Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hurleys banned in Henry Street

• 14-11-2012 7:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭

New official sign on a lamppost on junction of O'Connell Street and Henry Street:

HURLEYS BANNED ON HENRY STREET.

The local council bans sporting equipment of the national sport.

No ban on baseball bats, cricket bats, golf clubs or any other sports sticks/clubs.

I know there was a fight recently when hurleys taken from genuine hurlers, who were walking through the area, were used in the fight.

Hurleys are not the problem, fighting scum are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭flogging a dead horse

I am sorry, I am big GAA fan, but I think this thread is the fuuniest thing I have read in a while! Compared to the hurling coach on D'Unbelivables.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Why would you need a hurley on a busy street in Dublin? There's just no need. Hurleys aren't a fashion accessory, I don't understand people who walk around town with hurleys over their shoulder.

I'm indifferent to the ban, I really just think it's a non-issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭flogging a dead horse

Ah yes the Dublin streets were safer when football was the only code played in the city and county of Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭RGS

you have DIT students walking fro their various city locations to their playing fields in Grangegorman.

In summer with midweek games lads bring their gear to work as they cant get home and out to a game.

Its a idiotic decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭zetecescort

if the Gardai were nowhere to be seen during the original fight, who do you think is going the enforce this?

a non-story

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

I'm very concerned by this.

Have you made your displeasure known to the local council?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

I don't know that many people would need hurleys on O'Connell/Henry Street but I suppose some people do need to get to matches and stuff. But I assume allowances will be made.

Although I do think it seems a bit pointless to ban hurleys and not to ban other similar items.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Have chairs been banned on Dame Street?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,738 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

I'm sure the ban will more than likely only be enforced by the Gardai on the more 'shady' looking characters in dodgy looking nike tracksuits and air max. I know a few lads who work in stores there and during the summer bring their gear with them so they can head straight to matches and training etc, it'd be a crying shame if it was a genuine widespread ban.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Were canes banned on Cruises Street Limerick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,282 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Sandwich boards also need a banning by the looks of that video.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,972 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

tuxy wrote: »

1min 13 .....Love the way 40 'hard men' leg it when the guards turn on the siren:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

what if these thugs are wearing dublin GAA shirts and carrying hurleys?

this has to be a wind up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭cormac halpin

Can I sign a petition somewhere? Or write an angry email perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

RGS wrote: »

Well they can't ban scumbags from Henry Street, the place would be a ghost town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭neddynasty

Sandwich boards also need a banning by the looks of that video.

Metal chairs too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭Seves Three Iron

Just to confirm, this story is complete nonsense. If this sign exists at all, which it probably doesn't, it was not put up by anyone official in the council.

(Before you ask, I have checked it out).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

tuxy wrote: »

Nice, filmed by someone on the tourist bus !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

Just to confirm, this story is complete nonsense. If this sign exists at all, which it probably doesn't, it was not put up by anyone official in the council.

(Before you ask, I have checked it out).

Unfortunately, the sign exists. I took a shot of it this morning.

I sincerely hope it's not official, as I squirmed at the use of punctuation on the sign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Compared to the hurling coach on D'Unbelivables.

You just brought back some of my best Christmas memories of sitting in front of the telly seeing the D'Unbelivables for the first time :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Unfortunately, the sign exists. I took a shot of it this morning.

I sincerely hope it's not official, as I squirmed at the use of punctuation on the sign.

It looks like complete nonsense to me. Why would they just ban Hurleys in just one Street? The signs look amateurish and are not in the usual official style.

Did you put up the signs yourself, and then come here to engineer an outraged debate OP? Did you? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Are hurls allowed?? Seems from the sign its only hurleys that are banned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Are hurls allowed?? Seems from the sign its only hurleys that are banned?

depends which part of the country you're from I guess:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

depends which part of the country you're from I guess:)

Exactly so I assume they are referred to as hurleys in Dublin, so it is really the carrier is the problem not the choice of weapon ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭GRMA

just ignore it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭cormac halpin

Some people don't know a hurl from a hurley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

That sign says that something called an "are" belonging to a guy named Hurley is banned from Henry Street.

Sign is ldo fake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,606 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

About time, he was always causing trouble.

250px-Hurleylost.PNG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Clearly a pisstake. That sign is a poor effort.

Reminds me of the "NAMA" planning application for a dry ski slope in the city centre.

The sign isn't hung straight, the text is left-aligned, wrong size, wrong border, the picture is in colour.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

RGS wrote: »
    New official sign on a lamppost on junction of O'Connell Street and Henry Street:

HURLEYS BANNED ON HENRY STREET.

The local council bans sporting equipment of the national sport.

No ban on baseball bats, cricket bats, golf clubs or any other sports sticks/clubs.

I know there was a fight recently when hurleys taken from genuine hurlers, who were walking through the area, were used in the fight.

needs the Sunday game music

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

Signs have been removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Signs have been removed.
    Sign has now been banned.