Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Has a Mod ever been banned?

• 14-11-2012 6:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,835 ✭✭✭

Surely in the lifetime of Boards there's been a Mod who lost the plot and let rip. :eek:

Anyone got links to such threads? Or are they quietly deleted and all onlookers asked to move on. :cool:

A lot of mods would have been banned. Just because you're a mod doesn't mean leniency will be shown once you break the rules.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Banned from a rockers convention

• Site Banned Posts: 385 ✭✭pontia

i had a mod who was giving me a hard time,he ended up being warned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Dr.B used to be a baaaaaaad boy.
    Makakomi too I think he said but before he was Makakomi.
    Was Outlawpeter a mod?

Mods are people too :) ...sort of

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Mods often get banned from forums they don't mod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Those of you who subscribe will have noticed a few mods who regularly get banned from the sex and sexuality forum.
    Dirty feckers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Those of you who subscribe will have noticed a few mods who regularly get banned from the sex and sexuality forum.
    Dirty feckers.

Stupid sexy mods.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭blatantrereg

Mercury tilt and bubbles were both permanently sitebanned.

Bubbles did lots of stuff. The one that I remember was selling a cd burner for €1 and then sending a cigarette lighter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

I dunno if any mod was ever sitebanned but I know mods do get banned from forums they don't mod if that helps answer your question.

As for any mod letting rip and abusing power and stuff... the cocaine is laced with a slow acting arsenic that activates and becomes instant if they abuse their power.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Yep, it reflects badly on them given they're trusted with the forum community, but I've seen mods of all flavours banned, demodded and quietly asked to leave.

TBH and personally I'd be harsher on mods acting the dick in any the forums I mod. A guy or gal 10 posts in screwing up before they get the feel of things I'd give waaaay more leeway than a mod who really should know better, given they're hardly newbs.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Was there not a big bust-up with the mods from the poker forum a couple of years ago?
    I only lurked then so don't know the ins and outs!

Ah being a lurker good in any situation!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Treha

Wibbs wrote: »
    A guy or gal 10 posts in screwing up before they get the feel of things I'd give waaaay more leeway than a mod who really should know better, given they're hardly newbs.

Thanks for the heads up. I'll see you in The Ladies Lounge. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

I think Pete Townshend may have been banned from working with kids, and from accessing certain webpages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

there was something recently about Gardai cracking down on excessive tint on windows

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

Walshb got demodded from the boxin forum I believe after being banned and warned in several other forums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

They do protect themselves,

I was walking down the street a while back when I was approached by some big burly guy,

he asked if he could have a word with me, I said sure no problem, he then tells me he belongs to the MOD crew and I am in deep water because of the threads I was starting in AH,

I pooed myself slightly when I heard this, then I felt I knew who he might be from his tone, before I knew it a van pulled up and I was thrown into the back, head first,

the van traveled for some time, turning left then right, going round roundabouts 4 or 5 times trying to confuse my senses, eventually we stopped and to small guys with clip boards opened the van door telling me to keep quiet nobody will hear you if you scream,

a bit more poo had escaped by this stage, they violently grabbed me by the arms (which never hurt) and walked me to a building about 50 yards away while reciting the charter all the way,

I was taken into a small room with a chair and desk in the middle of it, they forced me to sit down by saying sit down, there was no way I was going to disagree with these guys,

I was forced to read the charter out aloud for 24 hours straight (they took turns sleeping), I felt 8 hours into my experience there was one occasion where I might of had a chance to make a run for it, but as I was only have way through the charter (for the 6th time) it would be wrong of me not to finish it,

for the last four hours they flicked my ears trying to put me off my stride, but there was no way I was going to make any mistakes reading the charter out loud, (there was no way I was going to let them wear me down),

I was told I was lucky because they needed to go to McDonald's to get some happy meals, they informed me that if I ever start a pointless thread on AH again I would be found in the middle of a field or worse in prison,

since that day I have not started a thread on AH and I still poo myself slightly when I think about it,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,973 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

What happens to mods when they die? (If they die.)

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    What happens to mods when they die? (If they die.)
    I think their power transfers to the person who killed them, or something like that.

Somewhere out there, there's an individual with KeithM89's power...and we don't know whether they are on the side of good or evil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

One of them had a go at me for no reason and used personal abuse. I reported it and the comment was removed but nothing happened publicly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    I think their power transfers to the person who killed them, or something like that.

Somewhere out there, there's an individual with KeithM89's power...and we don't know whether they are on the side of good or evil.

I heard they travel the world fighting each other but the only way for one of them to die is by getting their head cut off by another immortals sword.

There can be only one!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Is there a special de-modding ceremony?

Does the defrocked mod have to do the Walk Of Shame along an aisle of hissing mods to have his or her shirt ritually torn and epaulettes removed by Zaph or Gordon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

cml387 wrote: »

Does the defrocked mod have to do the Walk Of Shame along an aisle of hissing mods to have his or her shirt ritually torn and epaulettes removed by Zaph or Gordon?

They receive a Golden Handshake, get thousands of thanks for their hard work, and Travel extensively around the world giving lectures and getting paid, whilst still receiving their Boards pension.

Allyall wrote: »
    They receive a Golden Handshake, get thousands of thanks for their hard work, and Travel extensively around the world giving lectures and getting paid, whilst still receiving their Boards pension.

You are mixed up slightly, just slightly..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

cml387 wrote: »

I'd imagine it involves loads of black candles and a funeral bell toll with the mod in question wearing a sack cloth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Ando's Saggy Bottom

Something happened with LuckyLloyd on the SF before I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭PC CDROM

Mercury tilt and bubbles were both permanently sitebanned.

Bubbles did lots of stuff. The one that I remember was selling a cd burner for €1 and then sending a cigarette lighter.

Were they not ex mods who went on to be perma banned? Rather than mods who got banned. I keep seeing that name in the bargains forum too. Weird. :eek:

There were defo two mods who got banned while being mods. I don't think we are allowed to talk about it though. The funny thing is.. were they not mods...they would never have seen the forum they should never have seen...and thus not have incurred the wrath and I mean wrath... of the Admins. S'exs'or and all them ones.

There's an easy way to solve this.
    Someone make the OP a mod.
    Then, the OP can post a large variety of links to porn sites and get site banned. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Jimoslimos wrote: »

evel...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

When was Bubbl..I mean "he who must not be named" removed from the swear filter?

I remember when the friend feature was added, he managed to invite everyone on boards to be his friend :)

MadsL wrote: »
    When was Bubbl..I mean "he who must not be named" removed from the swear filter?

I remember when the friend feature was added, he managed to invite everyone on boards to be his friend :)

I now picture a creepy 40 year old man trying to invite teenagers around to his house to show them a secret.

I assume there's a story... did it involve mass spamming or something?
    Or is this something which not be named, not be spoken off and when I press "submit reply" I'm already site-banned for talking about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I now picture a creepy 40 year old man trying to invite teenagers around to his house to show them a secret.

Or is this something which not be named, not be spoken off and when I press "submit reply" I'm already site-banned for talking about it?

Those were more innocent times, we did not have pedos in 2004.

I think he wrote a script to do it.

As to not naming bub..eh, himself. I think you would be let off as a newb.

We need a boards mythology forum I reckon, things that may or may not have happened, and how they seriously did happen, dude.

Yep your fooked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Those of you who subscribe will have noticed a few mods who regularly get banned from the sex and sexuality forum. .

Theres a sex and sexuality forum ?

I have been on the Irish Economy and Politics forum and didnt even know about the sex forums? . .

I thought I was hard as nails last week when I broke my toe 20 mins into an hour 5aside (didnt know), played on, scored a goal and finished the game . . This completely undoes all that tough sh*t . .

MadsL wrote: »
    Those were more innocent times, we did not have pedos in 2004.

I think he wrote a script to do it.

As to not naming bub..eh, himself. I think you would be let off as a newb.

We need a boards mythology forum I reckon, things that may or may not have happened, and how they seriously did happen, dude.

This could work really well: Boards Myths forum. We could have pub quizzes and so on, testing the knowledge of Boards. Winners get money and losers flayed in the town center.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

Something happened with LuckyLloyd on the SF before I think.

He went bananas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Move back from the abyss , folks , move back I tells ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

We don't talk about ordinary boarsies who get banned and we don't talk about mods who get banned.