Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DIY Bike stand

• 31-10-2012 2:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭

Hi was wondering has anyone on here built there own bike stand.

I was thinking of making one just as a little project for myself over a weekend.

Any ideas on what type of clamp to use , as for the upright I can use alu threaded pipe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,234 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

My mate built one from leftover bits of scaffolding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭AverageJoe82

ok cheers for the reply lads, but i prob didnt give enough info in the original post, but im good with the upright stand, its just the clamp part, is the anywhere around dublin selling them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

god i never taught of them, handy to get anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Alias G

You could just wait for the Lidl one to come round again.

Alias G wrote: »
    You could just wait for the Lidl one to come round again.

are they any good the bike stands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭torydiver

are they any good the bike stands

+1 for the aldi/lidl stand
    For aroung €35 you cant go wrong,
    My one has paid for itself already on the 4/5 times i have used it to tinker with gear indexing, brakes etc.....
    Great for general maintenance, folds up and will probably be a lot more functional than anything you can make....ability to swivel etc......
    There are better/stronger stands available from wiggle or CRC etc but they tend to range from €100 upwards,
    If you only plan to do routine tasks on your own bike I would definitely advise to wait on aldi/lidl if you are in no rush......

torydiver wrote: »
    +1 for the aldi/lidl stand
    For aroung €35 you cant go wrong,
    My one has paid for itself already on the 4/5 times i have used it to tinker with gear indexing, brakes etc.....
    Great for general maintenance, folds up and will probably be a lot more functional than anything you can make....ability to swivel etc......
    There are better/stronger stands available from wiggle or CRC etc but they tend to range from €100 upwards,
    If you only plan to do routine tasks on your own bike I would definitely advise to wait on aldi/lidl if you are in no rush......

Ya im in no rush to get one and would be just for ticking around with me bike.. And i've seen that they are above the €100 make on some sites but seem cheap enough from ebay http://www.ebay.ie/itm/Bicycle-Repair-Work-Stand-Home-Cycle-Bike-Mechanics-Mountain-Road-Professional-/261030406154?pt=UK_Spots_Leisure_Cycling_Tools_RepairKits&hash=item3cc69fe80a#ht_1452wt_1271

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 STI V5

The galvanised pipe stand would cost a few quid in fittings alone and would be awkward to store ... And i couldn't see the wooden and pipe combo stand being too stable with that v shape base .. If u had a garage / shed wall that u could fix 2 L shape brackets too , it would be super sturdy to work with and u could just get a 2 velcro straps to hold the bike in position when your working on it .. if u do go down the DIY route and use a scaffold clamp make sure u have some pipe insulation or rubber on the jaws of the clamp or it will take lumps out of your frame :eek:. If your only going to be tinkering with the bike from time to time buy a cheapo one .. if your always fiddling at the bike spend the money on a sturdy one and it'll pay for itself in no time :) .The DIY jobbies are grand if u have the bits lying around ,but not really worth making if it takes a weekend to put together and still looks like a dogs dinner !!! haha Goodluck !

ah getting the fittings from work as im a plumber( dont tell the boss doh) so going to use unions on the pipe so it will dismantle fairly easy and quickly. just after selling my house so renting for a few months and no shed or garage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 STI V5

Ahh well in that case it'll cost ye nothing to bang it together !! yep unions are the way to go for making it easy to store !! can u not get your hands on a few rubber coated mupros in a similar size to your frame to act as clamps , or them quick release clamps the chippies use to pin cabinets together them babies are strong as fook !! :D .. Goodluck with it !!