Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Road Rage - Do you report it?

• 31-10-2012 8:33pm
    Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Was cycling along this evening and some numpty rolled down the window and started to give me abuse because I was cycling the the bus lane. I was about 400m from the junction and he undertook the traffic caught at the lights.

I just cycled on as he got caught in the traffic in the cycle lane. I turn left and so did he.

Again he rolled down the window and abused me. Got very very close from behind and was beeping/flashing me. As the road split into two lanes in drove up beside me and again gave me abuse and started to swerve towards me.

I have his reg and car make/model. Is there any point in reporting this? The car behind him said he was going to report it as well

PS does the dark/wet weather bring out the pricks? This morning I had some one try and undertake me on a bus lane. Made no sense whats so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭NamelessPhil

Yes, especially if you've got his reg. and a witness. Ring your local Garda station or the one most local to the where the incident occurred. You'll have to be prepared to make a statement if you want the Gardai to take it further.

Write down everything that happened this evening, it's very easy to forget details after the adrenaline has worn off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

That's downright dangerous. I would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭MrScootch

I would.
    Especially that since it seems to have been repeated, determined and threatening you with the car.

The driving here is just scary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

Definitely. Sooner the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Verbal road range i would let go but the fact he was swerving towards you and driving dangerously i would report it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭bedirect

yes, but follow it through, even if the guards tell you it may go to court. Because in reality the driver may get a caution but at least he will think twice the next day

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

swerve maybe be a strong word but on a two lane carriageway the car got so close that I could hear him give me abuse while cycling at 25 odd KPH on a wet miserable night

I'll ring the guards tomorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

No - Article 40 of the Constitution implies that I have a right not to self-incriminate :pac:

On a more serious note - I've never reported it but I would if I thought the act was dangerous enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

Today a prick in a lorry nearly ran me off the road on purpose simpley because i overtook him on the inside at traffic lights i was 100% in the right btw, traffic was stopped but i guess he didnt like the thought of a cyclist getting ahead of him.
    i said a prayer to st anthony that his engine would seize and all his tires would explode and he gets a dose of piles by the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

Today a prick in a lorry nearly ran me off the road on purpose simpley because i overtook him on the inside at traffic lights i was 100% in the right btw, traffic was stopped but i guess he didnt like the thought of a cyclist getting ahead of him.
    i said a prayer to st anthony that his engine would seize and all his tires would explode and he gets a dose of piles by the morning.
    Isn't Anto the lad who finds stuff when you lose them? You'd have been better off summoning some sort of demon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭MrScootch

kenmc wrote: »
    Isn't Anto the lad who finds stuff when you lose them? You'd have been better off summoning some sort of demon?

Tis the right night for it! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭VanhireBoys

Argy Bargy from drivers I just ignore but using the car as a weapon is deffo not on.. The Gardai will take a very dim view of this .. I say report and follow it through

<snip>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭victorcarrera

A civilian has no power to instruct or direct you to do anything in that situation. Report it. I did for something similar and it was followed up.
    If you think it appropriate use terms like this in your statement.
    Subject to verbal abuse in a public place.
    Use of language and behaviour in an intimidating manner and threatening or provoking violence.
    Attempting to use a vehicle as a weapon.
    There is far too much of this going on and it is time a few more cases went to trial. It won't cost you anything either as it is a public prosecution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

Buy a cheap camera for you handlebars/helmet..concrete evidence if anything happens to you..

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,456 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

No advocating violence or criminal damage

Beasty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭girl2

Totally agree with others who have suggested you report it indeed. That sort of behaviour is uncalled for and unacceptable. And especially with so many cyclists on the roads these days, people need to be protected from psychos like that.

Good luck OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,882 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

I had a rather weird case of road rage about five years ago. The driver was from another country and had left the country by the time the Gardaí contacted him. The passenger, who also participated in the intimidation, had no previous convictions so they advised me against going to court and put him on the caution register, which would count against him if he come to the attention of the law again.

I think use of the caution register is a standard approach now. I imagine it's a sobering experience for the non-criminal, and if your tormentor has previous convictions, it's likely to go to court instead anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Beasty wrote: »
    No advocating violence or criminal damage

Beasty
    Is advocating divilment ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭Dawn Rider

Zyzz wrote: »
    Buy a cheap camera for you handlebars/helmet..concrete evidence if anything happens to you..

I always wear my camera when cycling.

Some drivers blow their horn if they think you're blocking the roundabout, or don't charge off at the lights even though the junction hasn't cleared yet.

They don't say too much more when they see the camera...

Minor stuff like that I'd let go, but certainly not the stuff the OP stated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭moby2101

Stupid thread op...

OF COURSE YOU REPORT ..
    Why do you need to come on here to get an opinion!??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

In the absence of a witness, reporting an incident can feel like an exercise in frustration. The most recent serious incident I reported, which was basically assault, took a few months to go absolutely nowhere due to lack of witnesses so it was my word against that of the driver. Despite the frustration overall though it was still worthwhile as the driver in question probably got a rude awakening to have a garda contact him to ask him about behaviour that the driver likely assumed was something he'd never have to answer for - that rattling of his supposed cloak of anonymity might make him think twice about acting the bollix the next time.

If the same thing occurred to me again, I reckon I'd be a little more reluctant to report it but hopefully I'll summon up the energy to make the effort because I think it can still be useful. Where there is a willing witness though, I'd have no hesitation whatsoever in reporting the incident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭Dawn Rider

doozerie wrote: »
    In the absence of a witness, reporting an incident can feel like an exercise in frustration.

If the same thing occurred to me again, I reckon I'd be a little more reluctant to report it but hopefully I'll summon up the energy to make the effort because I think it can still be useful. Where there is a willing witness though, I'd have no hesitation whatsoever in reporting the incident.

It's still worth reporting it I'd say, because, if the driver was later involved in a collision with another road user, there would be a record of his behavior.

Even if nothing came of the earlier incident, the police are less likely to believe that the later case was a 'once off' or 'momentry lapse in concentration'...

On a slightly separate note. People shouldn't worry about the driver losing his/her job if they get banned from diving or fined. They obviously didn't care about your livelihood when they tried to run you off the road etc

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

moby2101 wrote: »
    Stupid thread op...

OF COURSE YOU REPORT ..
    Why do you need to come on here to get an opinion!??

MOD VOICE: Because he can and he is entitled to ask a question. If you can't remain civil take it somewhere else.