Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The gardai have new wheels--We are all fcuked now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Viper_JB

The future for Irish gardai eh....?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

Do you neeed a licence and/or insurance to use them in public??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

paddy147 wrote: »

I don't think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Somebody WILL steal them and make off on them and then lets see how fit the Gardai are. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

They haven't actually been covered by the road traffic act yet, so its a bit of a grey area.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

awec wrote: »
    It's interesting.

If they are eventually covered by the RTA, would they meet road safety standards and as such would they be allowed?

I ask because in the UK they are illegal to use everywhere except private property, as they are covered by the UK's RTA and as a knock on effect do not meet road safety standards.

I'd imagine if they are covered it will be like the states or canada, where they are classified as not a motor vehicle, similar to a bicycle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/2004/en/act/pub/0044/sec0027.html

For me this is like bicycle anyway, so no insurance/license is required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Who says a Segway is not an MPV??

Even the electrical pedestrian-controlled council refuse trucks that you see around the city centre have registration plates, can't see how Segways have an exemption.

RTA 1961 Definition......

“mechanically propelled vehicle” means, subject to subsection (2) of this section, a vehicle intended or adapted for propulsion by mechanical means, including—

(a) a bicycle or tricycle with an attachment for propelling it by mechanical power, whether or not the attachment is being used,

(b) a vehicle the means of propulsion of which is electrical or partly electrical and partly mechanical,

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1961/en/act/pub/0024/sec0003.html#sec3

The Gardai appeared to have run those small mechanical scooters off the public streets and I can't see much difference between those and the Segway, apart from the means of propulsion which according to the RTA is irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Garda-Tipping FTW!! :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

First clip of a guard falling off one wins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

whatever happened to good old fashioned walking and running?
    using a bicycle is much faster.

there is no better deterant to crime than Gardai being visible on the streets of towns and villages

No wonder so many Gardai are overweight and unfit. They don't even have to pass a regular fitness test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

"Shit! Gardaí! Quick, walk up onto the curb so they can't get you!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Seriously though, does the force not have enough image problems without something like this? :rolleyes: :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

wonski wrote: »
    I don't think so.
    MarkMc wrote: »
    They haven't actually been covered by the road traffic act yet, so its a bit of a grey area.
    I remember reading a few years ago (possibly here?) that they were not road-legal (or footpath-legal) here.

Not your ornery onager

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    No wonder so many Gardai are overweight and unfit. They don't even have to pass a regular fitness test.

Mall Cop.:D:D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5UX51lmL6sk

Senna wrote: »
    First clip of a guard falling off one wins.

Its actually incredibly difficult to fall off. I've been on one before, was great craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭dpofloinn

just find yourself a set of steps and your home free. Daleks anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Tommyboy40

The Chinese use them. Fantastic fun to drive
    stop-running-funny-demotivational-poster-1269832726.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,495 ✭✭✭apache

They look ridiculous. They can't go up kerbs. They are just........stupid!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

dpofloinn wrote: »
    just find yourself a set of steps and your home free. Daleks anyone?

The Daleks can fly.

Money would have been better spent I know it's a Dublin Chamber idea, 2 cops on Segways won't catch many criminals. Cops on these would be great with super visibility and the ability to go loads of different places, ie up steps!, or a dozen mountains bikes would be better than a coupe of Segways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Buffman

From here I see the police model is €7350 a pop. I think the Chamber could have spent their money more wisely. The bicycle guards already do the task that these Segway's seem to have been bought for. You'd buy a lot of bicycles for €15k.

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.