Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

where them hills at ?

• 13-11-2012 10:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭

My plan calls for some hill reps of a Tuesday. It even specifies the hill - it should be approx 250m long with a grade of 1:10.
    Adding in a 2-3k warm up gives me Booterstown avenue and (at a stretch) Fosters Avenue. I know booterstown has the length, but I'm not sure of the grade. On the other hand, fosters avenue may be too steep.

Anyone got a good hill they use in and around Dublin 2/4/6/1/3/5 ? I don't mind driving a bit to get to it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭catch.23

Mount Anville hill on Fosters Avenue might be suitable for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

The Kyber in the Park - do a few reps on that and you'll know all about it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

The Kyber in the Park - do a few reps on that and you'll know all about it :)

The Kyber is nowhere near steep enough. OP is looking for a 1:10 hill, Kyber would be a bout 1:20 at best....(though the grass hill up to the magazine fort might do the trick).

OP Assuming you are looking for a tarmac/road hill you could try out Stocking Lane in Rathfarnham (mind you it might not be steep enough.
    Edmondstown Rd from the M50 Bridge up to The Merry Ploughboy Pub would fit the bill but you would have to do it in Daylight.
    There are also plenty of suitable hills out around Killiney.

St Fintans Rd in Howth is good as well if you are out that direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭jeffontour

Kilmashogue Lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,503 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

jeffontour wrote: »
    Kilmashogue Lane.
    ..or Ticknock Road. Or any of the roads leading up to Carrigologan/The Scalp (Shankill/Rathmichael/Kilternan area).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭KentuckyPete

My plan calls for some hill reps of a Tuesday. It even specifies the hill - it should be approx 250m long with a grade of 1:10.
    Adding in a 2-3k warm up gives me Booterstown avenue and (at a stretch) Fosters Avenue. I know booterstown has the length, but I'm not sure of the grade. On the other hand, fosters avenue may be too steep.

Anyone got a good hill they use in and around Dublin 2/4/6/1/3/5 ? I don't mind driving a bit to get to it

As another poster said, Mount Anville is the one you want. Turn right at the top of Fosters Avenue and descend around 200m on Roebuck Road (to the bottom of the hill - this is the DCM "Heartbreak Hill" at mile 20.8 in the marathon).

If you run up this hill, turning right at the top and continue on up Mount Anville Hill you'll get as good a hill workout as you need. You say you need 250m so I assume you're running one reps of minute hill sprints or something. I used this hill a fair bit for reps when preparing for the DCM program and it fair nailed me.

Around 250 years ago when I was in the UCD Boat club we used to use the hill for handicap hill reps on a Tuesday night through the winter. Slowest lads going off first, then the average lads, then the greyhounds, we'd race from the bottom of the hill on Roebuck Road to the spot opposite the entrance to Mount Anville School. Absolute carnage :p

..or Ticknock Road. Or any of the roads leading up to Carrigologan/The Scalp (Shankill/Rathmichael/Kilternan area).

Yeah, any of the roads leading to the forest recreation areas should have you regretting you ever found them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

Thanks all..

I think Roebuck Road leading to Mount Anville would be the most suitable as it's closer to home and is decently paved and lighted for night time. Funnily enough I was thinking about Heartbreak hill, but it isn't long enough. Really didn't dawn on me that I could go around the corner :confused:. Duh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭wrstan

You want hills, you got hills: :D

picture.php?albumid=2286&pictureid=14164

From Killiney Dart station, head up towards Vico Road - Hilll1
    At junction, head left towards Killiney Village - Hill2
    Just passed Killiney Village, head into Killiney Hill park and head up to the Obelisk - Hill3

then puff and pant and admire the views!

Alternatively you can reach the Obelisk from the Dalkey side, running up from Dalkey Avenue and up the Burmah Road :eek:
    Or alternate directon on different weeks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭KentuckyPete

Really didn't dawn on me that I could go around the corner :confused:. Duh!

The real craic starts when you go round the corner ;)

Sounds like I'm going to have issues holding myself accountable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

Very few online tools can measure what you're looking for.

I have run all the hills mentioned so far in this thread multiple times and would say that Mount Anville would be the steepest (last 250m of the ascent from Fosters Avenue direction), followed by Killiney Hill (last 250m from the southerly ascent) and then Kilmashogue Lane, just below the entrance to Kilmashogue Wood.

Knockmaroon Hill is very steep too, but it's far too close to the heavy traffic struggling up the hill. I've nearly fallen in front of a car from being so weak after a rep!

I have run all the hills mentioned so far in this thread multiple times and would say that Mount Anville would be the steepest (last 250m of the ascent from Fosters Avenue direction), followed by Killiney Hill (last 250m from the southerly ascent) and then Kilmashogue Lane, just below the entrance to Kilmashogue Wood.
    Where is this Mount Anville road? I feel the need to test my mettle against it, and defend the honour of my Quarry Road and Sutton's Lane. :)

It leads on from fosters avenue towards dundrum. It's steep enough, not sure how it compares to the more "alpine" hills in SoCoDo. Your honour is probably protected

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Where is this Mount Anville road? I feel the need to test my mettle against it, and defend the honour of my Quarry Road and Sutton's Lane. :)

I think this is what they are talking about

I've run down Quarry Road, not up, and have never been to Sutton's Lane!

Krusty I think you should visit Mount Anville, just to put your mind at ease ;) I can't confirm that it's any easier than your local hills!

I've run down Quarry Road, not up, and have never been to Sutton's Lane!

Krusty I think you should visit Mount Anville, just to put your mind at ease ;) I can't confirm that it's any easier than your local hills!
    Hehe.. For comparison purposes, Quarry Road is 100m elevation gain over the course of a kilometer. Sutton's Lane is just plain nasty, particularly if you continue the climb up Barnaslingan Lane. Of course none of them are real hills. Real hills don't have roads on them (before the IMRA brigade move in and start pointing and laughing).

1:10 gradient gentle slopes. Quarry road is in dalkey I presume

Nah, it's a road up towards Carrigologan. Linky above.

Looks tasty enough, but I wouldn't fancy it too much at night. I know barnaslingan lane alright, again not one for the dark either. Grand in the car though...

Hehe.. For comparison purposes, Quarry Road is 100m elevation gain over the course of a kilometer.

So is that an example of a 1:10 hill? (100:1000) The OS map doesn't even recognise a hill at Mount Anville, so you could be safe!

I forgot a steeper hill, just off Ballyedmonduff Road. 70m gain over 500m :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭catch.23

Hehe.. For comparison purposes, Quarry Road is 100m elevation gain over the course of a kilometer. Sutton's Lane is just plain nasty, particularly if you continue the climb up Barnaslingan Lane. Of course none of them are real hills. Real hills don't have roads on them (before the IMRA brigade move in and start pointing and laughing).

Oh really?!

and then Kilmashogue Lane, just below the entrance to Kilmashogue Wood

There is a lot more to Kilmashogue Lane than the section from the roundabout to the entrance to the woods. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

We should set up a Strava for ARTists.

The road up to the masts at three rock is a decent climb. It’s closed off to so safe to run on.

nerraw1111 wrote: »

The road up to the masts at three rock is a decent climb. It’s closed off to so safe to run on.

Exciting times ahead - physios will be raking it in on Achilles and calf problems :D

nerraw1111 wrote: »

Damn you, there goes a whole afternoon of work :D