give to this cause by giving of yourself? You are affected by this too. Your dignity will be restored as you join us in the march for freedom. And jobs will be created for you again in this country, and not in Australia. Will 450,000 of you be willing to march?
    Can you use your spare time to join with me in this worthy cause?
    Are you disabled...Please join me so that together we can protect your interests as the Government is about to sacrifice you to pay the Banks...To make cuts in basic essencial services...and Why? To pay back a Bank loan which is not yours.!
    Are you on the breadline? Join me and together we will insist that you are treated with dignity and that money will be available to increase your standard of living.
    Are you a Pensioner? The Government will cut your allowances and cut your travel passes. Why? They want to extract your savings to help pay the interest on a 64,000,000,000 loan which you did not take out... After all your years of service, this is what our Government is agreeing to. Join us and together let us say.
    NO ,NO ,NO.
    To unjust taxes.
    Are you a householder suffering from negative equity and facing increased taxes to pay for this 64,000,000,000 euro loan for the rest of your lives.? This is madness. Then join me and let us march together and say
    No more, No More, No More
    Are you a patient or will you be a patient in any outpatient or general hospital? Do you know there will be massive cuts to the Health budget in the next budget? Do you know that hospitals will close? Do you know that Waterford hospital may close? Do you know that essential services for the elderly and disabled will be axed! And what are all these cuts for?
    To pay interest and capital on a 64,000,000,000 euro loan the banks took for themselves. This loan is not yours.
    Now is the window of opportunity to shout aloud before the Budget is introduced.
    Now is the time to be Patriotic.
    We need a new Easter raising...a Peaceful Rising,
    The Irish Spring.
    I am calling on the Unemployed, Professionals, Business leaders, Musicians, Trade Unionists, Students, Medical staff, Civil servants, Mothers and Fathers and their Children , Farmers ( bring your tractors ), all Employees in all Companies, Service industries, Executives of Multinationals, Executives of Irish Companies, Airlines, Computer, Transport, Media, (Please bring your cameras etc), Teachers, Gardai, Army, Nurses, Lawyers, Judges, Priests, Cardinals, Bishops, Pastors Ministers...( This is a time to protect your flocks !), TDs ( after all you are supposed to be representing your people), People to represent the sick, the Disabled, those suffering from Addictions, the Homeless, Prisoners, the Marginalised of Society, Charity organisations, Sporting Organisations such GAA, IFA, IRFU, Athletics, Boxing, Racing, Cricket, and all other sporting bodies, Public bodies, Bank Staff, And please forgive me if I have left out any group...
    WE should easily muster a million people from this list.
    Please come.
    . I am calling on Irish people from all over the globe to be a part of this initiative. There are 70 million of Irish decent scattered all over the globe. Let this appeal go to each one of these. Contact them through this appeal through Facebook, Twitter and all other social media communication. Get their support. Get them on board. Would they be willing to muster support in your country??
    Let this go worldwide. Finally use all your computer skills and contacts and let this appeal go out all over the country and all over the world. Let it go Viral.... (I am just about computer literate.)
    Let’s have marches on the same day in every city where the Irish live.
    Let this be a real Paddies Day, a rising of the Irish to say.
    “No to this Bank Dept”
    We need to send the strongest possible signal to our Government and to Europe that we have had enough.
    So let us all unite under one banner, a banner of peace which simply says No To This Bank dept.

So Here is the Plan
    Meet at 2 pm next Saturday week November 24th and wherever you are March on the Dáil.
    (Of course the Dáil will be empty.)..
    This first march is a public peaceful expression of our anger at the way we are being treated. I would suggest we meet at O Connell Bridge at 2 Pm.
    Bring your whistles and drums, musical instruments and bodhráns.
    Support one another as you walk. You will be encouraged by those you walk with and they will encouraged by you. A sense of empowerment will happen as you walk. A great sense of Unity will begin enfold. A Sense of Love will flow again. The sense of greed will be put to flight.
    So Please,

1. Make up banners and placards describing who you are and the reason for your protest.

2. Shout “No No No” to this Loan being put on our backs.

3. If you cannot march, then make up simple petitions in your workplaces, using this document as a template, and forward to me at my address. This will be used to lobby our cause. Where, Everywhere. In shops, factories, hospitals, nursing homes, hse, everywhere two or three are gathered, dole offices, revenue offices, churches. Let’s make these official legal documents that cannot be sneered at. Please get involved in your community to make this a resounding success. Could you organise local marches if you cannot travel to the Dáil. March on your local County Councils and Corporations and make your voice heard. Organise buses to travel to Dublin...maybe your local bus companies could organise free travel to the Dail. Come on, let’s go for this.

4. Be Creative! Artists and Poets and Musicians, let’s hear from you...Let’s go for this. Bono, how about a free concert? Christy Moore, how about a special song that speaks of this...This is a great opportunity for us all to give, to give back to the people of Ireland who have made this nation great. This is our nation. Together we can restore the heart that is in the Irish Nation. WE will take back our dignity and break the yoke over our people.

5. Continue to March until this simple request is accepted... We will review matters after each march...Until we see our Government go to Europe and demand this Dept be removed from our backs.

6. If the Troika refuses to listen to our Government then we will take the fight to the mainland. We will make contacts with the oppressed peoples of Greece, Spain, Italy, Portugal and all other people oppressed and shackled by these unfair and unjust taxes. We will together march on the financial powers of the Troika...We will take the protest to the Financial and Political Centre of Europe. Let’s aim for a peaceful march of one million people! A spring rising from nothing high up in the mountains in Ireland but meeting together to form a mighty river...Descending on the Troika.

So what will this accomplish? Victory!

1. Firstly as we March for this Country, It will give our elected representatives a powerful mandate to go to the Troika and say NO NO NO to their plan to enslave the Irish people for the next 40 years.
    2. If our elected representatives will not listen to us the people of Ireland, then we will insist on a General Election and replace them with people who will truly represent the people. We can easily do this by approaching our local TDs and insisting that they listen to us and support us. Let them each hold up a placard stating which constituency they represent in our march. They will see the thousands of ordinary people saying that they have had enough. They will see and read the million or so of signed petitions insisting this yoke be taken off the backs of the Irish people. This is democracy at work. Those TDs will have no option but to vote against their Party...And the Government will fall. We have tremendous power if we work together.
    3. If the Troika does not listen to us then we the newly elected members of Government will simply refuse to make any repayments on the Loan. It is not the Peoples Loan. Let the so called experts of the Troika solve this problem in a just and equitable way. And lay the blame firmly where it belongs...on the Bankers, Developers, Bondholders and NOT ON US. We refuse to pay. It is not our dept. We can do this.
    4. We will succeed. This Plan will work. Recent history shows that peaceful demonstration works. We just need the masses to turn out and speak as one voice.
    5. And the Economy will grow again once this yoke is removed from the backs of our people. Business will flourish, tax revenue will increase, families will be restored, and jobs will be created in all areas of the economy. The Spirit of our nation will be revived. That is what will happen. This is worth marching for.
    So please join me from next Saturday Week, November 24 Th November, from 2pm and March on Dáil Eireann . Meet at O Connell Bridge at 2PM
    I will have a yoke on my shoulders which will simply read
    64,000,000,000 Euros
    This bank debt does not belong to the Irish People.

This March is very important as it will enable you who have no voice, to have a voice.

Finally this Series of Demonstrations must be Peaceful and there is no place for any individuals or any organisations who would like to use this mass demonstration as a means of using violence to attack the State or further their end towards anarchy. We submit to the Governing authorities. We are a totally Democratic body of people. We depend on the Gardai to work with us to manage this movement. We will work with them. We are known as the best soccer supporters in the world. Let’s build on that to reach our goal of breaking the yoke of this bank dept and releasing the captives to go free.
    Who am I?
    I am an ordinary citizen who is totally fed up and angry with how we are being treated. Everything I have written reflects who I am. I consider myself to be a Christian and that motivates me to fight against this unjust bank Loan and the serious effects it is having on people.
    My name is Francis Murtagh and I have no political allegiance with any party. I have never attended any political meeting. I do vote at every election and I vote depending on what a Party or individual stands for. I voted for Fine Gael in the last election and I voted for John McGuinness in Kilkenny as I liked the things they were saying, and what they stood for. I am now totally disillusioned as I feel this Government have let the country down. I have no confidence that Enda Kenny has the bottle to stand up to Angela Merkel. That lady reminds me too much of Margaret Thatcher.
    So I want us all to stand up and say NO, NO, NO to this 64,000.000.000 euro loan. Simple.
    I am a married man, born in 1953 and I have three children. I am a Pharmacist; I am unable to work at present as I suffer from Depression. I had my own pharmacy and veterinary business in Kilkenny from 1982 to 1997. My family moved to Fanore in Co Clare in 2000 and during that time I worked as the chief Pharmacist in Ennis General Hospital. I also bought the old Post office in Fanore and i developed a small village centre of a new post office, a craft shop, restaurant and 3 apartments overhead. It was at this time my mental health deteriorated and i spent a number of times in St Pats Hospital from 2002 to 2008. I would challenge anyone who would use fact this to discredit me. We are all told about not applying a stigma to those suffering from depression or who are admitted to hospital as a result. I believe this painful experience in my life would only qualify me further to represent the masses of people who are depressed, even suicidal, from the unjust bank loan being applied to their backs.
    The family returned to Kilkenny in 2003 and I worked in a number of Pharmacies up to 2010. My mental health issues would always come up to bite me.
    I took up a bank loan around 2001 for this development and to build our home in Fanore. I am now struggling with a bank loan because of my mental health issues which prevented me from gaining employment for long periods of time. And the Bank have made no allowance in any of this, and made no allowance for the fact that their reckless lending policies caused the value of my property to plummet. I am now in negative equity on a loan that was taken out in 2001. This was not a greedy development. It was, and is a family business, and the Bank is now in the process of taking this property from me.
    Mr Boucher’s performance the other day reflects the attitude the bank has on everyone today. I.e. Contempt. They do not look at the human side. They do not do compassion. They talk and talk about the loan book...but they fail to see the human misery and pain and despair hidden in that loan book and they fail to acknowledge and make provision for their own responsibility in the current state of affairs.
    Like most people in this country, I have had enough...

I have not consulted with anyone except my family before sending this out. There is no organisation in place. This is beginning with me. But this is not about me, this is all about you. I have heard so many people saying what “can we do”, and I have decided to put my neck on the block to a least provide a platform where the voice of the people will be heard. This is risky and dangerous...Many will say I am mad. But I believe that like minded people who have the same vision will come to serve this cause and will come along side me to see this vision accomplished.
    I am not an extremist. I am only known by my family and a small circle of friends.
    But I have had enough.
    As a captain ( which I was !) I might say, gathering my players around me, I say to you “come on, we can do this, we have all the gifting we need, let’s work as a team and lets win this battle and save this country 64,000,000,000 Euros and put the Troika to flight.” And we can breathe again.
    So that is why I say to the Troika
    No,NO NO.
    No More.
    Let this be the Irish Spring.
    And together we will be a powerful force to bring change in this land.
    Francis Murtagh.
    Bleach Road,
    Dunmore
    Kilkenny
    Ireland.
    Phone 087 4182026
    At least I will have tried.

Anyways,

My reaction to reading a bit of above

TL,DR

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

SeaSlacker wrote: »
    Anyways,

TL;DR.

exactly :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

It's good to hear the spirit of Amy Winehouse being channeled by someone in the Know Know Know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,861 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

We are all doomed, doomed I tell you! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

SeaSlacker wrote: »
    ....so I'm quoting it here so it can get the reply it deserves.

Anyways,

My reaction to reading a bit of above

TL,DR

Ye gods there is so much retardation in that i don't know where to begin.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Not OK to use AH as a vessel to bash other threads / posters / forums.