Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Falling in with a bad crowd

• 26-10-2012 12:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭

Has anyone ever 'fallen in with a bad crowd'? Or indeed been part of a bad crowd with which others have fallen in? I was listening to a report from St. Patricks's (youth prison) and every one of the mothers interviewed said the reason their young lads were locked up was because they 'fell in with a bad crowd. Is it a valid excuse for bad behaviour? Or should people have the cop on to know the people they are hanging around with will cause them grief? And who sets up or decides the crowd is 'bad' anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭dr strangelove

I fell in with an IT crowd.

I tell you, i'm getting pretty flipped off at the amount of times i have to tell people to turn it off and on again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

De Cattlick Church snigger snigger snigger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

Yeah i fell into the AH Crowd, a serious bunch of crazy sons a bitches in here.

Only joking ya's all look great:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I fell in with a bad crowd. It was fupping brillant.

Falling in with a bad crowd is no reason to go out and commit crimes. It was still their decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭DyldeBrill

Meh its up to the individual! I didn't exactly hang around with the best crowd, but I never wanted to be a sheep! I hung around with them because I was friends with them, knew them well but I was my own man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Yeah when I was younger I used to hang around with a fairly bad crowd and done some scummy things. However, my heart was never in it and I eventually got some sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I was born under a bad sign.

Fell in with a bad crowd.

And learned my lessons the hard way.

But you know what they say - you gotta get down before you get up.

Get up. Get on up. Stay on the scene. Like a sex machine.

So to answer your question.... no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭ronan45

"got in with the wrong crowd" Translates too... Cheeky Pup that sought out other cheeky pups to get up to no good stuff.
    Its a cover story for having a little b"ll&X basically....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭splendid101

lazygal wrote: »
    Has anyone ever 'fallen in with a bad crowd'? Or indeed been part of a bad crowd with which others have fallen in? I was listening to a report from St. Patricks's (youth prison) and every one of the mothers interviewed said the reason their young lads were locked up was because they 'fell in with a bad crowd. Is it a valid excuse for bad behaviour? Or should people have the cop on to know the people they are hanging around with will cause them grief? And who sets up or decides the crowd is 'bad' anyway?

You're dead right. This "wrong crowd" thing is bullsh*t.

I remember my friends were saying it about one of the younger brothers of someone in the group. "He's just hanging around with the wrong people". I called them on it and said it was rubbish, they are his friends; give the guy some credit for being a scumbag on his own merits.

I didn't think people the age of this group of my friends would have gone in for that, I thought it was more for people my Mam's age.

Dopes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 179 ✭✭King Of Wishful Thinking

Yes.

I stagedived at a Slayer gig and the crowd parted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Yeah from about 6th class til around 3rd year I used to hang around with the local heads.Drinking,smoking,fighting,getting,never going to school,being brought home by the Garda few nights a week,being threathened with being sent to some reform school ran by ass raping priests down in Tipperary.

Auld lad knocked the crap out of me one night which'convinced me to stop hanging round them.Couple of the lads have been in and out of jail for serious enough stuff since then,so probably a good move in hindsight.

Was good fun though in fairness!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Depends on the person. Sometimes all it takes is the influence of the wrong people to fall off the rails completely.

Likewise, if some of the guards in the institution showed good example rather than restraining and punishing the prisoners unlawfully, they might come out a little better than going in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

I almost fell in with a bad crowd. But I managed to stop hanging with them, so it's all cool now. Hate to think what i'd be like now if I was still hanging with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Riddle101 wrote: »
    Hate to think what i'd be like now if I was still hanging with them.

Interesting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,993 ✭✭✭Soups123

You choose your mates, you dont fall in with them unless its what you want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

I think it's a p1ss poor excuse to try and justify scumbag behaviour tbh. Scumbags normally seek out other scumbags - fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

Is it a valid excuse for bad behaviour? Or should people have the cop on to know the people they are hanging around with will cause them grief?

I don't know wether it can be used as a valid excuse but the idea of a bad crowd is a very real thing. There are all sorts of group dynamics that come into play when people interact with other people (either friends or strangers) and quite a lot has been written by psychologists on this theme.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

I feel into a pub on a few occassions. tough crowd

does that count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

sfwcork wrote: »
    I feel into a pub on a few occassions. tough crowd

does that count?

I have a felling that it doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

stmol32 wrote: »
    I don't know wether it can be used as a valid excuse but the idea of a bad crowd is a very real thing. There are all sorts of group dynamics that come into play when people interact with other people (either friends or strangers) and quite a lot has been written by psychologists on this theme.

Yes but these mothers trying to claim their darling sons to be the proverbial Oliver to the equivelant Fagan's gang is a step too far imo. Anyone who is in posession of their faculties has the choice/free will and most of them choose to be scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

I was the bad crowd (in the nicest possible way), I think I've led a few people astray over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,993 ✭✭✭Soups123

Andy-Pandy wrote: »
    I was the bad crowd (in the nicest possible way), I think I've led a few people astray over the years.

With a name like Andy Pandy you must have been a fearful fcker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Yeah from about 6th class til around 3rd year I used to hang around with the local heads.Drinking,smoking,fighting,getting,never going to school,being brought home by the Garda few nights a week,being threathened with being sent to some reform school ran by ass raping priests down in Tipperary.

Auld lad knocked the crap out of me one night which'convinced me to stop hanging round them.Couple of the lads have been in and out of jail for serious enough stuff since then,so probably a good move in hindsight.

Was good fun though in fairness!

I doubt your parents see it that way. I broke curfew and came home with a few drinks on me as a teenager, but that was it. They were worried sick about me, obviously being a young girl and they were afraid of the guy I was seeing. Rightly so, I might add. When I got some sense and realised what I was doing to my mother and father I apologised for what I'd done. Jesus, if I did half of what you did I think my parents would be six foot under!

I never really fell into a bad crowd, just had a warped boyfriend. He would have influenced me to come to the pubs with him, but I was young and silly and would have went any where with him. I actively chose to go with him, so theres a bit of column A and column B.

I think it's fair to say that people can influence you, but at the end of the day, you chose to be friends with them or you don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Foxwaldo

My ma and da thought i fell in with a bad crowd when i was 13 and drinking in bushes with the older lads from my estate. After about 3 months they came to there sense when they had met them while knocking in to me that every single one of the lads were decent. One or two even have master degree's now which i cannot say i have myself as a college drop out and out of everyone in the group only one of them turned out to be a right scumbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

Soups123 wrote: »
    With a name like Andy Pandy you must have been a fearful fcker

I did say in the nicest possible way, also, I've never been very violent .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭SunnyDub1

When I was younger I use to hang with the local "scum". At the time I taught I was the cool kid :o When I look back now it's embarrassing.

I realized as I got older it wasn't me, and I eventually left the crowd.

When you start hanging with a group of people from a young age its hard to know right from wrong. When you are young, you are still learning right from wrong. You feel under peer pressure to fit in with the group.
    Some people grow out of it and realize whats right from wrong. While others don't and as they grow older and stay in the "wrong crowd".

I do believe that a lot of problems a person may have is due to the crowd they hang with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

Never really considered any "scumbags" or local heads as mates.

But seeing as though I grew up in a working class area, went to school with scumbags and regularly met them when I was out, I did kind of hang around with them depending on the circumstances or drinking location from time to time.

You notice a vast difference in lot of them though as soon as they hit 17 and 18. Some turn out to be very decent and some of the well to do's do a U turn and go off the rails.

Kind of strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Abi wrote: »
    I doubt your parents see it that way. I broke curfew and came home with a few drinks on me as a teenager, but that was it. They were worried sick about me, obviously being a young girl and they were afraid of the guy I was seeing. Rightly so, I might add. When I got some sense and realised what I was doing to my mother and father I apologised for what I'd done. Jesus, if I did half of what you did I think my parents would be six foot under!

I never really fell into a bad crowd, just had a warped boyfriend. He would have influenced me to come to the pubs with him, but I was young and silly and would have went any where with him. I actively chose to go with him, so theres a bit of column A and column B.

I think it's fair to say that people can influence you, but at the end of the day, you chose to be friends with them or you don't.

Oh they didn't,but you don't really consider things like that at that age,well I didn't anyways.

Hanging round with those lads just seemed like a lot more fun then sitting in a classroom all day and getting detention for not wearing the right coloured socks,or being in at 6 every evening and sitting n front of the telly or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭martomcg

I think the person in question coupled with the situation are the 2 biggest factors.

I personally hung around a fair mix of scum and non-scum when i was growing up but was always taught good morals from my parents.

Went to college and and am now a successful professional, whereas alot of the so called scum are still bumming around my home-town. I still am friendly with them and still hang round with them on occasion.

I've a mate who's brother was in a really good crowd, played sport, went to college. Started partying, smoking weed and eventually dropped out and is now back home being a bum. He was around the "good crowd" while in college. He's now in with the "bad crowd" at home. I think people will always seek out others like themselves regardless.

I think the parents are quick to use that "wrong crowd" excuse when they knew there was always the potential for the kid to be led astray in the 1st place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

People choose to hang around with the bad crowd...
    I know I did and I can't blame any of the people I hung around with for the trouble I got into..

I don't hang around with any bad crowd now though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

always wanted to hang out with Berlusconi.

looks like ill have to wait 4 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

I can just picture you bringing young lads off robbing apples..:D
    You must have brought some shame on your village when you brought that Playboy into school..;)

• Site Banned Posts: 38 Staedtler

There is no such thing as a 'bad crowd' - there is only; getting away with it, and, getting caught.
    We all do some crazy things from time to time, but most of us get away with it - those that get caught, blame the 'bad crowd'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭RADIUS

I tell you, i'm getting pretty flipped off at the amount of times i have to tell people to turn it off and on again.

I know your angry, just try to hold it in for 30 seconds.

when people say theres no such thing as a bad crowd, do criminal gangs count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

Twenty years ago my friends and i were considered a bad crowd because we use to smoke a few joints of hash and have our cans in the side lane of our estate every weekend. When the locals moved us on our way the next crowed that arrived in the area took to robbing the houses and beating up anyone who looked wrong at them.
    My neighbours at the time learned a hard lesson that we were not as bad as the young scum who came after us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭RADIUS

Show Time wrote: »
    Twenty years ago my friends and i were considered a bad crowd because we use to smoke a few joints of hash and have our cans in the side lane of our estate every weekend. When the locals moved us on our way the next crowed that arrived in the area took to robbing the houses and beating up anyone who looked wrong at them.
    My neighbours at the time learned a hard lesson that we were not as bad as the young scum who came after us.

Here's a newsflash:
    People who pay rent/mortgage really really don't appreciate gangs of teens drinking and smoking hash in a lane near their house and the adult residents had every right to run you out of it. Whether you were robbing or not.

It's funny how you said 'our' estate. Somehow I doubt it was yours.

Show Time wrote: »
    Twenty years ago my friends and i were considered a bad crowd because we use to smoke a few joints of hash and have our cans in the side lane of our estate every weekend.

tbf sounds like a bad crowd. drinking on the streets and using illegal drugs.

RADIUS wrote: »
    Here's a newsflash:
    People who pay rent/mortgage really really don't appreciate gangs of teens drinking and smoking hash in a lane near their house and the adult residents had every right to run you out of it. Whether you were robbing or not.

It's funny how you said 'our' estate. Somehow I doubt it was yours.
    Whoooshhh my point went right over your head i see.:D

And most of us lived there at the time and we kept the real scum away but the neighbours did not see it at the time.
    Now in the present time my friends and i have long since quit the hash and are thankfully all working and as for the crowed that came after us in the area the biggest achievement one of that gang ever had was making it on tv as one of Ireland's dumbest criminals.

folan wrote: »
    tbf sounds like a bad crowd. drinking on the streets and using illegal drugs.
    Well when you are 15 it can be a bit hard to get into the pub.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭Furious_George

When was 16-19 thought i was a bit of a hard man and hang out with scumbags but after getting put in hospital by some fairly serious lads over an earlier fight i copped myself on. Wish i could say i learned the error of my ways myself but some people need a bit of a push.

I did say in the nicest possible way, also, I've never been very violent .

Frankly, I couldn't care one whit, a long as Looby Loo remains unharmed.
    Good day to you Mr. Pandy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Does A.I.B. count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Cill94

It's just a feeble excuse for the person being too much of a coward to stand up for themselves and say no. The mothers are just in denial. Of course, there are some people who set out to take their frustrations out on the rest of us, they're called arseholes. And they fall in with crowds of arseholes.

This is my take on it ( along with the incite of a career guidance/counselling/teacher) This is the short version.

Teenagers need something to make themselves feel good, so for example if you are struggling at school and you perceive yourself not to have any talents, you are not sporty, or arty, or musical you have no way of feeling good about yourself, but hanging around with a "bad" crowd give you a feeling of belonging and acceptance which you don't feel anywhere else the thing is because you are a teenage you do not have full incite to all of the above.

There was thread the other day about a skate park being vandalised the reason that sort of amenity get vandalise is. The "bad crowd" perceive the skate boarder to be cool, full of confidence, good at something and possible popular with the opposite sex, so they destroy the symbol of something they think they hate but in reality its something or someone they are jealous of again because they are teenagers they don't have full incite to why they behave like they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Cill94

mariaalice wrote: »

There was thread the other day about a skate park being vandalised the reason that sort of amenity get vandalise is. The "bad crowd" perceive the skate boarder to be cool, full of confidence, good at something and possible popular with the opposite sex, so they destroy the symbol of something they think they hate but in reality its something or someone they are jealous of again because they are teenagers they don't have full incite to why they behave like they do.

Dead on. It's also the reason why people who dress differently/have a unique hairstyle etc. in school get a hard time from their peers. The other kids feel threatened by someone else having the confidence to be themselves (which also highlights how afraid the others are to do the same), so they attack them with slags to make themselves feel better.

Cill94 wrote: »
    ....so they attack them with slags to make themselves feel better.

Imagine how the old showband singers must have felt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Not really a bad ground but I did end up in a group of pot heads when in school (never bothered smoking that crap myself).
    I have to say they were the least dynamic group of people I ever found myself with. Just a bunch of wasters whose only objective for the day would be to get some weed and smoke it all day... Glad I was with them only for one year before I moved out of school and into college!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

It's all right for you, I fell in with Spaceologists. Down with masseuses.