Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CLOSE CALL--WHAT SHOULD I DO ??

• 05-11-2012 09:00AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭

Someone was millimetres from destroying the drivers side of my car and injuring me at around quarter past Eight this morning..

I was on the left side lane facing Victoria bridge coming from Western Rd Cork I was actually late taking off on Green and there was also a red van to my right whom I had been behind through the city, I was going straight ahead and noticed a fair few cars had gone through the Amber or as I soon realised the Red too. A mad woman decided to also change lane as well as break a Red and only my brakes stopped me from being injured..

She came from the O Neill Crowley bridge side heading to Wilton Rd and as she turned to go the right side lane she then turned out to go to the left lane just as I was also going that way. She clearly broke the Reds.

It was a close shave, Too close I'm still shaking here now..How our cars didn't collide is a miracle. She drove off fairly quick too but I followed her and got her reg..

So should I report her ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Put it down to experince and count your lucky stars that your fine
    There is nothing you can do about it as in theory nothing happend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

any point? she missed you, what do you think the Gards will do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,784 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

corktina wrote: »
    any point? she missed you, what do you think the Gards will do?

warn her regarding dangerous driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

I would report them.

People moan about dangerous drivers yet when it comes down to it have the "Informer" attitude when its time to make the call.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭GoodisonPark

Jog on ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,226 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

Forget it, and get on with your day.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

You can report it, but they will prob do nothing.
    Your word against theirs.

"only my brakes stopped me from being injured.."
    How do you know you were going to be injured? They MAY have clipped your car, but injured?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,659 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Invest in a dashcam. You can then report her with evidence! I honestly think every driver should have a dashcam

yop wrote: »
    You can report it, but they will prob do nothing.
    Your word against theirs.

"only my brakes stopped me from being injured.."
    How do you know you were going to be injured? They MAY have clipped your car, but injured?

If the guards give a call even saying he/she has been reported it might wake them up abit and it's certainly something they will remember short term.

Report it, road safety is everyones responsability.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

I think Antodeco got it in one about the Dash-Cam, I'll have to get one..

I think as a poster pointed out that at least if I report her she could get a call off the Gardaí that might make her think twice in future about her driving..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭Conchurl

charlemont wrote: »
    Someone was millimetres from destroying the drivers side of my car and injuring me at around quarter past Eight this morning..

I was on the left side lane facing Victoria bridge coming from Western Rd Cork I was actually late taking off on Green and there was also a red van to my right whom I had been behind through the city, I was going straight ahead and noticed a fair few cars had gone through the Amber or as I soon realised the Red too. A mad woman decided to also change lane as well as break a Red and only my brakes stopped me from being injured..

She came from the O Neill Crowley bridge side heading to Wilton Rd and as she turned to go the right side lane she then turned out to go to the left lane just as I was also going that way. She clearly broke the Reds.

It was a close shave, Too close I'm still shaking here now..How our cars didn't collide is a miracle. She drove off fairly quick too but I followed her and got her reg..

So should I report her ???

did you break red lights to follow her?

I think Antodeco got it in one about the Dash-Cam, I'll have to get one..

I think as a poster pointed out that at least if I report her she could get a call off the Gardaí that might make her think twice in future about her driving..

Look at it this way.

The person in question is a bad borderline dangerous driver who does this kind of thing every single day and people have been letting it slide because "shurre whats the point nothing will be done"

All it takes is 2 complaints made from a couple of people who have had close calls like yourself. It could end up in a situation where this is done again and the bad driver claims that he/she was rear ended and bully some quiet young/old driver into admitting liability.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭LLU

antodeco wrote: »
    Invest in a dashcam. You can then report her with evidence! I honestly think every driver should have a dashcam

Just wondering does a dashcam have any legal standing? i.e. could it be used as evidence in a legal dispute? Does anybody know?

Even if it is not reconized by the law, I guess it still has the advantage of giving you an accurate record of what happened if you were making a statement or the like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

If the guards give a call even saying he/she has been reported it might wake them up abit and it's certainly something they will remember short term.

Report it, road safety is everyones responsability.

Something tells me that the Gardai would take the report and that would be the last of it; I really cant see them following up on something like this.

That said, I would definately make the report regardless. Im not sure how much effect it would have in a city, but I know for sure that drivers in smaller towns/villages will build up a reputation with the Gardai when enough people report them, and while one report might not mean a whole lot, a few people complaining about a driver might make the Gardai take notice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 656 ✭✭✭bobin fudge

I wouldnt report them, the guards are overstretched as it is, I hardly think they are going to take time out to ring the number of somone based on your word -I could be wrong though. No damage to either car, no damage to either person etc. If everyone ran to the police reporting people for bad driving where no actual collision happened the gaurds would be ringing people all day. Unfortunate incident etc but get on with it

I would report them.

People moan about dangerous drivers yet when it comes down to it have the "Informer" attitude when its time to make the call.

That's exactly the way I used to be, I'd have a low opinion of rats in general but when somebody is doing something that can effect or cause danger to others then they deserve to ratted on. That mad thing this morning didn't even stop to see was I ok she just drove on as if nothing happened.

No I didn't break any lights to follow her.

I only got the brakes done lately thank god for that.

I'm sure if it was the other way around she would have complained me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

warn her regarding dangerous driving.

you think? they haven't time to catch all the folk with no insurance tax and NCT...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭blackwhite

About 9 months ago, we had a squad car pull up outside our office.

Most of the office here drive company cars, and the guards had received a complaint about the driver of a 5-series that was registered to our company.

The complaint - our lad had raised his middle finger at him.

The guards pretty much laughed it off, but said that because there had been a complaint to a sergeant that included the reg number they were obliged to follow up.....

A terrific waste of time, but I suppose I'm happier to see them do that than to see them sitting under the bridge at UCD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

Report it. If she does this again and hits someone then they'll have some previous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,262 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

Yours against hers.

Move on, things like this happen all over the country everyday.

I calmed down over the day and I'm home now but I was fair pissed off this morn over it, Honestly it was as close as two cars could be and I only slammed the brakes for a split second, She clearly didn't look on her left side at all. And she wasn't going slow either !!!

I'm in two minds now about reporting it, But if we had collided and being the place where it was, Would have caused traffic chaos around the Western part of the city. I don't think I could have moved it if I had been hit as I'd probably be too shocked to drive.

I hope she's reading this, She might have some cop on in future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭ian87

I reported dangerous overtaking recently. My gf and I were driving in convoy and we were both disgusted. (rang her as we drove) anyway I rang the Gardai in the next town and they pulled her. She got a bollocking and it was up to me whether or not to make a statement so they could charge her for dangerous driving. I spoke to the Garda and we both agreed the bollockinh from him was probably enough for her as she was a young girl..
    Reporting her is worthwhile and it's up to you how far you wanted to take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Probably is. On her phone. While driving. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭The Dagda

I calmed down over the day and I'm home now but I was fair pissed off this morn over it, Honestly it was as close as two cars could be and I only slammed the brakes for a split second, She clearly didn't look on her left side at all. And she wasn't going slow either !!!

I'm in two minds now about reporting it, But if we had collided and being the place where it was, Would have caused traffic chaos around the Western part of the city. I don't think I could have moved it if I had been hit as I'd probably be too shocked to drive.

Wow, sounds dramatic.

Which way were you heading, to Wilton or Carrigrohane?

And which way was this mad woman coming from?

Just trying to get the incident clear in my head.

The yellow dots show where I was and the blue show where she was and how she attempted to lane change..

And the fuzzy bit shows what would have happened if the brakes weren't as good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

[QUOTE=charlemont;[/QUOTE]

I would report her, with anyone (men aswell) driving like that and not pulled up on it, its only a matter of time before she does actually hit someone.If the gards get enough complaints about her, they might pay her a visit or at least watch out for her.

I wonder if anyone who says not to report her would say it if someone actually had a near miss of even hit them, would they still hold that view?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Dave1014

At the end of the day you will not benifit from calling the Gardai but you might save a life on the roads if you do!
    Dangerious drivers are a nightmare.