Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Average Single Farm Payment

• 02-11-2012 4:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 37

Just wondering what the SFP would be for a 50 ha farm holding 60 cows and 40 bullocks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Just wondering what the SFP would be for a 50 ha farm holding 60 cows and 40 bullocks?

Ah here...
    Are we getting accreditation in this college assignment... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭ABlur

Sheeesh not another SFP thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

around a hundred grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭grumpyfarmer

around a hundred grand
    Ah don't understated it now... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭grumpyfarmer

But to be serious i can only speak for myself. 45ha, 80 cows, 35 1-2's and 35 0-1's and about 18k spf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

around a hundred grand
    i dont think so... is that what yours is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭epfff

Quick answer
    300 * cows
    150 * bullacks

whelan1 wrote: »
    i dont think so... is that what yours is?

Take away the one in front of it and thats my SFP:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

Take away the one in front of it and thats my SFP:)
    your some man for farming without sfp. what enterprise to do run and on what acerage? you own or rent land? mind me asking why you have no sfp? sorry if being nosey! oh ya, full or part time farming?

Im some fool to be farming more like it. Beef farm with ground rented, No SFP as wasnt farming in the reference years(I was only starting shaving back then) and full time. Hence I all for doing away with the SFP. I claim 5k of a leased SFP that I pass directly onto to 2 landowners ie I pay the rent and then the leased SFP on top of it to the landowners. And yes they are looking to take back those acres for 2014

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Im some fool to be farming more like it. Beef farm with ground rented, No SFP as wasnt farming in the reference years(I was only starting shaving back then) and full time. Hence I all for doing away with the SFP. I claim 5k of a leased SFP that I pass directly onto to 2 landowners ie I pay the rent and then the leased SFP on top of it to the landowners. And yes they are looking to take back those acres for 2014

I think that rented land, in order to be eligible for SFP should have to be taken on a min 5 year lease. It might take some of the madness out of the land rent market when pinches like 2014 occur and might reduce farmers ability to give all of their record grain or beef prices to someone else as soon as they get it. I know short term it might lead to a few disasters with guys signing long term leases on the basis of a good year. In general however I'm with bob the sooner the SFP is done away with the better. It's a millstone around our necks especially for younger farmers. I,ve been saying this since I was a younger farmer.

Not so young anymore but that's how these eurocrats think. A decade is an instant to them. They always take the long view. Even 25 years ago if you had walked into a farmers meeting and told them that they would shortly voluntarily tell the DOAg how many cattle they had how many acres they farmed and where, they'd have been trying to keep one eye on you and another on the exits for the arrival of those much maligned professionals in the white coats. The area aid forms of the early nineties were presented as the end of something, I really can't remember what, but few amongst the farming community envisaged what they were the beginning of. The eurocrats on the other hand have taken the oppurtunity every crisis since has presented aided usually by the IFA and it's euro colleagues to increase their control over European agriculture. One of their main agendas is to always make their own power and positions more secure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

bob charles and freedom in a cup, you both must be making a profit without having any sfp, and therefore must be in the top % of farmers in the country, and very efficent. if the sfp would go do ye think farmers would get move for their produces, from factories or supermarkets say, or will it eventually weed out the inefficent farmers(prob 85-90% of all farmers), and lead to bigger, commerical farms?
    also bob, do you have any mass on angus for your beef herd?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

bob charles and freedom in a cup, you both must be making a profit without having any sfp, and therefore must be in the top % of farmers in the country, and very efficent. if the sfp would go do ye think farmers would get move for their produces, from factories or supermarkets say, or will it eventually weed out the inefficent farmers(prob 85-90% of all farmers), and lead to bigger, commerical farms?
    also bob, do you have any mass on angus for your beef herd?

Honestly not farming without SFP but all going on bank payments anyway. I've always been dubious about them. Loans were due to be paid off when current regime ends. It's only a matter of time before Euro voters really go against them and they come to an abrupt end.