Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

hare population

• 30-10-2012 7:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭

are ye seeing or meeting many hares in yer travels lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

great increase in the numbers around here recently, glad to see them, local farmer gave all the dog men after them the run last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭hunterpajero

ya seems to a few more than other years around this year especially where we concentrated on fox control over the last twelve months,seems to be working

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

have seen feck all myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭German pointer

Falling over them most days I go out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭Dalken

Feck all around my way (Laois/Offaly) in recent times, but I heard there was a right few in Edenderry last Sunday, maybe that's where they've all gone? ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

i have met a pile of hares out lamping foxs and also most sundays while hunting the snipe .i love to see young hares !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Kells1

Its alive with hares in my area and has been for the past few years and thers very little or no vermin control

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

I've been lookin around for hares myself for the hawk to hunt
    On my permissions they are very scarce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭underthetumb

Loads on my permissions as well, there has been the last four or five years. No rabbits though is there a link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

Dalken wrote: »
    Feck all around my way (Laois/Offaly) in recent times, but I heard there was a right few in Edenderry last Sunday, maybe that's where they've all gone? ??

Plenty of Hares in the midlands, especially in Laoise/Offaly!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭4200fps

You could shake hands with them around here. Every few fields theres one of more. I notice them out lamping.Its good to see them around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Stevegeraghty

Seen a couple, havnt seen them around in years :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭JD Green

Plenty of them in the uncles but my dog doesn't have a hope on one during the day :( I wouldn't lamp them either cause the worst dog going would catch most of them.

Do many on here go after them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Is it not illegal to lamp hares?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭ronn

I Seen one this morning, He was that big i thought it was a deer from a distance, He was bigger than my springer, He could barely run he was that fat,

Im still shocked at the size of it,

His arse was bigger than mine:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭JD Green

Is it not illegal to lamp hares?

Not sure but it certainly should be.
    ronn wrote: »
    I Seen one this morning, He was that big i thought it was a deer from a distance, He was bigger than my springer, He could barely run he was that fat,

A hare that couldn't run :rolleyes: I've heard it all now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭Dalken

ronn wrote: »

U sure it wasn't a kangaroo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭hunterpajero

met three hares yesterday myself while out for a shot,the local coursing club caught some a fortnight ago in the same place so its good to see them back,plus they will release back in some what they took out of it