Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Checkpoint advice

• 22-10-2012 4:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭

I need some advice on a checkpoint question. Recently, I game to a Garda checkpoint. I slowed down to near crawling speed as I usually do in these situations, but the Garda just continued to motion me forward pretty vigorously, and did'nt make a signal for me to stop. So I kept on going.
    As I was driving away though, I thought for a moment I saw him signal something in my rear mirror, maybe like he belatedly decided he wanted me to stop, but I wasn't too sure. There was another Guard ahead on my left, but he did'nt signal anything at all as I drove past. So I guessed it was probably ok to go on.
    But now I'm wondering if I should have stopped just to be sure.
    Just a little worried I could end up getting a summons for this:( You never know.

Anyone got any advice? Or has anyone else been in this situation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Don't worry about it. If they had wanted you to stop you'd know about it.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Don't worry about it, if they wanted you they would have gone after you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Awful echo in here :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I'm in fits laughing at those replies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Don't stop about it, if they known would have about it you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Colonel Kurtz

awec wrote: »
    If they wanted you to stop you'd have known. Don't worry about it.

Thanks for all the quick replies!
    So I take it you mean he would have followed me out the road, right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 866 ✭✭✭renofan

Yup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

I need some advice on a checkpoint question. Recently, I game to a Garda checkpoint. I slowed down to near crawling speed as I usually do in these situations, but the Garda just continued to motion me forward pretty vigorously, and did'nt make a signal for me to stop. So I kept on going.
    As I was driving away though, I thought for a moment I saw him signal something in my rear mirror, maybe like he belatedly decided he wanted me to stop, but I wasn't too sure. There was another Guard ahead on my left, but he did'nt signal anything at all as I drove past. So I guessed it was probably ok to go on.
    But now I'm wondering if I should have stopped just to be sure.
    Just a little worried I could end up getting a summons for this:( You never know.

Anyone got any advice? Or has anyone else been in this situation?
    Bless your little cotton socks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭mal1

Right, If they wanted you to stop you'd have known. Don't worry about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Don't worry about it. If they had wanted you to stop you'd know about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Don't worry, if they had wanted you to stop we'd tell you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,904 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Probably hasn't been mentioned here before but.......

If they'd wanted you to stop you'd have known...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

Don't worry about it. If they wanted you to stop, you'd be in the slammer now.

/M

Tallon wrote: »
    Bless your little cotton socks

I know, maybe I'm a bit paranoid here! Thing, is, and I only realised this when I pulled into my drive a couple minutes later, I was'nt actually wearing my seatbelt! And then I wondered if he only saw that as I passed through, and then signalled me after.

Would hate to end up with a summons for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

Don't stop about it. If you had wanted it to worry they'd know about you.

I know, maybe I'm a bit paranoid here! Thing, is, and I only realised this when I pulled into my drive a couple minutes later, I was'nt actually wearing my seatbelt! And then I wondered if he only saw that as I passed through, and then signalled me after.

Would hate to end up with a summons for that.

You are very lucky then that you weren't stopped!

Why on Earth were you not wearing it?

You are very lucky then that you weren't stopped!

Why on Earth were you not wearing it?

I know, pretty dumb of me: Was just one of those days I had a million and one things on my mind....but sure that's no excuse.

Excuse me for being rude, but that is ridiculous!

I always belt up no matter how many things I have to do, there's no excuse here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭knifey_spoonie

S'ils l'avaient voulu vous arrêter, vous savez à ce sujet

Excuse me for being rude, but that is ridiculous!

I always belt up no matter how many things I have to do, there's no excuse here.

I hear you. No arguments on that.

Any chance they would just take the car reg and send a summons?
    Or would they definitely have followed after me if they were pursuing this further?

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

The Gardai probably have your car, laptop phone, clothes and house all bugged atthis stage and are listening to your every move and recording all the data.
    Usually when people go through check points without stopping and get away with it, it means they are trying to get away because they are transporting 100's of KG of Craic Cocaine and Heroin. Gardai listening for everything to see where you got the drugs from and where your next transportation are.

I hear you. No arguments on that.

Any chance they would just take the car reg and send a summons?
    Or would they definitely have followed after me if they were pursuing this further?
    I'm being totally honest here, if you really feel that worried about it, go to your local station, explain what happened, and ask then to run your reg

If anything, it will put your mind at rest, and give the lads in the station a good laugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭The Dagda

You're f***ed.

I've picked up from this forum, that to get to the real point of a post, you need to ignore what's posted and speculate wildly.

Admit it, you were drunk and speeding, that's the real reason you didn't stop. Isn't it? INSN'T IT?!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭cyrusdvirus

in before "if they wanted to stop you, you'd know about it"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

in before "if they wanted to stop you, you'd know about it"

you're not, but don't worry about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

This is how they would've stopped you if they really wanted

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qu4JZ4_Nxl4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Just out of interest - is there any official sign or hand signal by which gard is meant to show to the driver he is stopping him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭The Dagda

CiniO wrote: »
    Just out of interest - is there any official sign or hand signal by which gard is meant to show to the driver he is stopping him?

Garda draws his/her index finger across his/her neck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭cyrusdvirus

Wossack wrote: »

you're not, but don't worry about it

Sorry. I was held up from posting cos there were 2 Guards giving out about some dude who ignored them and wasn't wearing his seatbelt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Invisible basketball is slow down, but if they want you to stop, you'll know about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

http://www.rotr.ie/accidents-gardai-and-penalties/assisting-gardai/signals.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

I think you should have stopped, ran back, got in their face and shouted "What do you want you fat fcker". Then you would have known if they wanted you or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Reg'stoy

The Dagda wrote: »
    You're f***ed.

I've picked up from this forum, that to get to the real point of a post, you need to ignore what's posted and speculate wildly.

Admit it, you were drunk and speeding, that's the real reason you didn't stop. Isn't it? INSN'T IT?!!

salt-vinegar.JPG

Some condiments Sir for that rather large french fry!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Michael Weston

Funny Funny thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

When coming upon a Garda checkpoint I always pull down the window before slowing down.
    This way if they really want to stop me the shock tactic of smashing your window dosent work.
    I always have my particulars in order; even my seatbelt so I never need to worry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

If they had wanted you to know about it, you'd stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

When coming upon a Garda checkpoint I always pull down the window before slowing down.
    This way if they really want to stop me the shock tactic of smashing your window dosent work.
    I always have my particulars in order; even my seatbelt so I never need to worry.

Bet you even have a nice red apple just in case, Oh yes Guard, No Guard. You uniform looks really nice Guard... Teachers pet...:D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

You are so genuinely concerned OP i want to give you a hug, like this :)

please-dont-leave-me-aspx.jpg#dont%20leave%20me%21

Ta very much:)

And thanks for all the advice......some of it more useful than others:p
    Well if nothing else, guess I've given you a good giggle!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭triple-M

Dno't wrory abuot it. If tehy had wntaed you to sotp yuo'd konw auobt it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,624 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Couldn't resist posting this when I saw the thread title, enjoy....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭dukedalton

Ta very much:)

And thanks for all the advice......some of it more useful than others:p
    Well if nothing else, guess I've given you a good giggle!

I think I'll be able to offer the most valuable piece of advice of all:

Wear your seat-belt. It's there for a reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

did anyone mention High Horses or Hitler yet?

anyway,don't worry about it. If they wanted you to stop, they have shot out your tyres

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

So OP how did the dawn raid go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

He's hardly gonna reply now, surely in custody

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

He's hardly gonna reply now, surely in custody

But I thought after the Celtic tiger years Ireland has wifi everywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

dnt wry bout it, if day wntd u 2 stp ud no bout it.

-Sent from my Nokia 5110