Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardaí to place focus on learner drivers during Bank Holiday weekend

• 26-10-2012 8:47am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭

Stay safe out there folks!

2422012-garda-road-checks-2-390x285.jpg
    MOTORISTS ARE BEING urged to stay safe on the roads this Bank
    Holiday weekend, with the gardaí saying that they will be particularly focusing on learner permit holders over the next few days during their ‘high-visibility’ campaign.

There have been 141 deaths on the Irish roads so far this year, which is five fewer deaths than the same period last year. Gardaí are now urging people as we move into the colder, wetter and darker weather, to take extra care on the roads, whether they are pedestrians, cyclists, motorcyclists or motorists.

Motorists are being urged to be ‘winter ready’ and make preparations to ensure their vehicle is safe for the colder weather ahead.

As people get ready for the next few days, Minister for Transport, Tourism & Sport Leo Varadkar TD said that this weekend, as with every bank holiday, there is a greater risk of deaths and serious injuries on our roads.

With the clocks going back this weekend, there will also be fewer hours of daylight. This makes it even more important to be visible on the roads. If we could all learn one thing from the tragedy of road collisions, it would be how quickly and easily lives can be shattered. So I am asking everyone: young, old, cyclists, pedestrians, motorcyclists and drivers, to be extra careful on the roads this weekend.

Check vehicles

Assistant Commissioner Gerard Phillips said that the gardaí’s message to each and every road user is to take all necessary steps to protect themselves no matter how they use the roads.

Vehicle users need to check their vehicles, and make sure they are “winter ready”. Every driver should also be adjusting their speed to drive at an appropriate safe speed for all the conditions around them. Pedestrians, cyclists and motorcyclists need to see and be seen. Hi visibility clothing is not expensive, and it makes a massive difference in the ability of others to see you early on a dark or poorly lit road.

The Assistant Commissioner said that the gardaí have run four separate operations targeting learner permit holders, and since these started in March they have seen an increase in compliance with regards to being accompanied by a fully qualified driver and displaying L plates.

Noel Brett, CEO of the Road Safety Authority, welcomed the garda enforcement of the rules of the road relating to learner drivers. He also appealed directly to the parents of young learner drivers to “stop turning a blind eye to what’s going on and do not allow their son or daughter access to a vehicle, unless they are accompanied and have ‘L’ plates displayed”.
    Via

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Noel Brett, CEO of the Road Safety Authority, welcomed the garda enforcement of the rules of the road relating to learner drivers.

Yes, lets all give them a big round of applause for their weekend campaign to enforce the law... :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I hope the catch all the illegal "L" platers driving unaccompanied, and throw the book at them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I hope the catch all the illegal "L" platers driving unaccompanied, and throw the book at them.

Well since they've just announced the flavour of the month I would say there will be a lot less "L" drivers on the roads this weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

In Ireland they announce on the news that their targeting a particular group on a particular weekend.

On the Continent they announce nothing and then fine the hole off you when caught.

Doesn't make sense to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

I must stick on some L plates just to annoy them

'Me missus is learning Guard'

WTF are they doing for the rest of the year

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Cut out the white to annoy them more.. Tell them it blew off on the motorway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

I have a full licence, but have L plates on my car. In the past six months, I'd say I've been through about 50 checkpoints with them on the car. I've been asked for my licence once, and that was for a breathalyser checkpoint.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I was on L plates in my thirties and only once got asked to show my licence.

The gardai seem to take the approach that it's only younger adults who are on l plates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

I was in a car stopped at a checkpoint last week (passenger) coming back from work with the car in front being a colleague.

The driver in front was an L plater with an expired learner permit which he didnt have on him. Again I know this as he was a colleague. He was on his own in the car.

The driver of the car I was in had no NCT disk up (forgot to put it in) and had no licence on him.

Both were asked for their licence and of course neither had it on them.
    " Ah sure go on ahead then" both were told.

Lack of NCT and unacompanied learner was ingored.

Makes sense though as it wasnt a bank holiday..so sure what harm :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

They made a program and put it on national television showing how they don't care about L drivers doing whatever they want. I think the Gardaí's attitude is quite well known at this stage. Pretending to give a crap for a weekend wont change anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,628 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

With the clocks going back this weekend, there will also be fewer hours of daylight.

I didn't realise that the manmade cocks coud actually change the laws of physics!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Marcusm wrote: »
    I didn't realise that the manmade cocks coud actually change the laws of physics!

Freudian slit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,213 ✭✭✭daenerysstormborn3

Given that they mention "Winter ready" I hope they will make an effort to stop idiots in cars driving around with their lights not in proper working order or their fog lights on when there is no fog. How hard is to under what your lights are for when they have names??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 656 ✭✭✭bobin fudge

I must stick on some L plates just to annoy them

'Me missus is learning Guard'

WTF are they doing for the rest of the year

Could be mistaken, but in the Uk it is illegal to drive with L plates on your car if you are a qualified driver and not a learner, maybe it is the same over here too?

Source? I find that hard to believe.

Edit:It actually is illegal, what a mad law

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

There should be an immediate requirement here to restrict the display of L plates to actual learner drivers. Then all persons with L plates and one driver should be stopped or identified on camera. In this day and age L plates should have RFID tags too.

A further measure would be to identify through the insurance system vehicles that are insured for learner drivers and stop them a bit more often too.

ardmacha wrote: »

There should be an immediate requirement here to restrict the display of L plates to actual learner drivers. Then all persons with L plates and one driver should be stopped or identified on camera. In this day and age L plates should have RFID tags too.

A further measure would be to identify through the insurance system vehicles that are insured for learner drivers and stop them a bit more often too.

My brother is learning in my car, would I have to take them off when I'm driving? Because that would be a right pain in the arse!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

So you want people who are teaching their kids how to drive, to buy two new L plates every single time they go to the shop, or school, or away for the weekend?

Cop on ffs!

If you see a reasonably aged adult, driving an X5 with L plates or something, you can be sure that it's for their wife, son, daughter etc

If the Gardaí believe otherwise, all they have to do is ask, but I think they have a bit more cop on than that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

Tallon wrote: »
    So you want people who are teaching their kids how to drive, to buy two new L plates every single time they go to the shop, or school, or away for the weekend?

Cop on ffs!

If you see a reasonably aged adult, driving an X5 with L plates or something, you can be sure that it's for their wife, son, daughter etc

If the Gardaí believe otherwise, all they have to do is ask, but I think they have a bit more cop on than that
    You do realise you can buy magnetic L-plates, right? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

You do realise you can buy magnetic L-plates, right?

Indeed. It should not be beyond the powers of human technology to devise a system where the L plate can be easily removed. You could just have plastic holder and slide it in. As learner drivers do not just hop into cars, but have a accompanying driver, and are under instruction, they should be able to affix an L plate and remove it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭furtzy

MarkMc wrote: »
    Source? I find that hard to believe.

Edit:It actually is illegal, what a mad law

Got asked to take them down by a Garda at a checkpoint when I was driving my wifes car when she was learning.....fair enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Why in gods name would you want to drive with L plates if you are fully licenced? Last thing Id want to do is draw unwanted attention to myself from other road users and (in theory anyway) law enforcement...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

djimi wrote: »
    Why in gods name would you want to drive with L plates if you are fully licenced? Last thing Id want to do is draw unwanted attention to myself from other road users and (in theory anyway) law enforcement...

Because it means that the Learner drivers on the motorway can blend in with the crowd :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

stopped at checkpoint last night...

driver has full licence but was asked at checkpoint for it...didn't have it on him, guard commented on expired NCT...but that was it: "get that sorted" and off we went.....some country :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,679 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I cannot understand this practice in Ireland, of so many L drivers driving on their own.

I learned to drive in the North, and the idea of it happening there is just so far fetched. If the Police caught a L driver on their own you'd be dragged over the coals and would not be driving for quite a while.

Time to hit the law breakers here really hard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭Luca Brasi

NIMAN wrote: »
    I cannot understand this practice in Ireland, of so many L drivers driving on their own.

I learned to drive in the North, and the idea of it happening there is just so far fetched. If the Police caught a L driver on their own you'd be dragged over the coals and would not be driving for quite a while.

The North Where is that ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭Luca Brasi

stopped at checkpoint last night...

driver has full licence but was asked at checkpoint for it...didn't have it on him, guard commented on expired NCT...but that was it: "get that sorted" and off we went.....some country :rolleyes:

Would you be happy if we had the Gestapo enforcing the law ?
    NCT is just another money making racket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭RootX

Luca Brasi wrote: »
    Would you be happy if we had the Gestapo enforcing the law ?

Is it Gestapo tactic to ask drivers claiming to have a full license to produce it within 10 days since they don't carry it with 'em(although they should)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭Hal Decks

This Bank Holiday 'initiative' is the usual Garda PR BS. There will be no concentrated effort, nothing above the ordinary, just some guff to scare some drivers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

The Gards are actually going to clamp down on unaccompanied learners this weekend? Have I got this right??

Yeah right!!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Ronnie Beck

There is one way to get less L- drivers on the road. Make the lessons free and the driving test cheaper. 80 euro or whatever it is is stupid money.

And your reasoning for this nonsense is?

Driving is a privilege, NOT a right. You want to drive? Then PAY for that privilege!! And whilst about it obey the law too!! It's the law for a reason...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Ronnie Beck

And your reasoning for this nonsense is?

Driving is a privilege, NOT a right. You want to drive? Then PAY for that privilege!! And whilst about it obey the law too!! It's the law for a reason...

Yes you r right because I said make all apects of driving petrol tax etc. free for everyone.

I really feel we get very little in return for the massive cost(taxes) of running a car in this country. I would personally feel safer on the roads if everyone was giving equal access to driving lessons and it wasn't just reserved for the privledged. Kids should be thought how to drive and maintain a car in school. Nonsense, not from my point of view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Tallon wrote: »

Cop on ffs!

When I was learning to drive, I'd drive to my Saturday job with my L-Plates up and my dad in the passenger seat. When I got to work he'd take the L-Plates off and drive home. For the way home he'd drive in, put the L-Plates up and I'd drive home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Usual Bank Holiday Garda propaganda campaign. Yawn!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Benster

NIMAN wrote: »

Yep, totally agree. I learned back home too and the attitude of the cops then and now was to not feck around. The attitude here of surprise and disbelief at being forced to comply with road traffic law amuses me sometimes, but I can see where it comes from: the gards have traditionally been seen as soft on enforcement, therefore sticking to the law is seen as optional, even a sign of weakness in some circles.
    Let them start issuing spot-fines and impounding vehicles, then the message will get through quick enough.

ardmacha wrote: »

Oh god. You just used the Run To Da Hills trigger words.
    Luca Brasi wrote: »

Extra points for using that crap line in a thread that's not NCT related. Well done.

Double post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

When my parents were away I drove unaccompanied all the time, with my L's up. Stopped once. Asked how I was, told to keep going.

Let's see if this targetting of learners will cut down on the carnage this weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

The Gards are actually going to clamp down on unaccompanied learners this weekend? Have I got this right??

Yeah right!!:rolleyes:

I know :rolleyes: Unaccompanied drivers are not the ones causing pile ups on motorways or wrapping their cars around trees at 3am on random country roads because they're out of their minds with drink or speeding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭BanzaiBk

Last night, 11pm onwards, I drove between Frankfield, Ballyphehane, Glanmire and Carrigaline (Cork) and encountered three separate checkpoints :eek: Only one MAT checkpoint, the other two were the usual tax/insurance/nct jobbies. I was only asked for my license at the MAT checkpoint though. An L driver travelling alone ahead of me at a regular checkpoint in Carrigaline was waved through.

Been driving all over Cork today. Went to Mayfield, Barrack St, Ballyvolane, Gurranabraher and back to Mayfield. Guess what?

Never saw a single Gard, and plenty of apparent 'L' drivers driving alone. Now THERE'S a surprise!!! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭AugustusMinimus

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    When my parents were away I drove unaccompanied all the time, with my L's up. Stopped once. Asked how I was, told to keep going.

Let's see if this targetting of learners will cut down on the carnage this weekend.

Carnage. A bit OTT don't you think ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭Hal Decks

OldNotWIse wrote: »

I know :rolleyes: Unaccompanied drivers are not the ones causing pile ups on motorways or wrapping their cars around trees at 3am on random country roads because they're out of their minds with drink or speeding.

1. When was the last motorway "pileup"?

2. Who was the accompanied driver responsible?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,109 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

Given that they mention "Winter ready" I hope they will make an effort to stop idiots in cars driving around with their lights not in proper working order or their fog lights on when there is no fog. How hard is to under what your lights are for when they have names??

What and remove all the fun of engaging in the national pastime of trying to figure out exactly what is in front of you, or coming at you? With the state of the economy we have little enough entertainment as it is......