Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

M50 middle lane stupidity - is it any wonder?

• 01-11-2012 8:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭

Unfortunately another M50 thread :o

Following on from this thread where a driving instructor didn't appear to know the ROTR today I saw this:

Left the office about 6.25 so would have got to the red cow about 6.40ish. Garda car joined the M50, not a "normal" Garda car but an actual traffic corps car. Left hand lane empty. Pops straight into the middle lane. Thought for a second they might be doing so in order to flash and/or pull over all the other morons in the middle (lane 1 almost completely empty) but no, continued to drive in the middle lane

I've often wondered why the traffic corps don't pull people for incorrect lane usage, is the reason they don't know the ROTR themselves?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

The left lane is basically a ghost lane,i love it,it's like a personal VIP lane at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

Ssshhhh :eek: ,

Thats the relaxation lane - I use it on the M50 and the N7 every day, while all the other traffic yo-yos past me in the other 2 lanes, I cruise along happy as a pig in sh!te, tucked in behind a lorry using the consistent speed & slipstream to try and get to 30mpg :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 BN123

I find the left lane on the M50 to be a nightmare with people trying to merge in junction after junction and full of slow trucks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

pmcmahon wrote: »
    The left lane is basically a ghost lane,i love it,it's like a personal VIP lane at this stage.

They could make this an even better personal VIP lane for myself by defining the whole "slow moving traffic lark!"

In my books slow moving traffic is anyone travelling less than the speed limit!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

I've been driving on a country road today, and there is a bendy part with continous white line for few kilometres, so there isn't really any way to overtake, even though there is one spot where visibility is great and it's perfectly safe to overtake.
    I always do overtake there, but obviously it's breaking the law condidering it's continous white line.

Anyway - It's 80 km/h speed limit, and I've been driving there at about 60km/h as this was about the fastest safe speed in a vehicle I was driving. Garda car behind me for a while, and I was wondering if they will overtake in that safe spot. And obviously yes. Whenever we reached that place, garda car went straight into right lane without even indicating and overtook me. No other cars in behind was brave enough to do it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

BN123 wrote: »
    I find the left lane on the M50 to be a nightmare with people trying to merge in junction after junction .

Stop driving so close to the person in front so. If theres a big gap then people can merge all they like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Seriously? This one again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 BN123

Stop driving so close to the person in front so. If theres a big gap then people can merge all they like.

I don't drive close to the person in front i find there's too much chopping and changing for it to be feasible to drive in the left lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

You can be sure Traffic Corps are very much aware of how to use a motorway and are sick of drivers who have no clue how to use one.

I'd say you caught them on the start of a middle lane blitz, forcing everyone out of it.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

At busy periods, which on the m50 is most times the lane rules go totally out the window.

The road carries too many vehicles for proper lane etiquette to take hold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭wandererz

There may be a big gap for people to merge all they like but you will still find [many] people with no clue of how to merge and will attempt to merge right into you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,253 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

Turner wrote: »
    At busy periods, which on the m50 is most times the lane rules go totally out the window.

Outside of the morning and evening rush hour, which is the majority of the time, traffic is light enough for proper lane discipline to work again.

Is there anything to stop the Gardaí putting cameras up on the gantries and ticketing Middle lane hoggers at €60 a go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

I disagree, outside morning and evening rush hour traffic the traffic on the M50 does be perfectly light enough for proper lane discipline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Dartz

You'd be as well trying to change the weather...

Just go with the flow, pay attention and don't give a **** what the other gob****es are doing with themselves. So long as you're not doing anything actively dangerous like bolting between lanes, all will work itself out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 487 ✭✭Cungi

I have to disagree with this.

Up until 2 months ago my commute from Naas to Blanch was via N7,M50 at rush our times.

I'd cruise along happily in the empty left lane occasionally overtaking the odd truck or 60kph driver.

Everyone else was jammed in the two overtaking lanes. OT lane, 1 80kph drivers and lane 2, 100 kph+ drivers all tailgating and jamming on brakes

Now i go through Maynooth at non rush times and occasionally overtake a tractor or 50kph driver when i can so safely.

Feck the N7,M50. People are selfish and dont care about anyone else.
    Humanity is fucked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,103 ✭✭✭monkeybutter

Once the Gardai finish giving out penalty points to everyone who breaks the speed limit on the m50 first, they can move on to other top priority crimes like driving in the middle lane.

I've been taking the m50 at anywhere from 8-10am and 4.30-7pm for 4 years and there are no empty lanes to cruise in, it pretty much full. Most people are doing 80k to 130k, the speed goes up outside these times.

So I'd have to disagree with anyone who sez otherwise.

Thats north to southbound now, but who goes to work on the northside these days