Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying housemate's bike - how much is it worth?

• 06-11-2012 1:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3

Hi all, I wanted to ask how much ye reckon my housemate's bicycle would be worth. He's moving and has to sell it, and I want to give him a proper price for it.

It's a Felt frame, with Suntour xct V2 front suspension, and these really strong disc brakes. He paid €500 for it when it was new, which wasn't too long ago.

Not sure about rules (and politeness) about posting images, so here's 2 pictures of it hosted on Imgur, I hope that's ok:

http://i.imgur.com/6ikd0.jpg
    http://i.imgur.com/Pv3Zf.jpg

This guy is the best housemate you could hope for - he's let me ride this bike for the past year. I really want to give him a fair price for it, but have no clue where to start. Can anyone help?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

€350 if he is lucky to be honest.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

I'd say 250euro but it looks in good condition and he has let you ride/borrow it for a year, so 350 would be fair considering but if it was a stranger, 250euro, 300 if your really interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

€250, 1 pig, 3 bags of coal and a bag of spanners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 JDRaitt

So between €250 and €350 is a good amount to give him?
    kennyb3 wrote: »
    €250, 1 pig, 3 bags of goal and a bag of spanners.

He's from Limerick, he'd probably take just the pig and bags of coal ;)

Thank you everyone for replying, had no idea if €50 or €500 was a fair amount for him. Hope to see ye all here more!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭Ahorseofaman

oops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

is everything on it working and in pristine condition,
    do you realy need the bike and if so do you intend to use it until the wheels fall off, if so give him 400 euro for it if he thinks it's to much ask him how much he wants that way you will still be friends at the end of the day.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

He has enough locks on it, that's for sure.

MOD NOTE: Posts deleted, if they crop up again, the ban hammer comes out to everyone, involved, wether they were the instigator or the responder, we have report post buttons for a reason.

Never noticed them initially, if they come as part of the deal, you can add on an extra 50 to 75euro to my initial price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 JDRaitt

CramCycle wrote: »
    Never noticed them initially, if they come as part of the deal, you can add on an extra 50 to 75euro to my initial price

Heh, those are actually mine. Might seem like overkill, but I was using the bike for a year, and losing someone else's stuff isn't the same as losing your own...

He has a kryptonite lock he's gonna give me too, I hear they are unbreakable! It'll be the safest bike in the nation :D

JDRaitt wrote: »
    He has a kryptonite lock he's gonna give me too, I hear they are unbreakable! It'll be the safest bike in the nation :D

Nothing is unbreakable but they are more difficult to break than quite alot of others. Key to locking a bike, make yours less attractive and/or more difficult to steal than the bike beside yours.