Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aeos 3

• 02-11-2012 2:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11

what is yer opinion on the new Aeos 3 scheme,
    and how much is it costing to draw up a plan,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

clover 1 wrote: »
    what is yer opinion on the new Aeos 3 scheme,
    and how much is it costing to draw up a plan,

i asked my planner and he told me i had no chance of getting into it, he reckoned all the spots would be taken by sac land owners who are comig out of reps who will get preference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

They said that the last two times, but each time there wasnt that much interest.

We're non SAC and are planning on putting in an application anyway.

if you're non sac and non natura you can submit an application yourself if you do your homework and read all the paperwork half a dozen times :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭TippNorth

Does Anyone know when people will be notified whether or not they've been accepted into AEOS 3?:confused:

On a separate question, I need to digitise out a land parcel on this years SPS application as part of my proposals for AEOS3, does it matter if I do this even if I subsequently don't get accepted into AEOS?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Curious Geroge

TippNorth wrote: »
    Does Anyone know when people will be notified whether or not they've been accepted into AEOS 3?:confused:

Hi TippNorth, still waiting for word on this also. Have'nt heard of anyone getting notified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭Paddysniper

TippNorth wrote: »

On a separate question, I need to digitise out a land parcel on this years SPS application as part of my proposals for AEOS3, does it matter if I do this even if I subsequently don't get accepted into AEOS?

Hello,
    My planner has told me it will be the end of may when people will hear if they get in or not. However he knows that I don't know. I think there is a lot of bluffing.
    My understanding is that the single farm payment details will have to be changed to accommodate getting into aeos. And to do that without penalty I expect will need a magic wand since its being left so late to be notified about the aeos.

I emailed the aeos people in johnstown and this is what they came back with:
    Should I wait for my letter before sending in my 2013 SPS Form?
    No. You must send in your SPS application by 15th May , 2013

Should I digitise out plots that I put on my AEOS application form?
    If you are successful you will have to digitise these plots. You can do so after you receive your letter about AEOS 3 – SPS will accept amendments to your SPS form after 31st May, 2013.

so it seems according to this that you apply away and change the application if you get in.

They're taking their bloody time deciding it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭Sami23

Well lads, the letters are gonna be posted out next week letting us know whether we are being accepted into the scheme or not.
    What are peoples thoughts, are ye optimistic about getting in or not ????
    Myself, I'm hoping for good news which is badly needed after all the bales that had to be bought this year.

I was told last week that the letters were coming this week :)

based on page 6 of last weeks journal we're out anyway.

We're in the fourth division of priority and only one and two will get in. such is life.

At least it cost nowt to apply

Wish I was the same but I paid a planner €300 to do my plan :(
    Another friend of mine paid €400 to a planner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Sami23 wrote: »
    Wish I was the same but I paid a planner €300 to do my plan :(
    Another friend of mine paid €400 to a planner.

It sounds a bit steep ours charged 170

moy83 wrote: »
    It sounds a bit steep ours charged 170

My own fault I suppose as didn't agree price before he did up the plan :mad:

We got our letter to say we got accepted today , happy out I hope the rest of ye get yer letters soon .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Milton09

Got an acceptance letter yesterday also, apparently you can opt out at end of 2013 without penalty if you dont want to enter the continuation scheme.
    Can anyone confirm this ?

Refused today, seems that 23 hectares is over the 22 hectare limit. Anyone with over 22 get accepted ? I think its worth the appeal.

JohnBoy wrote: »
    I was told last week that the letters were coming this week :)

based on page 6 of last weeks journal we're out anyway.

We're in the fourth division of priority and only one and two will get in. such is life.

At least it cost nowt to apply

Do you have the divisions that were in the journal ?

Refused today, seems that 23 hectares is over the 22 hectare limit. Anyone with over 22 get accepted ? I think its worth the appeal.

Don't think appeal will do any good, they will just say there isn't enough money to approve any more applications.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Toplink

Refused because of 22Ha limit also...

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Got knocked on the 22 HA limit as well do not think it will be worth apealing

Do you have the divisions that were in the journal ?

dont have it to hand, but it was something like.....

1) SAC or Natura
    2) Former participants of REPS under some size that was still to be decided
    3) former participants of REPS over that size
    4) people who were not in reps.

The journal was suggesting the line between 2 and 3 would be 30ha, but it looks like it worked out at 22ha.

We would have thought we were in the fourth category, but yet we got accepted.

I've two theories as to why we might have gotten in.

We're "young farmers" and relatively new entrants to farming too, also it is possible that my wife's father was in reps1 or something.

We're not 100% accepted though as we had no livestock in 2012, which "needs to be corrected" I'm not sure how we could correct that, or why it matters given we've chosen non livestock related measures.

so the will we, wont we question continues to rumble on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 larrywithalorry

dont have it to hand, but it was something like.....

1) SAC or Natura
    2) Former participants of REPS under some size that was still to be decided
    3) former participants of REPS over that size
    4) people who were not in reps.

The journal was suggesting the line between 2 and 3 would be 30ha, but it looks like it worked out at 22ha.

We would have thought we were in the fourth category, but yet we got accepted.

I've two theories as to why we might have gotten in.

We're "young farmers" and relatively new entrants to farming too, also it is possible that my wife's father was in reps1 or something.

We're not 100% accepted though as we had no livestock in 2012, which "needs to be corrected" I'm not sure how we could correct that, or why it matters given we've chosen non livestock related measures.

so the will we, wont we question continues to rumble on.

I was refused too but im going to appeal on the grounds that im a new entrant. Does anyone know when was the latest that you could get into reps 4. Im over the 22ha cut off but its only the price of a stamp to appeal

Checked with herself, and her father was in reps until 2001, so that must be how we got in.

Looking at an appeal but I wondered if the IFA would be able to put all these years off membership to use in any way. Any thoughts ?

dunno, they published the selection criteria in advance, and they just dropped the farm size until they got to a cutoff that gave them the right amount of numbers.

if it wont cost anything then might be worth a shot I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭Paddysniper

Hello,
    I wonder is it worth an appeal based on being denied into the scheme because of not being in reps before.
    It was a bit hard to be in reps before as we didn't have the land then lol.
    The amount of subsidies/grants/support out there for new farmers wouldn't exactly encourage people into farming.
    Thanks in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

dunno, they published the selection criteria in advance, and they just dropped the farm size until they got to a cutoff that gave them the right amount of numbers.

if it wont cost anything then might be worth a shot I suppose.

My understanding is that they will spend a lot less than originally invisiages. I taught that the budget was around 40 million this would have left 8K places at 5K euro/year. However my understanding is that the cut off less than 5K applicants and they will average less than 4K each. I might be wrong.

Dropped the appeal in the post this afternoon. Probably very little chance as the only argument I had was I was over the quota by 1 hectare so that must make me a large farmer since small farmers that need support have only 22 hectares.. That single hectare better produce 4/5k next year to even things up.

Just wondering are you allowed to carry out reseeding if you are in AEOS :confused:
    I know you can only claim on land that was not reseeded for the last 8 years.

Sami23 wrote: »
    Just wondering are you allowed to carry out reseeding if you are in AEOS :confused:
    I know you can only claim on land that was not reseeded for the last 8 years.

I'd say it depends on what you are getting paid on . For the species rich grasslands you cant reseed anyhow .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Anyone who went in in 2010 been paid out for 2012 yet?

Was asked the question yesterday by a man who hasn't, can't remember if I have or not, must go receipt hunting.

moy83 wrote: »
    I'd say it depends on what you are getting paid on . For the species rich grasslands you cant reseed anyhow .

That's what I thought alrit, wonder is it the same for 'Trad. Hay Meadow' :(

Got knocked on the 22 HA limit as well do not think it will be worth apealing

Appeal seemed to fail, same grounds as previously as 23 heactares is on my 2012 SPS. Not to happy after yrs and yrs in REPS and the promise of AEOS for yrs.