Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NCT Cert

• 26-10-2012 5:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭

I was stopped by the Gardaí last night and my NCT was out of date, I explained to him that money was a bit tight and that I couldn't afford to test it. I was honest with the man and he seemed to appreciate that. Anyway he took down a few details from my license and gave me a "lawful demand" to produce my NCT cert and Insurance cert to a Garda station of my choice within 30 days (should be 10 but he said he'd give me 30 days).

The problem is when I bought the car I wasn't given a NCT cert, just the disc. I actually didn't remember that last night because I genuinely thought I had one but it's for an other car I had.

Would the disc be ok or will I have to get a cert? Bare in mind the NCT is out of date for a good while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

I think he gave you 30 days to produce a valid nct cert i.e: get the car tested and he won't do you for it.

I dont see a reason why he would want to see an expired one..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

I think he gave you 30 days to produce a valid nct cert i.e: get the car tested and he won't do you for it.

I dont see a reason why he would want to see an expired one..
    I said that to him last night and he said it didn't matter if it was out of date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭dieselbug

I would make an appointment for the nct, print it and produce it and carry it in the car.
    Bring the old disc as well.

You should be able to get a test within 30 days and be able to produce a valid cert otherwise you"re leaving yourself open for points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,686 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I said that to him last night and he said it didn't matter if it was out of date.
    You are misunderstanding he gave you 30 days to get it tested. Book it in and get new test.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

you can throw the old disc away...what the Gard wants to see is a valid disc.incase you don't know, it's 5 penalty points and up to €1500 fine so you need to get it tested urgently

Conversation went like this:

Gard: I am making a lawful demand of you to produce your NCT and Insurance cet to a Garda station of your choice within 30 days.

Me: But my NCT is out of date.

Gard: It doesn't matter, just produce them both within 30 days.

I'm was as confused as you guys as to why he would want me to produce an out of date NCT cert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭dieselbug

I'm was as confused as you guys as to why he would want me to produce an out of date NCT cert.[/QUOTE]

He dosent, you have 30 days to produce a valid cert, or else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭reginald

He has seen your Old NCT disc, why would you need to produce the cert ??
    My understanding of the above conversation is he needs to see a valid NCT certidicate within 30 days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 656 ✭✭✭bobin fudge

He was politely saying for you to save the excuses and provide a valid NCT cert withing 30 days -I would have thought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Conversation went like this:

Gard: I am making a lawful demand of you to produce your NCT and Insurance cet to a Garda station of your choice within 30 days.

Me: But my NCT is out of date.

Gard: It doesn't matter, just produce them both within 30 days.

I'm was as confused as you guys as to why he would want me to produce an out of date NCT cert.

I would have read that as it doesn't matter that you don't have a valid NCT now, but you do have thirty days to get one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

If he wanted to see the expired one, why would he give you extra 20 days to produce?
    He seems like a nice guard, don't let him down...

Thought it was a it too good to be true!

Is it even possible to get one within 30 days considering it expired in July 2011. Car is a 03.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Thought it was a it too good to be true!

Is it even possible to get one within 30 days considering it expired in July 2011. Car is a 03.

Yes. Get on and book it in now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

it expired in July 2011. Car is a 03.

Ah here that's taking the piss. You're very lucky it wasn't impounded.

Starting ringing NCT booking and looking for cancellations.

Booked for next Thursday!!

The race is on...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

I was stopped by the Gardaí last night and my NCT was out of date, I explained to him that money was a bit tight and that I couldn't afford to test it. I was honest with the man and he seemed to appreciate that. Anyway he took down a few details from my license and gave me a "lawful demand" to produce my NCT cert and Insurance cert to a Garda station of my choice within 30 days (should be 10 but he said he'd give me 30 days).

The problem is when I bought the car I wasn't given a NCT cert, just the disc. I actually didn't remember that last night because I genuinely thought I had one but it's for an other car I had.

Would the disc be ok or will I have to get a cert? Bare in mind the NCT is out of date for a good while.

Didn't you say in your OP that the disc/cert for the car you were stopped in was out of date?!? If it's out of date, it's no longer a valid NCT disc or cert, it's just a piece of paper with writing on it.

What the Garda told you to do was produce a VALID NCT cert for the car he stopped you in. That means that because your NCT is expired, you'll need to get the car NCT'd again for the purposes of getting a VALID NCT cert/disc on your car and produce it in the Garda station. Given that it will take you a month to get an NCT test date, then maybe another week to get any defects rectified & the car retested, you have a bit of a problem on your hands here if you are to avoid a day out in court.

Didn't you say in your OP that the disc/cert for the car you were stopped in was out of date?!? If it's out of date, it's no longer a valid NCT disc or cert, it's just a piece of paper with writing on it.

What the Garda told you to do was produce a VALID NCT cert for the car he stopped you in. That means that because your NCT is expired, you'll need to get the car NCT'd again for the purposes of getting a VALID NCT cert/disc on your car and produce it in the Garda station. Given that it will take you a month to get an NCT test date, then maybe another week to get any defects rectified & the car retested, you have a bit of a problem on your hands here if you are to avoid a day out in court.

At no point last night was the word "valid" mentioned.

A month? I've booked it for next Thursday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

It shouldn't take anyone a month to get a car tested.
    The NCT's contract states that they must provide a test within 28 days of you contacting them....or the test is free.
    This is not some form of marketing, it is part of the contract they signed when they took on the contract.
    The OP has stated that they have a test booked for next Thursday (best of luck), but anyone else who can't find a test date online should phone the NCT and insist that they are given a test date within 28 days.
    This does not mean that the NCT have 28 days to come back to you with any date in the future, it means that they have to test your car within 28 days.
    p.s. sometimes you might have to allow them a day or two to text you back with a date, but this is rarely a problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Crackle

At no point last night was the word "valid" mentioned.
    He probably presumed you'd have enough common sense to know he wants to see a valid cert. Why would he want to see an out of date one?

Anyway, best of luck with the test. Also keep in mind, that as your previous cert expired in July of last year, your new one will only be valid for 2 years from that date, i.e. your cert will be valid till next July.

Crackle wrote: »
    He probably presumed you'd have enough common sense to know he wants to see a valid cert. Why would he want to see an out of date one?

Anyway, best of luck with the test. Also keep in mind, that as your previous cert expired in July of last year, your new one will only be valid for 2 years from that date, i.e. your cert will be valid till next July.
    The way he said "it doesn't matter" when I said it was out of date made me think he just wanted to see the cert because there was no disc in the window.

Tis going to be a costly trip to the mechanic on Monday, one sheered of nut to replace, only one front fog lamp working, humming and grinding noise when I turn the wheel at low speeds or at full lock (possibly bearing???), tracking, headlight alignment.

Also I had a bit of a tip back in 2010 with all the snow, resulting in my 2 headlights been dislodged, I got this sorted with a guy who patched them back into place but there not mounted on their original clips, theres also a bit of a hole in the bumper and a wee dent in the bumper. Does any of that stuff matter?

Otherwise the car is perfect. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

mgbgt1978 wrote: »
    It shouldn't take anyone a month to get a car tested.
    The NCT's contract states that they must provide a test within 28 days of you contacting them....or the test is free.
    This is not some form of marketing, it is part of the contract they signed when they took on the contract.
    The OP has stated that they have a test booked for next Thursday (best of luck), but anyone else who can't find a test date online should phone the NCT and insist that they are given a test date within 28 days.
    This does not mean that the NCT have 28 days to come back to you with any date in the future, it means that they have to test your car within 28 days.
    p.s. sometimes you might have to allow them a day or two to text you back with a date, but this is rarely a problem.

True.
    I wasn't aware of this and two years ago after importing a car from NI i was trying to book an NCT test. Online there was nothing available, so I rang them, and she told me there was nothing available in my nearest test centre within 6 months, and they don't take any booking for periods exceeding 6 months, so eventually she can't offer me any appointment, and she asked to ring in few days.
    I though that it's pretty sh1tty, as after forking out a small fortune on VRT, I would love to drive my car legally on the road a bit sooner than never. So I got some info here on boards, and I rang again, and told her that I want to request appointment within 28 days and if they won't be able to provide it I'm going to have my test for free.. She said that she will see what can be done, and withing 5 minutes I got text message with my NCT date in 27 days.

The way he said "it doesn't matter" when I said it was out of date made me think he just wanted to see the cert because there was no disc in the window.

Tis going to be a costly trip to the mechanic on Monday, one sheered of nut to replace, only one front fog lamp working, humming and grinding noise when I turn the wheel at low speeds or at full lock (possibly bearing???), tracking, headlight alignment.

Also I had a bit of a tip back in 2010 with all the snow, resulting in my 2 headlights been dislodged, I got this sorted with a guy who patched them back into place but there not mounted on their original clips, theres also a bit of a hole in the bumper and a wee dent in the bumper. Does any of that stuff matter?

Otherwise the car is perfect. :o

You wouldn't be as embarassed as you are now if you fixed your car before rather than waiting to be caught.
    Money tight, or not - for over a year you should have fixed that. You only made it worse tbh.
    Sympathy shown for you in this thread will vanish quickly since you posted condition of your car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Flesh Gorden

At no point last night was the word "valid" mentioned

I'd consider it fairly insulting to my intelligence if I had to be told the difference and couldn't figure it out for myself

wonski wrote: »
    You wouldn't be as embarassed as you are now if you fixed your car before rather than waiting to be caught.
    Money tight, or not - for over a year you should have fixed that. You only made it worse tbh.
    Sympathy shown for you in this thread will vanish quickly since you posted condition of your car.
    The car is in decent condition apart from the sheered nut which only happend last Monday. I service it myself every 4 or 5 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

I was asked by a Garda to provide my insurance and nct cert in the station even though the nct was out of date by about 4 months. I brought in the expired one and that was no problem.

However it was the result of an accident so I couldn't get a new one, but they didnt care that it was out of date. I suspect it's a regulation thing for the Pulse records.

The car is in decent condition apart from the sheered nut which only happend last Monday. I service it myself every 4 or 5 months.

Humming, grinding noise, tracking, lights alignment(pet hate of mine as i drive a lot at nights) is what you know is wrong with the car.
    I gave you benefit of doubt at the start assuming your car is ok, even if it had no nct. But You made it clear it is not OK...
    Servicing a car every 4-5 months doesn't mean it is in decent condition.
    It just means you changed oil/filters from what i read.
    And it is either high mileage you do, or some rare/performance/classic car if you need to do it every 4 months.
    At least you were honest with it, so i hope your nct goes well (you will need to spend some cash at the garage on it i think...).
    Good luck.

I was asked by a Garda to provide my insurance and nct cert in the station even though the nct was out of date by about 4 months. I brought in the expired one and that was no problem.

However it was the result of an accident so I couldn't get a new one, but they didnt care that it was out of date. I suspect it's a regulation thing for the Pulse records.
    I knew I wasn't hearing things!!!!

wonski wrote: »
    Humming, grinding noise, tracking, lights alignment(pet hate of mine as i drive a lot at nights) is what you know is wrong with the car.
    I gave you benefit of doubt at the start assuming your car is ok, even if it had no nct. But You made it clear it is not OK...
    Servicing a car every 4-5 months doesn't mean it is in decent condition.
    It just means you changed oil/filters from what i read.
    And it is either high mileage you do, or some rare/performance/classic car if you need to do it every 4 months.
    At least you were honest with it, so i hope your nct goes well (you will need to spend some cash at the garage on it i think...).
    Good luck.
    AFAIK my lights are fine but obviously they will need to be perfect for the test, same with the tracking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

AFAIK my lights are fine but obviously they will need to be perfect for the test,
    No they don't.
    Brackets of possible adjustment for lights for NCT is huge.
    They can be anything between 0.5% to 2% downwards.
    So if your lights are for example at the height of 70cm above the ground (average for car) then they can be set to give light in front of the car from as little as 35 metres to as much as 140 metres.
    You must admit, that's a huge amount of brackets thay allow.
    same with the tracking.
    Yes. Same thing with tracking.
    They allow AFAIR from -18 to +18 metres/km on slip test.
    That means than after travelling for 1km, if your wheel went as they are adjusted, they could be 18 metres apart and still pass the test.
    If you have them so disaligned they exceed those values, car would be hardly drivable in my opinion. Or at least it would be something that can'b be unnoticed by a driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭thenightrider

If that is a sheered wheel nut id get that sorted as that's a fail.

I know, bloody pain!

Anyway I think I'll head into the Garda station later and chance my arm with the NCT disc and Insurance cert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

You also mentioned the broken/cracked headlight mounting brackets....also a fail, I'm afraid, even if the lights themselves are not shaking about.

mgbgt1978 wrote: »
    You also mentioned the broken/cracked headlight mounting brackets....also a fail, I'm afraid, even if the lights themselves are not shaking about.
    I was to they don't have to be on their original clips, as long as the headlight is secure and sturdy its ok.

• Administrators Posts: 54,417 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

awec wrote: »
    Why not just get an NCT like you should be doing?

If you don't have an NCT you shouldn't be on the road. End of story. If you can't afford to NCT your car then you can't afford the car.

To be quite honest, I hope they tell you to feck off with your expired one. What's the point in the rest of us paying out for NCT if they're not going to enforce the punishment for not having it, just because someone doesn't fancy paying. :mad::mad:

That 65 euro or whatever would have been handy enough in my bank account.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Bobo78

I don't get it, you could afford to drive and put petrol in your car since July last year and service your car every 4 to 5 months but you couldn't afford to pay 55 euro for NCT test. :confused:

Do you think the Garda is going to take an out of date NCT off you and let you on your way?

I know, bloody pain!

Anyway I think I'll head into the Garda station later and chance my arm with the NCT disc and Insurance cert.

The car should have been taken off you and impounded. It's the same old story in this country, put on the fúcking beal bocht and the chances are that you'll get away with it.

I'll never understand how come a car can get impounded now if a tax disc is more than 3 months, same goes for if a driver appears to not have any insurance, but the NCT could be overdue years, (the old trick of having no disc in the windscreen as is the case here, in the hope that you'll get waved on), and you can basically think you can blag that aspect of the statutory requirements, as is the case here!

I regularly see cars every day in the trade that are in for breakdown reasons, and when it comes to these cars being maintained in terms of servicing, they are simply not roadworthy, and these are cars that have an NCT on them! You can only imagine the state of some cars that haven't been NCT'd in ages.

Lost since past time gardai started doing their job and impounding these cars, it would soon put an end to the spoofing, blagging, and general muppetry etc, that we can see is so prevalent on this thread.

The car should have been taken off you and impounded. It's the same old story in this country, put on the fúcking beal bocht and the chances are that you'll get away with it.

I'll never understand how come a car can get impounded now if a tax disc is more than 3 months, same goes for if a driver appears to not have any insurance, but the NCT could be overdue years, (the old trick of having no disc in the windscreen as is the case here, in the hope that you'll get waved on), and you can basically think you can blag that aspect of the statutory requirements, as is the case here!

I regularly see cars every day in the trade that are in for breakdown reasons, and when it comes to these cars being maintained in terms of servicing, they are simply not roadworthy, and these are cars that have an NCT on them! You can only imagine the state of some cars that haven't been NCT'd in ages.

Lost since past time gardai started doing their job and impounding these cars, it would soon put an end to the spoofing, blagging, and general muppetry etc, that we can see is so prevalent on this thread.

Enforcement is a key, but there is no enforcement.
    I drive 12 years old car, have an average pay and still manage to get all paperwork up to date.
    Always do my nct early, so i have enough time to arrange cheaper parts, do something meself, or just to put money aside to get it fixed at a garage. It is not all about nct tough - it is about keeping the car in overall good, safe condition. From OP's description his car is far from being roadworthy, and nct ready. I bet if it was to fail over a year ago, now it is even much worse. Spectacular fail.

Christ, great to see everyone on here is so perfect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Bobo78

I m far from perfect but when it comes to my car I try to obey the law regarding NCT, Tax and Insurance.
    I mean you v been driving without NCT since June or July last year and now that you got caught your complaining.
    In other countries in the world you wouldn't be able to drive your car at all without equivalent of the NCT in Ireland.

How can people expect to drive without NCT or Tax and to get away with it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 495 ✭✭bootybouncer

Is the NCT corrupt..............that is the question ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 656 ✭✭✭bobin fudge

Christ, great to see everyone on here is so perfect.

Normally I dont join in with the self righteous people in some threads but this is a joke. Not Nct'd the car in over a year, driving a car with so many faults etc etc

Nobody is perfect but if you post up admissions like this, what do you expect?

just hand up your old NCT to the guard and best of luck:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

Is the NCT corrupt..............that is the question ???

That's not the question at all!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 495 ✭✭bootybouncer

Jimdagym wrote: »
    That's not the question at all!

Of course it is.......................... it comes from the top dude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

Of course it is.......................... it comes from the top dude

Your ideas are intriguing to me and I wish to subscribe to your newsletter.