Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looking to buy a used VW Golf,budget €5500-€6000

• 26-10-2012 3:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39

First time poster in the Motors forum.As the thread title suggests, I'm looking to buy a used VW Golf ,preferably a 04-07 1.6 model with relatively low mileage.My budget is €5500 - €6000.I have a 97 Peugeot 106 60k miles on the clock to use as part trade-in.

I live in the Kildare area so I've been looking at dealerships in the Kildare and greater Dublin area and surrounding counties but I'm having trouble finding a reputable dealer having heard some horror stories about certain dealerships on this forum that are advertising VW Golfs I'd be interested in buying.

I'm just looking for some advice on what my best options are .Can anyone recommend a good dealership to me?

Thanks.
    Dan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 DAN85

Just posting this as an example of what I had been looking at.

http://www.driving.ie/used-cars/Volkswagen/Golf/1.6-COMFORT/30213458162242450/

Dan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Your old car will be worth nothing to a dealer as a trade in as they normally don't hold cars of that age on their forecourts as there is no profit when you have to offer a warranty on something of that age. If the 106 is in good condition that reflects the low mileage then you should have no problem selling it privately. You can then buy the newer car and negotiate a straight buy ( no trade-in) discount.

Also have you looked at anything other than a Golf? They are not a bad car but they do nothing special considering the high used prices of them. You would probably get better bang for your bucks from something else like a Focus, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,696 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Also looking at trading up in years for a VW Golf (currently have a 01 1.4 petrol).

Anyone know what this 1.6 petrol engine is meant to be like. I know the 1.4 isn't held in high esteem by car fans here, but I never had any bother with it and its now at 131k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

You've been pretty lucky with that 1.4 to get so far without any hiccups. The 1.6 is a better unit no doubt, but most of the trouble that era of Golfs give is on the engine management side, electronic sensors and such which are the same in all of them really.

That 05 one posted above is also well overprice in my book as well, I'd be wanting an A3 at that sort of money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

In reply to the first post, if you want a reputable dealership go to Brady's in Castleknock, but if you're buying secondhand the only thing a dealership will offer you is a €500-€1000 premium on the going rate. Get on donedeal and adverts, look for low-mileage with a service history, and bring someone who knows cars with you to inspect it. Better money in your pocket, and you'd have an A3 easily for the price the dealership will charge for a Golf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭Hal Decks

DAN85 wrote: »
    Just posting this as an example of what I had been looking at.

http://www.driving.ie/used-cars/Volkswagen/Golf/1.6-COMFORT/30213458162242450/

Dan

Early 1.6FSI engines were problematic. Be careful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Billy Davey

2ndcoming wrote: »
    In reply to the first post, if you want a reputable dealership go to Brady's in Castleknock, but if you're buying secondhand the only thing a dealership will offer you is a €500-€1000 premium on the going rate. Get on donedeal and adverts, look for low-mileage with a service history, and bring someone who knows cars with you to inspect it. Better money in your pocket, and you'd have an A3 easily for the price the dealership will charge for a Golf.

This may be slightly off topic, but I'm currently in a similar position to the OP, except that I'm looking at a Focus instead of Golf. Set out in the hope of getting a 05 or 06 mk2 Focus for between €4k-5k, with a low-mid range mileage. After looking around now for a while I'm seeing that I'll probably need to add €1k to my budget to get what I want from a dealer.

You say above that "the only thing a dealership will offer you is a €500-€1000 premium on the going rate". Do you mean this is the best you're going to get off the asking price?

I spoke to one dealer in Ballymount who had a 05 Focus with 42k miles on it for €5.5k. He had no interest in budging on the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,308 ✭✭✭madcabbage

Would you not consider buying from smaller dealers or privately? Just bought a 07 Golf sport for €6500 which I think is alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭spankmemunkey

I would just like to ad that you should take everything that people write on blogs and forums with a pinch of salt, like annicdotal, not to put them down as im about to ad my 2 cents, Ive always went for VW's and i personally wouldnt put a ford on my driveway.

What ever you do watch out for CHIPPED golfs steer clear, Ive had an old golf that i got rid of recently sorry i did as it was a tank and always worked performed for me.

Opinions are like arses everybody has one

You should really go to Vagdrivers.net for info as they are all VW fans on there and they'll steer you in the right direction.

Golfs are premium motors, have a look at a Jetta or something they are cheaper but just as good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,226 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

Golfs are premium motors

get-popcorn.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

6k for a soon to be 8 year old 1.6 petrol hatch with a spartan spec.

Not in a million years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

I would just like to ad that you should take everything that people write on blogs and forums with a pinch of salt, like annicdotal, not to put them down as im about to ad my 2 cents, Ive always went for VW's and i personally wouldnt put a ford on my driveway.

What ever you do watch out for CHIPPED golfs steer clear, Ive had an old golf that i got rid of recently sorry i did as it was a tank and always worked performed for me.

You should really go to Vagdrivers.net for info as they are all VW fans on there and they'll steer you in the right direction.

Golfs are premium motors, have a look at a Jetta or something they are cheaper but just as good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Ron Burgundy II

Would agree. I have had two polos and one golf tdi and all have been great. Golf is 05 and has just passed the 100k mark.
    Why not look around at other VAG makes if you like the golf build. the seat leon has the same chassis as the golf, and more than likely the same spec engine, and more than likely will come with some nice toys.
    vagdrivers.net is good Irish website. Have a look on the uk sites also for info.
    When you have found the right car enquire about the dmf and clutch to see if they have been changed. Unfortunately a know problem to wear quite quickly.

Yeah and also make sure your timing belt and pump have been done. If your buying a car for 5-6 grand and a golf chances are it has miles on it and needs the timing belt and pump done. If i was you id go on Carzone and look at a few VW Garages around your county and compare prices, call a few of them and see what the lowest price they'll do ye, and dont pay the sticker price, I paid 1000 euro less than the advertised price for the car i bought in my local VW, I think your better off going to a main dealer! although im sure some other poster with tell you to stay away from main dealers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

i personally wouldnt put a ford on my driveway.....

.......Golfs are premium motors

LMAO, I see the VW marketing dept has cast its spell nicely.

Car for car, Ford models are better than their VW equivalent, and have been since the launch of the Focus. VW p1ss poor electrics and generally pathetic quality let them down, big-time.

Laughable to see the VW fan boys defending their products, they seem to be the most ardent fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Ron Burgundy II

Hal Decks wrote: »
    Car for car, Ford models are better than their VW equivalent, and have been since the launch of the Focus. VW p1ss poor electrics and generally pathetic quality let them down, big-time.

Laughable to see the VW fan boys defending their products, they seem to be the most ardent fans.

You must be joking. Stop making such ridiculous comments.

When i say a golf is a premium model i mean in the vokswagen range and thats why i had suggested a Jetta. for the name golf alone you will pay a premium.

Never had a problem with Volkswagens and electrics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

Jarren wrote: »
    mullingar wrote: »
    LMAO, I see the VW marketing dept has cast its spell nicely.

I recently bought a 04 ford mondeo after having 3 vag cars. While it was cheaper than a passat of the same year and spec it also feels a lot cheaper. Its not they are so much more reliable than any vw either. They have there own faults too.

Im far from a "vw fan boy" but if i was back a few months i dont think i would pick the ford again

sean1141 wrote: »

I recently bought a 04 ford mondeo after having 3 vag cars. While it was cheaper than a passat of the same year and spec it also feels a lot cheaper. Its not they are so much more reliable than any vw either. They have there own faults too.

Im far from a "vw fan boy" but if i was back a few months i dont think i would pick the ford again

You are talking about a car that's EIGHT years old. You should have researched better. At that age it's all about how the car was maintained through its life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

So the vag cars were older.. They were better than the ford (which has a full service history btw) at the same age so when they were brand new the vag would have been better then also, or are you saying the ford would have been better when new but just aged worse? If so i dont see how that makes it a better car???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭GEasy

From what I've experienced the finish quality in Golfs are better than their counterparts. I do think the Focus is a great car though.

sean1141 wrote: »
    So the vag cars were older.. They were better than the ford (which has a full service history btw) at the same age so when they were brand new the vag would have been better then also, or are you saying the ford would have been better when new but just aged worse? If so i dont see how that makes it a better car???

It's hardly black and white now is it ?

There is no better, only what's best for the person buying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Albedo0.39

NIMAN wrote: »
    Also looking at trading up in years for a VW Golf (currently have a 01 1.4 petrol).

Anyone know what this 1.6 petrol engine is meant to be like. I know the 1.4 isn't held in high esteem by car fans here, but I never had any bother with it and its now at 131k.

The 1.6 fsi was quite under powered. OK for round town but don't try overtaking on long journeys unless you've a long stretch ahead. You'll get over 40 mpg motorway driving though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,696 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Albedo0.39 wrote: »
    The 1.6 fsi was quite under powered. OK for round town but don't try overtaking on long journeys unless you've a long stretch ahead. You'll get over 40 mpg motorway driving though

As someone who has driven the 1.4 I know all about having no power!;)

Wouldn't pull the skin off a rice pudding.

NIMAN wrote: »
    As someone who has driven the 1.4 I know all about having no power!;)

Wouldn't pull the skin off a rice pudding.

My 1.4 Octavia was a feckin beast, it's outside giving my Focus the evil eye as we speak :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Bobo78

Albedo0.39 wrote: »

I m sorry but I just cant believe that a 1.6 fsi in Golf would be underpowered in fact it should be quite nippy and powerful unless there was something wrong with it.

And I drive a Passat with ordinary 1.6 petrol engine not FSI and I dont find my Passat underpowered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

1.6 FSi had 115bhp, it was fine in a car the size of a Golf, not so in the bigger and heavier Passat. That engine was troublesome though and short lived. VW replaced it with the 1.4 TSi engines which were more powerful and fuel efficent.

One thing i can tell you about all new cars is that they arent built to last, There is more an emphasis on saving money and building cars for cheaper and that has to have a knock on, The parts can be so flimsy and im not keen on the idea of all these extra electrics, especially the car stopping for you or reversing like on the ford, once these start having glitches 4 or 5 years down the line people wont be happy, the less electrics the less to go wrong!

I had a 1995 golf not so long ago and it was well looked after and maintained 1.4 abd engine which was a good engine continued on from the mk2 sorry i let it go fairly bullet proof and once it was maintained well it was grand.