Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pro 12, Ospreys v Connacht, Saturday 27th October, Not on TV

• 26-10-2012 1:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭

Both Teams have announced their line-ups

Ospreys
    15 Richard Fussell,14 Hanno Dirksen, 13 Andrew Bishop ,12 Ashley Beck, 11 Eli Walker, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Kahn Fotuali'i,1 Ryan Bevington, 2 Richard Hibbard, 3 Aaron Jarvis, 4 Alun Wyn Jones (Capt), 5 Ian Evans, 6 Joe Bearman, 7 Justin Tipuric, 8 Jonathan Thomas
    REPLACEMENTS: 16 Matthew Dwyer, 17 Duncan Jones, 18 Joe Rees, 19 James King, 20 George Stowers, 21 Rhys Webb, 22 Matthew Morgan, 23 Tom Isaacs

Connacht
    15. Darragh Leader, 14.Tiernan O'Halloran, 13. Robbie Henshaw, 12.Mata Fifita, 11.Fetu'u Vainikolo, 10.Dan Parks, 9. Kieran Marmion, 1. Brett Wilkinson,
    2. Jason Harris-Wright, 3. Nathan White (captain) 4. Michael Swift, 5. George Naoupu, 6. John Muldoon, 7. Willie Faloon, 8.Eoin McKeon
    Replacements: 16. Adrian Flavin, 17.Ronan Loughney, 18. Rodney Ah You, 19. Dave Gannon, 20. Johnny O'Connor, 21. Dave Moore, 22. Miah Nikora,23. Danie Poolman

7 Changes made from last week, two positional (George to 5 and Henshaw to 13). Big opportunities for several Connacht players, most of all Darragh Leader who has a hard act following the performances of Henshaw at FB over the last few games. With Shane Layden also looking to break into the squad, look for him to try to impress. JHW is also being given a massive opportunity to cement a place at hooker where we are having problems at late. Eoin McKeon also gets a chance at 8. Poolman on the bench is set to make his debut as well after picking up a hamstring injury and going to the same specialist as griffin a few weeks ago.

Osprey have a strong line-up and seem to have finally settled down after a bad run of form, although both teams are coming off a loss. A LBP might be the best we can hope for but if we are replicate the performances v Leinster and Quins more might be in the offer.

This game is not being televised, updates available on the Connacht FB page and twitter account

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Can't see Connacht winning against that Ospreys side tbh. Looks like a strong team all-round.

Interesting to see how Henshaw, Leader and Harris-Wright get on in particular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭freyners

Fireball07 wrote: »
    Can't see Connacht winning against that Ospreys side tbh. Looks like a strong team all-round.

Interesting to see how Henshaw, Leader and Harris-Wright get on in particular.

I agree, but there is always hope:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

I'm always impressed when seeing a Connacht team named. That's a strong front row with Wilkinson and White, great to see Harris-Wright starting and hopefully he can have a good game. Ospreys scrum is the strongest in the competition imo, but not their strongest prop pairing out there, so will be interesting to see how they get on.

All in all though, can't see Connacht coming away from Liberty with anything, it's a very good Ospreys side, but hopefully it'll be a good game and would love to see an upset.

[edit] - just noticed this isn't going to be on TV - wtf is the story with that?? Not good enough if this league is ever to be taken seriously, especially when the biggest team in the league (in terms of trophies) is playing! Badly need to find an exclusive broadcaster...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

freyners wrote: »
    I agree, but there is always hope:D
    Personally my hope is for Connacht to cover the handicap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

[Jackass] wrote: »
    I'm always impressed when seeing a Connacht team named. That's a strong front row with Wilkinson and White, great to see Harris-Wright starting and hopefully he can have a good game. Ospreys scrum is the strongest in the competition imo, but not their strongest prop pairing out there, so will be interesting to see how they get on.

All in all though, can't see Connacht coming away from Liberty with anything, it's a very good Ospreys side, but hopefully it'll be a good game and would love to see an upset.

[edit] - just noticed this isn't going to be on TV - wtf is the story with that?? Not good enough if this league is ever to be taken seriously, especially when the biggest team in the league (in terms of trophies) is playing! Badly need to find an exclusive broadcaster...

Out of interest how would an exclusive broadcaster ensure greater coverage.? The vast majority of Rabo games (if you include all the broadcasters in Ireland/Scotland/Wales/Italy) are covered each weekend. This is one exception.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

How many Premiership games are going to be broadcasted live this weekend? I don't think this has anything to do with the league not being taken seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭Tim_Murphy

How many Premiership games are going to be broadcasted live this weekend? I don't think this has anything to do with the league not being taken seriously.
    Exactly. All but one game in the Rabo is being shown live this weekend, that is better than any other league in any sport I can think of.

Some Connacht supporters seem to take it as a personal slight any time a Connacht game isn't televised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,072 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Strong Osprey team, but hopefully can get something out of if. Excited to hear how Henshaw at centre goes, how Leader at fb goes, JHW gets on with his 1st start and Pooleman does if/when he comes on. Not a big fan of George in 2nd row, but it does enable McKeon to get gametime which is a positive I suppose - what story with Mick Kearney? He doesn't seem to be getting any game time with senior squad and I was impressed with him last year

In betting terms, the +15 is tempting looking at the past meeting
    Fri 30/09/11 RAP Ospreys 26 - 21 Connacht
    Sun 27/02/11 RAP Ospreys 33 - 18 Connacht
    Sun 21/02/10 RAP Ospreys 19 - 17 Connacht
    Sun 22/02/09 RAP Ospreys 22 - 10 Connacht

ps: surely the Rabo website could stick up a stream of the matches for the games not being broadcast by TV? It on Galway Bay does anyone know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭jamiedav2011

If the biggest football league in the world, the Premiership, doesn't have all of its games televised, how is this 'not good enough' for the Rabo, which has 90% of its games televised?! We're incredibly lucky as Leinster fans that almost all our games are on T.V.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

If the biggest football league in the world, the Premiership, doesn't have all of its games televised, how is this 'not good enough' for the Rabo, which has 90% of its games televised?! We're incredibly lucky as Leinster fans that almost all our games are on T.V.

Sorry I'm a moonlight football fan and it's the premier league! ;)

They can't put every game on and if someone is going to take the fall it was understandably going to be Connacht.

I'm also not sure if you got confused about Jackass's point about the best team in the league being the Ospreys, not Leinster! :P

Time of the game isn't exactly appealing either for TV. Right before all the afternoon kicks off in the football, and I think any rugby team would struggle to compete with Gillette Soccer Saturday and the game on Setanta.

well i think the most frustrating thing is that there are no Highlight programmes, and only chance we will see any of the action is if the Ospreys put something up on their website few days after the game..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

The reason most P12 games get televised is that there's only 6 games per round, spread over 3 days...slightly easier to schedule than Premier League football (which is also played / shown on week days) and I'm not sure if a single game involving any of the big 6 teams' 38 odd games a season goes untelevised. Also, a dedicated broadcaster would mean the games could be available in every country, not just in Ireland some of the time, Wales another time and Italy another time, on random stations difficult for most people to get, and more often than not, in a language less than 1% of fans of the league understand...also, not just a failure to broadcast it live, but it will never be broadcast and its up to the clubs to record it and stick it on their website. Might as well be Blue Square premiership (just not as good), never mind your English premiership...

But this is for another day. Was just commenting how a game in the Liberty stadium involving the defending champions not being televised is a joke.

What you don't mention is the fact that casual fans won't bother paying the subscription to watch it on a dedicated broadcaster, like setanta. The FTA move has been brilliant for rugby in this country.

Also, plenty of the big 6s games go untelevised in the premier league! A much higher proportion than the Ospreys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

The reason most P12 games get televised is that there's only 6 games per round, spread over 3 days...slightly easier to schedule than Premier League football (which is also played / shown on week days) and I'm not sure if a single game involving any of the big 6 teams' 38 odd games a season goes untelevised. Also, a dedicated broadcaster would mean the games could be available in every country, not just in Ireland some of the time, Wales another time and Italy another time, on random stations difficult for most people to get, and more often than not, in a language less than 1% of fans of the league understand...also, not just a failure to broadcast it live, but it will never be broadcast and its up to the clubs to record it and stick it on their website. Might as well be Blue Square premiership (just not as good), never mind your English premiership...

But this is for another day. Was just commenting how a game in the Liberty stadium involving the defending champions not being televised is a joke.

While I take the point about games being available in every country it would depend on which dedicated broadcaster. If it was Sky Sports then probably no coverage in Italy. BTW there will almost certainly be brief highlights of the Ospreys vs Connacht game on both S4C tonight before the Leinster vs Cardiff game and on BBC2W Scrum V tomorrow. RTE need to follow BBC2W and STV and have a dedicated weekly highlights programme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭porterbelly

7 nil Eli Walker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭OldRio

Tim_Murphy wrote: »

Some Connacht supporters seem to take it as a personal slight any time a Connacht game isn't televised.

Just checked the fixture list and the next televised Connacht Rabo game is on the 22nd December.

7-0 to Ospreys

sounds like our scrum in trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

OldRio wrote: »
    Just checked the fixture list and the next televised Connacht Rabo game is on the 22nd December.

And that's because its against Munster... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭ray jay

Scores can be found here.

Pooleman on for Mata

We meant be playing bit better, just heard short snippet on RTE Radio 1
    Parks with a pen to make it 7-3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

7-6 now :)

Parks with another kick, monta fook

Lump it into them lads

Tipuric try :(

Tipuric try, con missed

12-6 :(

Try Ospreys Tipuric

HT: 12-6

still to play for

intercept try

feck

19-6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Wexfordboy89

wprathead wrote: »
    Pooleman on for Mata

We meant be playing bit better, just heard short snippet on RTE Radio 1
    Parks with a pen to make it 7-3

is mata injured or was he just not playing well???thought poolman played on the wing or can he play centre as well or will vainicolo(spelling) go into the centre spot?

Mata got injured

Pooleman can play 13 i think, but am assuming he is playing 12

jaysus i wouldn't allowed Fetu'u near the centreship with his tackling record :P

Mata got injured

Pooleman can play 13 i think, but am assuming he is playing 12

jaysus i wouldn't allowed Fetu'u near the centreship with his tackling record :P

ah right was just wondering was thinking he must be injured be interesting to see how he gets on.were has Kyle Tonetti gone to is he injured???

yup Kyle is injured aswell
    was great squad player last year

anyhow, Parks pen, 19-9
    a LBP is defo reachable, and if we manage a try soon who knows?

yup Kyle is injured aswell
    was great squad player last year

anyhow, Parks pen, 19-9
    a LBP is defo reachable, and if we manage a try soon who knows?

ah right lets hope so they need to bring some of the quins HC aggression into the game.i see the rabo website has darragh leader as being down as 32 years of age.1/1/1970 as his DOB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

ah right lets hope so they need to bring some of the quins HC aggression into the game.i see the rabo website has darragh leader as being down as 32 years of age.1/1/1970 as his DOB

I think that would make him 42 :eek: Youngsters today, eh..

hahaha oh ya my bad sorry about that maths was never a strong point of mine as you can tell :o

Dan missed pen on 65mins
    don't know how kickable it was, but that would have made it 19-12
    alot of changes now aswell:
    JOC for Faloon
    Moore for Marimon
    Rodney for Wilkinson
    Flavin for JHW

Parks missed a penalty in the 65th min. Flavin and Ah You are on.
    Still 19-9.

****e, 26-9

TBP for Ospreys

****e, 26-9

TBP for Ospreys

disappointing they couldnt bring some of the form they showed against quins into the game :(

26-9 Full time. Very disappointing not to get anything from that game especially when we were close enough at HT.

from sound of it, 2 of their tries were rather fortunate with an intercept and a quick tap and go from a pen with our boys falling asleep..
    A LBP was defo reachable today
    that said we didn't seem to threaten their tryline at all and when a team scors 4 tries to none can have no complaints really..

gotta regroup and focus on Treviso now