Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Mutt!

• 27-10-2012 2:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭

Right lads after long deliberation ive decided to buy a new dog for the pheasants, I want either a setter or pointer, im thinking either english, red or GSP, ive trained springers before but never a pointer or springer? what do ye think? all advice appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭wildfowler94

Also looking at english pointers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

There's a lot of bad breeding out there with most of the popular dog types these day's! I'd go for something like a Vizsla or Griffon, where breeding lines are still very good! There are good pointer's and setter's out there, but harder to find them between all the crap!!

Eddie B wrote: »
    There's a lot of bad breeding out there with most of the popular dog types these day's! I'd go for something like a Vizsla or Griffon, where breeding lines are still very good! There are good pointer's and setter's out there, but harder to find them between all the crap!!

Price is also a factor... are vizsla pricey?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

Price is also a factor... are vizsla pricey?

Can be! Setter's work better on big wide open tillage fields, than say rough cover, so chose a breed that suit's the terrain your hunting! German pointer's are an all rounder, HPR type and usually retrieve from land and water, but not alway's! Same can be said for English pointer's and the setter's, they usually don't retrieve, but some individuals are excellent at retrieving, as some of the lad's on here can vouch for!!
    Whatever you choose, make sure it's from sound breeding where both parent's are proven worker's!

Eddie B wrote: »
    Can be! Setter's work better on big wide open tillage fields, than say rough cover, so chose a breed that suit's the terrain your hunting! German pointer's are an all rounder, HPR type and usually retrieve from land and water, but not alway's! Same can be said for English pointer's and the setter's, they usually don't retrieve, but some individuals are excellent at retrieving, as some of the lad's on here can vouch for!!
    Whatever you choose, make sure it's from sound breeding where both parent's are proven worker's!

What are you using at the moment? your in westmeath, Im in Longford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

What are you using at the moment? your in westmeath, Im in Longford.

Are you looking for something for this season

If it was up to me I would be... id have a dog for Thursday but herself says if theres a new dog it has to be from pup, this is due to a bad experience had with an adult dog before.

Mate has two 15 months old bitches , with super breeding , ( half sister won the pointer confined championship another half sister just won a open ) he was talking of moving them on

TriggerPL wrote: »

Mate has two 15 months old bitches , with super breeding , ( half sister won the pointer confined championship another half sister just won a open ) he was talking of moving them on

Scratch that he just buzz me to tell me both gone today ! We're on done deal a day .

Know of any breeders mate?

Not at the moment just asked to mate there too ! I've a half sister of the dog that won the championship but won't be breeding her till February

Ur welcome to come down and hunt over her if ya like for the day during the season

TriggerPL wrote: »
    Not at the moment just asked to mate there too ! I've a half sister of the dog that won the championship but won't be breeding her till February

Ur welcome to come down and hunt over her if ya like for the day during the season

Cheers mate may take you up on that! might want a pup too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

i just got a german wire hair pointer courtesy of a lad on here,and have to say i cant bellieve i didnt get one earleir since my first one, they really can be the ultimate package but in my opinion having a pointer/setter and spaniel is hard to beat:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭jaksnipe

pointer over setter and german over english. better chance of gettin a good all rounder with a gsp. land and water. i,v 2 of them. (imo)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭vincentf

GWP all the way, my bitch is of excellent lines,will hunt the roughest of ground,cover like a springer, open fields like a setter and in water. retrieves no bother either. They have the coat for bad weather and cover. Great house/family dogs, good watch dog too. there is a lot of crap out there too.

Anyone want to get me in contact with some breeders?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

My only gripe with the German breeds is the docked tail.
    I work pointers coz I like watching them work. Part of that is the line of point & intensity from nose to tail. With the English breeds (setter & pointer) you see all that & the quiver on the full length tail.
    Zero to do with ability just a preference of mine. Have toyed with the idea of a gsp for a number of years now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭garyc007

well wf, id go with a gsp or an english pointer. some of the gsp can be a bit headstrong but if your getting a pup and do plenty of work with it i wouldnt worry too much

My only gripe with the German breeds is the docked tail.
    I work pointers coz I like watching them work. Part of that is the line of point & intensity from nose to tail. With the English breeds (setter & pointer) you see all that & the quiver on the full length tail.
    Zero to do with ability just a preference of mine. Have toyed with the idea of a gsp for a number of years now.

I agree with you . I don't find them enjoyable to watch and having English pointers first mayb I expect to much . I also notice from friends having then that the get hard mouthed with age . Seen it on three different dogs . Not saying this is with all , befor I get ate . I just think the English is as nice a dog to work with as u can get .

I hunt pointer and lab together it the most enjoyable hunting u will get