Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Price of bulls to factory

• 26-10-2012 2:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭

I've a three year old angus bull who i want to move on, nothing wrong with him, all cows & heifers bulled, grand quiet fellow.
    Anyway I was thinking of factorying him but I've been quoted €2.50 per kg by the factory, dawn meats Charleville, this seems to be an outrageously low price to me.
    Has anyone else sold to the factory and what sort of money are they making?
    Would I be better selling at the mart?
    I put him up on donedeal as well:
    http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/beefcattle/4067588

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

locky76 wrote: »
    I've a three year old angus bull who i want to move on, nothing wrong with him, all cows & heifers bulled, grand quiet fellow.
    Anyway I was thinking of factorying him but I've been quoted €2.50 per kg by the factory, dawn meats Charleville, this seems to be an outrageously low price to me.

Prices always a way back for these animals.
    If he is a standout animal on his star rating you could try selling him through the AA society. Contact the fellow you sourced him from for eg. Bad time of year to be selling though. demand for stock bulls is in the spring and prices paid reflect that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

your being optimistic anyway:D, unless he has good breeding lines. price for old bulls in the factory is poor always.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭locky76

your being optimistic anyway:D, unless he has good breeding lines. price for old bulls in the factory is poor always.
    Ah bob, you need optimism in today's world ;D I'd be happy with €1,500 for him...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭dzer2

I am on the look out for a quite bull

dzer2 wrote: »
    I am on the look out for a quite bull

you would pay well for a quite bull :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Check with some of the buyers/dealers to see if they are putting a load together. You might get a slightly better price if he's going as part of a good sized lot. You can be waiting a while for this sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭red bull

I sent a 4yr old bull to dawn ballyhaunis last August he killed out 435kg got paid €911. dDaylight robbery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

red bull wrote: »
    I sent a 4yr old bull to dawn ballyhaunis last August he killed out 435kg got paid €911. dDaylight robbery.

What breed? Sounds a bad price for a continental but a good one for a jersey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭grange mac

Saw a jersey bull sell in mart today...400kg sold for €300

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

jersey= runts.When will jackie kennedy and tegasc cop on to these waste of space of ainmals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭poor farmer

sold a big fresian to factory 2 weeks ago .He was 5 years old
    almost 500 kg dead €1200

A montbelliarde

It's dead weight folks so I'd be putting the bull at 850kgs live, not a jersey ...

doesnt look like he is 850 kgs in the picture, around 725kgs I would think from the picture and with little finish if for beef

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭ordinary farmer

i woudnt call that optimistic at all,!! if u have the right bull he is worth a lot of money bagattelle was one of the best angus bulls around in his day.! i have my own stock bull sired by bagattelle and out of a sister of the Dam of coney island legend. wount listen to offers of 2000 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭wiggy123

could be a foolish man.. not taking that.. not head angus bulls are back.. should be up next spring again.. who knows

doesnt look like he is 850 kgs in the picture, around 725kgs I would think from the picture and with little finish if for beef
    It was the bull RedBull sent to the factory i was commenting on, I'll be weighing my fella next week so we'll see how near the mark you are Bob;);)

sold a big fresian to factory 2 weeks ago .He was 5 years old
    almost 500 kg dead €1200

Sold 5 year old H Fresian to a factory buyer today for €1300. He's going finishing the bull along with around 30 more like him. I'm no great judge of cattle but to me he needed to put on 100kg to finish. On grass only since he came away from the cows so not much finish on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭mikeoh

What price in factory for a 29 month old AA bull at moment QA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

mikeoh wrote: »

I say you would only get stock bull price. Not sure how much they are paying for stock bulls if cows are back to 3/kg. It can be hard enough to shift less that 24 month old bulls anything over that forget about it.

Roscrea supposed to be best for stock bull

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

What's his breeding like?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

€2.80kg, selling live in the mart or private, let someone with a good few of these awkward animals negotiate a better price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

can u post picture add gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

grange mac wrote: »
    Saw a jersey bull sell in mart today...400kg sold for €300
    mahoney_j wrote: »
    jersey= runts.When will jackie kennedy and tegasc cop on to these waste of space of ainmals

Any of you got jerseys around at that weight at around that price??? You see Mahoney I a sucker for punishment.

blue5000 wrote: »
    What's his breeding like?

Not sure he belongs to a neighbour , I am bringing some cattle back to be killed and was going to carry him back for him turns out where I'm going won't kill any bulls over 24 months he taught he was ok under 30 mts but looks like he will be getting cut on him big time wherever he goes now!!

Get a quote from Roscrea, seems they have a market for older bulls neighbour got €1820 for a char bull over ten years old last week ok he was a huge animal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭jmurf100

Is that Ashbourne Meats Ltd in Roscrea?

jmurf100 wrote: »
    Is that Ashbourne Meats Ltd in Roscrea?

Yea thats the factory, good luck

Does anyone know if they have agents in the mayo area or anywhere up this direction?

jmurf100 wrote: »
    Does anyone know if they have agents in the mayo area or anywhere up this direction?

Yea PM me I will get a contact for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

fr 4 year old 960 kg 1360e mart

Cheers Red Bull - pm sent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭amens

Have an eight year old angus bull by LRH that I was going to send to the mart.He weighs around 850kg. What do you reckon he's worth now?

amens wrote: »
    Have an eight year old angus bull by LRH that I was going to send to the mart.He weighs around 850kg. What do you reckon he's worth now?

My neighbour took his 30mt old Angus to mart , he weight 650kg and got €1200....we worked out he would have only got circ €950 in factory

A lad local enough to me here (closer to leg wax) was finishing around 30 bulls, had them housed on ad-lib meals and straw. He went out one morning last week to find half of them dead. I don't know whether a vet was called but he put the remainder of them into the cattle trailer and headed for the factory, there'd be 2 within 15/20 mins of his yard. They were all skipped. He'd been hit with a botulism outbreak caused by pigeon carcasses in the straw. Be careful out there:eek:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

A lad local enough to me here (closer to leg wax) was finishing around 30 bulls, had them housed on ad-lib meals and straw. He went out one morning last week to find half of them dead. I don't know whether a vet was called but he put the remainder of them into the cattle trailer and headed for the factory, there'd be 2 within 15/20 mins of his yard. They were all skipped. He'd been hit with a botulism outbreak caused by pigeon carcasses in the straw. Be careful out there:eek:.

The poor man , what a dose . Was it pigeons that had been shot and left in the stubble or what ? I hope he can get some sort of insurance to cover himself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

moy83 wrote: »
    The poor man , what a dose . Was it pigeons that had been shot and left in the stubble or what ? I hope he can get some sort of insurance to cover himself
    yeah thats usually the case, farmers want birds shot in the crop not flying off as the body of the bird lands in the crop and you cant find it till the baler comes along

I got the impreesion they were winter casualities that died in the shed it was being stored in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

I got the impreesion they were winter casualities that died in the shed it was being stored in.
    no most of them are in the bales as rats and foxes would eat them in the sheds