Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Channel 4 Team for Horse Racing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

I like Mick, he has some great knowledge, like Francome he will point you to the outsiders who would have a good chance, possibles big price winners the rest of us might miss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭bellybuster12

In general i'm happy enough with it. Although Rishi Persad could have been left out also.

I'll gladly put up with commercial breaks if i don't have to watch Parrot and that other tosser, that McCririck and the greatest little wart of them all Carson.

In general i'm happy enough with it. Although Rishi Persad could have been left out also.

I'll gladly put up with commercial breaks if i don't have to watch Parrot and that other tosser, that McCririck and the greatest little wart of them all Carson.

While you use the term little wart loosely, he is supposed to be some what of a stallion,

he is just excitable, he is the guy who rode many many winners, allow him his place in the world he was part of for so long, it is not easy to walk away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Rishi is terrible.

I seem to be almost alone in thinking Balding is awful

Have never bought RacingUK but very tempted for this years NH season

While you use the term little wart loosely, he is supposed to be some what of a stallion,

he is just excitable, he is the guy who rode many many winners, allow him his place in the world he was part of for so long, it is not easy to walk away.

What has that to do with anything? I know he has but we are talking about presenting which he is dier at and comes across as a total fruit cake.

Nothing wrong with him been in the the horse racing world but not talking the crazies he has been doing in front of the camera.

And he is not walking away, he is simply not wanted in this capacity.

Rishi is terrible.

I fully understand the Balding dislike, but she has a super knowledge of the game, breeding etc. I'm happy enough she is there just for those reasons.

What has that to do with anything? I know he has but we are talking about presenting which he is dier at and comes across as a total fruit cake.

Nothing wrong with him been in the the horse racing world but not talking the crazies he has been doing in front of the camera.

And he is not walking away, he is simply not wanted in this capacity.

Well in talking on TV nothing, but his knowledge is massive, how many winners have you rode lately, every diamond needs to be shaped, if he died tomorrow, nobody would be talking about how he was on BBC or C4 (if it happened), but they would look back at his TV presentations, just because it was him,

he is a living legend, just enjoy.

Well in talking on TV nothing, but his knowledge is massive, how many winners have you rode lately, every diamond needs to be shaped, if he died tomorrow, nobody would be talking about how he was on BBC or C4 (if it happened), but they would look back at his TV presentations, just because it was him,

The rest of your post is lol as it has nothing to do with presenting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

There's no doubting that Willie Carson was a superb jockey but he was awful on the BBC. On Saturday, he said Fame And Glory doesn't get 2 miles, which is patent nonsense. Carson seems to have forgotten that F&G won an Ascot Gold Cup over two and a half, and he also won the corresponding 2 miler at Ascot at last year's Champions' Day meeting, making most of the running. For whatever reason, F&G doesn't seem to be finishing his races this season (his weakness in the betting market said it all last Saturday) but for Carson to simply state "he doesn't get 2 miles" pretty much sums up his bumbling nature when there's a microphone in front of him.

The rest of your post is lol as it has nothing to do with presenting.

True, when I read it I loled and cried at the same time, but I know what I was talking about in my head,

dont ever ask entrance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Rishi is terrible.

Oh you're not.

I'd love it but 25 a month for one channel is extortionate.
    If it was 10 I'd get it without even thinking about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭jossnjuice

http://www.independent.ie/lifestyle/independent-woman/celebrity-news-gossip/john-mccririck-blames-ageism-as-he-is-sacked-from-channel-4-racing-team-3273837.html

McCririck i can live with. But without alastair Down i have a feeling that the intro / preview / review of cheltenham action will be a slight let down. also, havent yet heard if Francs is staying on, which id highly be in favour of.

as for parrot and carson, good riddance.

mdwexford wrote: »

Oh you're not.

Yeah if it was 10-15 I'd get it this instant

Mick Fitz is awful too. He put Last Instalment in his horses to follow on ATR saying the decision to side step Cheltenham could be beneficial long term. Obviously didn't know the horse was injured (Mark Howard is the horses biggest fan but was very skeptical on his diary about his chances of coming back after such an injury)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭jossnjuice

Mick Fitz on Cheltenham previews all over the place in his annoyingly half squeaky / half croaky voice

"ill think ill have to go with the favourite here".

thanks for the sublime tipping mick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,866 ✭✭✭Panrich

mdwexford wrote: »
    Oh you're not.

Not to mention that all their goodies and giveaways (free entry and stable days) are all in the Uk meaning it's a bit rich to expect us to pay the same.

jossnjuice wrote: »
    Mick Fitz on Cheltenham previews all over the place in his annoyingly half squeaky / half croaky voice

"ill think ill have to go with the favourite here".

thanks for the sublime tipping mick.

I can't believe they're getting rid of Francome and replacing him with Mick Fitz. Nothing against Fitzgerald but Francome is always entertaining to listen to. Disappointed they're getting rid of Alastair Down as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

Losing Francome and Downs is a serious mistake by C4. McCririck was always irritating but glad he's gone as it will give Tanya the chance to really shine without him mumbling on beside and insulting her. Rishi Persad is shockingly bad and how they gave a job to Jim McGrath is beyond me. Bad move by Channel 4 the more i look at it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

The festival really wont be the same.

I hate change regarding things I love.

The thoughts of that Balding mongrel getting to talk about the Gold Cup and Champion Chase makes me want to cry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Matt Chapman has been whining on facebook all week about not being chosen. (Posts deleted now I think). Like above, the thought of listening to Claire Balding makes me sick. I'm actually considering going to the whole festival instead of the 2 days I planned so I won't have to listen to her warp on about the 'unbeatable unbelievable surreal fantastic big bucks' and interviewing some 10 year old 4th cousin of Nicholls when they should have Francome and Ted Walsh talking about the tactics in the race.

I remember the Monday after the Grand National and the people in work who watch racing once a year saying how BBCs coverage was great. That's what this will become, an entertainment show for dummies and shiite for regulars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭barney4001

good riddence to mccrick an arsehole if ever there was one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

barney4001 wrote: »
    it that you curley? :D

don't understand what anyone sees in persad myself

balding im not bothered about either way
    suprised tanya wasnt given the boot myself, just cant listen to her
    plunkett just about bearable

delighted to see fat al gone too
    cant even remember sam thomas being on tv

not bothered about mcririck
    tommo sickens me, glad he's gone

I like cunningham, very knowledgeable and likeable
    fitz isn't bad imo but might not be ready for this just yet

totally unsure how id feel about chapman being part of it, might
    be a good thing with his enthusiasm for the sport or maybe not but
    I think either leaving cririck or replacing him with chapman would have
    been a good move

The one exclusion that surprised me the most most was cattermole
    I like the guy and think he's very polished and professonal in front
    of the camera
    that surprised me more than anything
    nick luck a class act, goes without saying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Shite that's all, CH4 racing was fine the way it was. Now we have that idiot balding to listen to it'll just be the same as BBC.

And getting rid of alistair down and cattermole? Fuck off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Rishi - I don't have a problem with him. Enthusiastic and light hearted.
    Francome - Gas sometimes esp on ML, he's pretty good
    Mick Fitz - bad for tv although he seems like a decent guy
    Balding - Bearable but a bit in your face and annoying
    Carson - Less said the better
    McCririck - Painful to watch
    Down - Tosser
    Tanya - I like her, bit awkward but think she'll be better without McC
    Luck - Snooty but a good presenter and poses good questions
    McGrath - Not a fan
    Cunningham - Over dramatic and wordy.
    Cattermole - Piss off
    Spencer - Eye candy at the best of times,
    Plunkett - Like McC calls her, a minx
    Tommo - Have to say he's good with the crowd but can't stand him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭klairondavis

What happened to Norman Williamson? He was very good on BBC's national hunt coverage for a few years. He was streets ahead of Dunwoody and Fitzy who were on instead of him recently.

Channel 4 won't be the same without Thomson, McCririck and Francome. Thomson could be irritating but I'd take him any day over Balding. He was at Channel 4 so long that he was just part of the furniture. I wouldn't always agree with either McCririck or Francome but they were always entertaining and at least they brought differing views to the coverage.

It appears that Channel 4 want to go down the BBC road of dumbing down their coverage and appealing to the casual racing fan. The trouble is that the casual racing fan doesn't really exist and they will only alienate the hardcore who make up the vast majority of their viewership.

i'll miss francome but i think he was leaving anyway

the best thing about this entire thing is the fact that hopefully
    i'll never see willie carson on tv again

never thought of williamson either, he was good

what are peoples views on chapman?
    i cant decide whether having him there would have been a good
    thing or bad thing
    sometimes i like him sometimes i cant listen to him
    i like him in the studio but i cant stand him when hes on course, too
    much arselicking at times on course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 pointerman

I would actually rather the bbc keeping their racing scheldule just to keep balding and the rest of the bunch and let them rant over the bloody queens horses than to ruin the holy grail that is channel 4 racing team. can you imagine the festival without walsh and francome. Bloody hell this has f****** ruined my year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Nulty, sorry for stealing your list for my rant.

Rishi: I don't think he knows much
    Francome: very astute, not afraid to tip big odds based on paddock viewing
    Mick Fitzgerald: doesn't impress but I think he is growing into it and will be better
    Balding: rode 66/1 shot Don't Cry at Newcastle 20 years ago carrying ~7-3 :eek:. I backed it e/w. She makes it the Claire Balding show. Get out of the way.
    Carson: A bit irreverent and was a good foil. Sorry to see him go.
    McCririck: I'm 62. He is 72. Time to go and let Tanya have some space.
    Down: Just a character.
    Tanya: Overshadowed by McCririck. Can she operate on her own?
    Luck: Can hold a show together and ask everyone to contribute.
    McGrath: I think you need his betting insights/opinions.
    Cunningham: No opinion
    Cattermole: A good presenter, but doesn't shine at anything.
    Spencer: Ok for interviewing but again doesn't have a speciality
    Plunkett: Pleasant but no depth
    Tommo: Again doesn't have many opinions or insight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Mick Fitz - I fancy the Nicky Henderson horse here :rolleyes: He also seems to constantly finish his sentence with a raising of the tone of his voice which really irritates me.

Claire Balding I can't stand, completely ruined the last two Epsom Derby days with her fawning over the Queen and Carlton House and then her constant drivel regarding Bonfire last June.

Rishi is a joke but if it keeps him off RUK then I'm all for him on Ch4. Him and Mike Cattermole will work well together, both of them are clueless and could become the best comedy duo since Canon & Ball :P

Alistair Down, where do I start with him, same drivel at the start of every Cheltenham festival, "equine galdiators, amphitheatre, backdrop of Cleeve Hill", it's the same thing everytime! Telling Fallon to get out of the sport when he was banned for drugs yet Al himself has more demons than hell itself. People in glass houses. Plus Fallon has added something to the great sport, Al has just creamed a living by riding on the racing gravy train, licking the arse of any trainer who spread their cheeks for him.

All in all the racing coverage on terrestial TV is shocking, it sometimes doesn't get much better on the specialised channels imo (Bob Cooper :rolleyes:, Graham Cunningham, Old Melted Wellie Faced Hislop) but there are some very good ones such as Nick Luck, Steve Mellish, Gary O'Brien and Matt Chapman so it's ATR & RUK for me!

barney4001 wrote: »
    mailburner wrote: »
    it that you curley? :D

Interview my arse!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭klairondavis

kfallon wrote: »
    All in all the racing coverage on terrestial TV is shocking, it sometimes doesn't get much better on the specialised channels imo (Bob Cooper :rolleyes:, Graham Cunningham, Old Melted Wellie Faced Hislop) but there are some very good ones such as Nick Luck, Steve Mellish, Gary O'Brien and Matt Chapman so it's ATR & RUK for me!

Bob Cooper is absolutely unbearable. The man has not got a clue. He's more irritating than Luke Harvey and that is saying something.

The only thing I will say about McCririck is he was the sole voice in racing's media consistently high lighting sharp practise by bookmakers & some of the disgraceful antics of those framing the on course markets & SPs

What about his views on the whip, turned his back on the sport that gave him a living cos he knew he'd get a lot of media attention. Guy is a parasite on the sport, Curley was right, a complete take out merchant. A xenephobe to boot too!

I'm not a fan of McCririck

Simply said he is the only one, and I mean only one, who highlights punters concerns

Claire Balding I can't stand, completely ruined the last two Epsom Derby days with her fawning over the Queen and Carlton House and then her constant drivel regarding Bonfire last June.

Agreed it was painful to watch, but to be fair she doesn't produce the show, I'd be pretty sure the BBC dictated the tone of the broadcast and she did her job. I think she'll be fine at Ch4 as long as the producers keep it as a proper racing show - that's up to them.

I'm going to admit I like Tommo, shame he is going.

Agreed it was painful to watch, but to be fair she doesn't produce the show, I'd be pretty sure the BBC dictated the tone of the broadcast and she did her job. I think she'll be fine at Ch4 as long as the producers keep it as a proper racing show - that's up to them.

And of course we had the Liam Treadwell incident too :rolleyes:

I see she has a book out now, basically claiming they hadn't a pot to piss in when she was younger despite the fact her ould fella trained horses for The Queen amongst others. Didn't she go to Cambridge too.....dragged up indeed :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

That Richi has shown a nasty side when doing paddock walks with Willie Carson IMO.

Yes, we all know Willie is a figure of fun nowadays and is sure to get himself mixed up or get something totally wrong. Richi was waiting for these errors and very keen to go straight in with the mock indignation/ ridicule.

I never liked Willie myself, but the fact remains he has forgotten more about racing than Richi will ever know and deserved more than to be mocked like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭Baggio1

bring back osullivan, ggoode and good ol rauli gilbert i say :D

i like alister down, he maybe a character but he DOES have some good perspective from past and present, mccririck?.. sometimes adds fun other times annoys, thomo? big anoying dope but his hearts in the right place.

chapman?? i think he's good,, but the booth just suits his style,, he'd not be good in an open aired cheltenham type scenario i my opinion.

balding and co?.. ughh they luuuv talkin to racing fans like we're little babies and hate to question the system or go against current trendy stuff,, ugh they can be irritating......

if i hear either of those clowns splurting out the "kauto better than arkle" line just coz kauto (a fine horse indeed!) has retired - ill kick the TV to pieces.. irritating eegits

Baggio1 wrote: »
    bring back osullivan, ggoode and good ol rauli gilbert i say :D

It might be difficult bringing back Raleigh Gilbert. He's been dead for a long time ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

It might be difficult bringing back Raleigh Gilbert. He's been dead for a long time ;)

OK, they might be able to get John Penny then