Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car accident no NCT

• 13-11-2012 4:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32

Any advice would be great!

A mate was driving down road over a week ago in his car that wasnt NCT'd. Silly fella I know! Anyways, a car pulled out turning right from a side road across the other lane and hit my mates car on trying to enter my mates lane. Mate was going straight on the main road and this other fella hit his right door. Mate was definitely not at fault. Other fella verbally admitted liability and said he would pay for damage. Other fella said he didnt want to go through his insurance company. Fella said he would just pay for damage... thinking it would be less than a grand. My mate got this fellas registration number and contact details but not his insurance details.

Basically, because this other fella said he would pay cash for damage my mate did not alert the gardai nor his insurance company. (I think he was worried that he will get in trouble for not having NCT).

My mate got a couple quotes and the damage is about 2800 euro (a lot more than expected). So im guessing when your man hears this quote he wont want to be handing over that sort of cash!

If the fella pays all good and well. But if he decides to go through his insurance company what is my mates best course of action to take? Should he inform the gardai and his insurance company? will he be penalised for not reporting the accident sooner? Accident happened over a week ago. Also will anything happen in regards to my mate not having the NCT'd at the time of the accident? It is a requirement to produce NCT in these circumstances?

Hope I've articulated all this correctly and its not too confusing!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

He needs to inform his insurance company NOW that he has had a crash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

If wrote off he'll get scrap value of the car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Woodie321

Stheno wrote: »
    He needs to inform his insurance company NOW that he has had a crash

Well if it were me I wudve informed them at the time of the accident and prob got gardai to the scene if necessary. Because he hasnt yet informed them do you know of any implications of this??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

Inform the insurance company now. You don't need to inform the gardai unless someone is injured. He should have gotten the insurance details but at least the has the reg of the other car along with contact information. Get your mate to pass on all the information when he informs his insurance company.

The insurance company won't care about the no NCT. It's up to the guards to decide if to prosecute for this or not. It will have no bearing on the insurance issue. Your friend will be claiming on the other guy's insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Woodie321

Speak of the devil! Just got a call from my mate there. Mate went to a panel beaters and got another quote (other garages were the approved car dealers). This quote was significantly less... about a grand or thereabouts (but wont be from the approved garage). My mate rang the fella who crashed into him and the fella has agreed to pay the smaller sum. Mate is happy enough as it will avoid a lot of hassle. Does he still need to inform insurance company of gardai or anyone if all is being sorted out without claims?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Woodie321 wrote: »
    Speak of the devil! Just got a call from my mate there. Mate went to a panel beaters and got another quote (other garages were the approved car dealers). This quote was significantly less... about a grand or thereabouts (but wont be from the approved garage). My mate rang the fella who crashed into him and the fella has agreed to pay the smaller sum. Mate is happy enough as it will avoid a lot of hassle. Does he still need to inform insurance company of gardai or anyone if all is being sorted out without claims?

Don't worry about the guards, they won't give two hoots about an accident a week ago that no one got hurt in.

He should inform his insurance company as if the other driver doesn't come through his insurance company will deal with it for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

dgt wrote: »
    If wrote off he'll get scrap value of the car
    That's where a problem can arise. A non-NCT'd car can (in insurer's eyes) be deemed to be of less value than the book rate for a similar NCT'd vehicle. Many also will refuse to pay out for an own damage aspect of a claim and have written this in to the policy conditions. As the TP is agreeing to pay up, I doubt there will be an issue.

As others have said, inform your own insurer of the accident regardless