Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

best place for airsoft

• 23-10-2012 9:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭

Hi i wana keep it simple where is ur fav place to go Airsoft. i wana ask who has been to all around and know what they like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭Kashkai

I've been to Redhills in Kildare, Fingal Airsoft in Stamullen and Redbarn in north Dublin. Redbarn is by far my favourite. Good marshalling and great players on a nice big site with woods, open fields and cqb in the buildings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Bulin

I've been to Redhills in Kildare, Fingal Airsoft in Stamullen and Redbarn in north Dublin. Redbarn is by far my favourite. Good marshalling and great players on a nice big site with woods, open fields and cqb in the buildings.

do u find that the money itself for membership is worth it and how????

Membership for the year is just a tenner. That allows you to take part in the themed events like the upcoming WW2 Yanks v German full day milsim.

My advice is to try out a few sites to see which one you like.

Membership for the year is just a tenner. That allows you to take part in the themed events like the upcoming WW2 Yanks v German full day milsim.

My advice is to try out a few sites to see which one you like.
    seem to me right now the issue i am having is red barn u need boots and so do most cant understand why boots are a rule of places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,440 ✭✭✭✭thermo

Bulin wrote: »
    seem to me right now the issue i am having is red barn u need boots and so do most cant understand why boots are a rule of places.

they prevent sprained ankles or other similar injuries in the event that you may trip or fall over, for this reason some sites consider them PPE just like eyewear.

thermo wrote: »
    they prevent sprained ankles or other similar injuries in the event that you may trip or fall over, for this reason some sites consider them PPE just like eyewear.

its mad but like what happened to the days where u enter at own risks. but see i like runners more then boots because u cannot run in them

. but see i like runners more then boots because u cannot run in them
    get the right boots with a proper fit and you can run just fine in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

its mad but like what happened to the days where u enter at own risks. but see i like runners more then boots because u cannot run in them

The right boots let you run, and not too dear either.

Any site that allows people on in runners has seen injuries. The difference with the Barn is they actually give a toss about people getting injured so require you to do so.

Look it's simple, you want to play on a site, you play by their rules. They don't want insurance claims from people who trip over a tree root and get a sprain or worse.

Anyway, airsoft is supposed to be a Milsim and you don't see soldiers going into battle wearing Nikes:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

... you don't see soldiers going into battle wearing Nikes:D

Not disagreeing with your general sentiment, but on an aside note you might not want to go looking for photos of the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan whilst eating your cornflakes in front of the computer :p

Lemming wrote: »
    Not disagreeing with your general sentiment, but on an aside note you might not want to go looking for photos of the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan whilst eating your cornflakes in front of the computer :p
    feels like airsoft is based on call of duty in some pleaces and modern war fare in others but i wana be a scanger with mmy tracky running around killing midgets lols

Most of us don't take ourselves too seriously but boots are worn to avoid sprains, bdu's help take the sting out of a bb hit and likewise with a helmet or cap. I don't think most stes would let you wear a track suit and runners. Unless they're running a modern day middle east Iraqi insurgents v US army scenario. Then you'd probably be welcome in your trackky and runners:D

yea seebestpart of it its not the game i want do know about where to go its the field i can run around like mad in a field which id love to know what site is best for me

I think if you just ran around your garden it'd be grand. You seem pretty excited about running around so I'd say head on outside and give it a lash like, let us know how you get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Careful now Dave.

gerrowadat wrote: »
    I think if you just ran around your garden it'd be grand. You seem pretty excited about running around so I'd say head on outside and give it a lash like, let us know how you get on.

garden give me u go urs i live in folats so thats not gona happen. also the fact is what i looking for is a plcae where u can keep fit with the sport.that is all

Steve wrote: »
    Careful now Dave.

S'alright, I have my safety nikes on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭Decoy

Stay on topic please lads :)

yea please the whole idea of me asking is the fact,
    Of where is the number one best airsoft place around Ireland for out doors for skill and fun

yea please the whole idea of me asking is the fact,
    Of where is the number one best airsoft place around Ireland for out doors for skill and fun

there is no number one mate, as what is perfect for one person may not suit you. you are best of going out and trying out as many sites as you can, several times each and deciding for yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭Inari

Gotta agree with Thermo.

No one site is the best at everything, though there are many whom kick the crap out of the others in a myriad of areas...but quality is a weighted word, and it depends on how you stack the criteria. What you or I deem as 'good' can be two completely different things, and so my opinion on sites carries very little worth.

Best bet is to get yourself out there, try it out and see for yourself. I would advocate giving each site the benefit of the doubt and playing more than once, as you can be lucky/unlucky on a particular day so to get a true picture playing there a couple of times is ideal.

<snip> Trolling, you were warned. Banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

As Inari & Thermo have said, the best place to play airsoft is the one (doesn't have to be a single "one" either ... ) where you come away at the end of they day thinking "I've had fun today, in good company".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

gerrowadat wrote: »
    <snip> Trolling, you were warned. Banned.
    <Snip>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭Dogwatch

<Snip>

1 Month ban for trolling.

The OP's question has been answered, no need for this thread to live any longer. :)