Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Shoes V Real Shoes

• 27-10-2012 11:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,184 ✭✭✭✭

I think it is a generational thing - some of the pro golfers now look like the young lads who hang outside shops smoking and waiting to rob people. :p

What is this runner - whatever you want to call them? all about ?

I'd love to see one them in them go on their ear.

Rory has too much going on in the lower body to wear those things (I think).

I'm hoping Luke Donald and Rory stay real, I'm even seeing fully grown men in their 50s in them (In Ireland) , I'm normally slow to fads. Is this the best thing ever - what the hell were golf shoes all about then ? :confused:

Next year, I'll be like a spa in orange ones watch. :(:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭Alrite Chief

I think it is a generational thing - some of the pro golfers now look like the young lads who hang outside shops smoking and waiting to rob people. :p

What is this runner - whatever you want to call them? all about ?

I'd love to see one them in them go on their ear.

Rory has too much going on in the lower body to wear those things (I think).

I'm hoping Luke Donald and Rory stay real, I'm even seeing fully grown men in their 50s in them (In Ireland) , I'm normally slow to fads. Is this the best thing ever - what the hell were golf shoes all about then ? :confused:

Next year, I'll be like a spa in orange ones watch. :(:o
    Are you on about the Adidas samba ones or the fancy puma? They'd be non water proof comfort yokes. It seemed to me over the last few years the gear was always heading that way. Look at the dri fit type trousers and everyone in under armour. It's all very much casual the stuff now. I'm all for it!!! For the craic of it alone id love to buy a full on Ricky fowler get up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,184 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Are you on about the Adidas samba ones or the fancy puma? They'd be non water proof comfort yokes. It seemed to me over the last few years the gear was always heading that way. Look at the dri fit type trousers and everyone in under armour. It's all very much casual the stuff now. I'm all for it!!! For the craic of it alone id love to buy a full on Ricky fowler get up.

Dosen't mean they don't look like a pack of scobes. :eek:

Martin, what are you doing man, get back in real golf shoes.

With all the clubs getting in financial trouble we need to attract more scobes to the sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭mags1962

A bit like the long putter, should be banned. When do we have totally dry days so wearing these yokes would be dangerous. We might be heading down the route of tracksuits and trainers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭scubapro

Ah will yee get real, what are you 80, fashion moves on guys, thank god the image of golf has changed from old fuddy duddy plain clothes and colours to vibrant colours and a take on modern fashions, everyone to themselves guys as long as they are wearing proper attire on the course, so if you want to wear tassles on your golf shoes go for it :D

Ill be in full Ricky get up next year and i cant wait!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭Borisss

Once you wear a pair of these you'll never go back.

Bought some Adidas Crossflex in black a month or two ago. Can't quite beat the feeling of wearing slippers on a golf course. Suprisingly grippy in the wet too.

Just ordered another pair.

Borisss wrote: »
    Once you wear a pair of these you'll never go back.

Bought some Adidas Crossflex in black a month or two ago. Can't quite beat the feeling of wearing slippers on a golf course. Suprisingly grippy in the wet too.

Just ordered another pair.
    Where did you get them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭Borisss

Where did you get them?

Halpenny, Lucan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭paulos53

scubapro wrote: »
    Ah will yee get real, what are you 80, fashion moves on guys, thank god the image of golf has changed from old fuddy duddy plain clothes and colours to vibrant colours and a take on modern fashions, everyone to themselves guys as long as they are wearing proper attire on the course, so if you want to wear tassles on your golf shoes go for it :D

If it is vibrant colours that you are after then you need to look at this line of clothing that I just got an email about

http://www.golfstoreeurope.com/SearchResults.aspx?Search=royal%20and%20awesome

I think I will stick to my plain clothes ;)

paulos53 wrote: »

If it is vibrant colours that you are after then you need to look at this line of clothing that I just got an email about

http://www.golfstoreeurope.com/SearchResults.aspx?Search=royal%20and%20awesome

I think I will stick to my plain clothes ;)
    Haha yeah I got the same email, eh not my cup of tea either, and definitely not what I was talking about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,510 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Haha yeah I got the same email, eh not my cup of tea either, and definitely not what I was talking about

I didn't get that email, they must only email those that they think would be into that sort of thing :D

ajcurry123 wrote: »
    I didn't get that email, they must only email those that they think would be into that sort of thing :D

Well now, I was actually thinking of you because the red trousers are remarkably like the ones you were wearing up at the Spawell the other night ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,510 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Well now, I was actually thinking of you because the red trousers are remarkably like the ones you were wearing up at the Spawell the other night ;)

As a low HC "friend" said to me last year after hacking it around for 18 holes.... "At least you look the part" :)
    They were grey btw, Red next year maybe, theyd go well with a pink shirt I have

ajcurry123 wrote: »
    As a low HC "friend" said to me last year after hacking it around for 18 holes.... "At least you look the part" :)
    They were grey btw, Red next year maybe, theyd go well with a pink shirt I have
    What next? The George!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Actually I'm the opposite. From day one of my golfing I was always wondering why golf shoes are the way they are.

Obviously there is a quite a difference between winter and summer golf. In the winter you'd need waterproofs and shoes that secure a good grip on slippery surfaces, but...in the summer?

I always wondered why a good - say - astro turf type footie sole wouldn't be more than sufficient in the summer. And as for the looks...who cares really as long as they aren't totally outrageous?

I think golf shoes are they way they because of the history of the game.
    Look at traditional guys like Jimènez. He's wearing real old style ones and they are effectively a pair of leather brogues with a flat leather sole. Of course he'd need spikes on them or else he'd be sliding around like a ballroom dancer.
    The next step form there is obviously what we wear today (your 'old' shoes). Classic type shoe with a plastic/rubber sole and plastic spikes.

The obvious development from here then is to have real comfortable shoes (for the summer) that have enough grip without spikes and here you are with what we see today.

I am a firm believer in the 'form follows function' school in all aspects of design.

What do you want from a golf shoe (in the summer)?
    You want them to be comfortable, after all you're walking in them for several miles over natural terrain.
    You want them to be light and breathable.
    When planted you want a good grip, no slips.
    You want then to be easy on the greens. So many morons are incapable of walking a green even with plastic spikes. They drag their feet and slice the surface open.

No real reason then why golf shoes should remain the way they are then, right?

The opinions on this will be split on generation. One way or another the image of golf has changed dramatically since certain brands got so involved in the professional game. Nike, Puma, Underarmour and Adidas pump so much money in these days they will dictate the direction in the future. Its only gonna get more casual so get used to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,184 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Boskowski wrote: »
    Actually I'm the opposite. From day one of my golfing I was always wondering why golf shoes are the way they are.

Obviously there is a quite a difference between winter and summer golf. In the winter you'd need waterproofs and shoes that secure a good grip on slippery surfaces, but...in the summer?

I always wondered why a good - say - astro turf type footie sole wouldn't be more than sufficient in the summer. And as for the looks...who cares really as long as they aren't totally outrageous?

I think golf shoes are they way they because of the history of the game.
    Look at traditional guys like Jimènez. He's wearing real old style ones and they are effectively a pair of leather brogues with a flat leather sole. Of course he'd need spikes on them or else he'd be sliding around like a ballroom dancer.
    The next step form there is obviously what we wear today (your 'old' shoes). Classic type shoe with a plastic/rubber sole and plastic spikes.

The obvious development from here then is to have real comfortable shoes (for the summer) that have enough grip without spikes and here you are with what we see today.

I am a firm believer in the 'form follows function' school in all aspects of design.

What do you want from a golf shoe (in the summer)?
    You want them to be comfortable, after all you're walking in them for several miles over natural terrain.
    You want them to be light and breathable.
    When planted you want a good grip, no slips.
    You want then to be easy on the greens. So many morons are incapable of walking a green even with plastic spikes. They drag their feet and slice the surface open.

No real reason then why golf shoes should remain the way they are then, right?

I did a bit of research (you tube and google :p)

They are trying to claim the biomechanics were all wrong , and the solid base of the traditional golf shoe created hinge points.

So not that it makes much of a difference for most, but it will change the way your weight transfers at feet. But they will throw in all sorts of claims to sell stuff.

Rory has not gone over yet.
    Donald has not gone over. (we will see)

For me - very little looks suitable for Irish weather - they are basically admitting they are for dry weather - perhaps there is a middle one dry and flexible ?

I would be interested because have had poor ankles and feet and do feel it after a long round.

But - claims of injury reduction are a bit much with such new technology , a couple of kids in a lab who want orrange boots.