Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Take back halloween

• 22-10-2012 3:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭

Originally a celtic festival of the harvest and the dead and then co-opted by the church as all hallows eve and all souls day. But now it has been hijacked and become a hollow americanized skanger fest where now attacking fireman has replaced bobbing for apples and such.

I think it's time halloween went back to its roots something like the mexican Día de los Muertos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

I don't attack firemen instead of bobbing for apples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Some people might bob for firemen......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

They've a big festival in Derry and it's supposed to be great craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Sure ye cant even build a bonfire these days without someone complaining. There's no hope!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Originally a celtic festival of the harvest and the dead and then co-opted by the church as all hallows eve and all souls day. But now it has been hijacked and become a hollow americanized skanger fest where now attacking fireman has replaced bobbing for apples and such.

I think it's time halloween went back to its roots something like the mexican Día de los Muertos.

Don't forget the classy, scantily clad ladies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Back in my day trick or treat ment something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

[Controversial]

Irish are not Celts.

[/Controversial]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

MadsL wrote: »
    [Controversial]

Irish are not Celts.

[/Controversial]

What are we?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I bob for bangers and set fire to apples and throw them at sexy skeletons.

Which I think we'll all agree is the true spirit of Easter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I refuse to try and take down the one holiday every year that allows women to dress like complete sluts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

smash wrote: »
    I refuse to try and take down the one holiday every year that allows women to dress like complete sluts!

you just a twilight fetish. Don't lie!

What are we?

Current theory is that the first Irish settlers came by boat to Ireland, which was settled much later than Britain, which was connected by land to the continent. They did not come from Scotland, but from Basque country.

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/analysis/dna-blueprint-of-the-irish-revealed-2333700.html

you just a twilight fetish. Don't lie!
    Whoever thought of sparkly vampires needs to die!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Bobbing for apples was one of the most retarded things I knew about and did in my childhood. I'll take a drunk blonde half naked nurse over that sh*t any day...

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

TheComeUp wrote: »
    Bobbing for apples was one of the most retarded things I knew about and did in my childhood. I'll take a drunk blonde half naked nurse over that sh*t any day...

Coppers.

Um, maybe I should rethink my costume <.< >.>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

Hard to take this seriously when it's written in English.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Um, maybe I should rethink my costume <.< >.>

I hope you weren't planning on going as an apple?! Unless it's a pink lady...I likey

Well she's no Granny Smith, that's for sure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭purplepanda

[Controversial]

Irish are not Celts.

[/Controversial]

Speak for yourself, I'm descended from a Belgic tribe as attested by a native Irish family surname :pac:

smash wrote: »
    Well she's no Granny Smith, that's for sure!

Golden delicious obviously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

What are we?

...loopers...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 558 ✭✭✭OurLadyofKnock

What are we?

Gaels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

I like that. I shall salute my fallen comrades before trying to pull a scantily-clad nurse or nymph or whatever

Gaels.

Not according to DNA evidence.

More like cousins to the Basque peoples.

Speak for yourself, I'm descended from a Belgic tribe as attested by a native Irish family surname :pac:

Yeah, surnames are as reliable as DNA. Sure.

Go do an ethnicity DNA test and come back to us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭splendid101

I'm a big fan of slutty Halloween costumes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 305 ✭✭Jimminy Mc Fukhead

:rolleyes: A little knowledge is a dangerous thing.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 5,620 ✭✭✭El_Dangeroso

Current theory is that the first Irish settlers came by boat to Ireland, which was settled much later than Britain, which was connected by land to the continent. They did not come from Scotland, but from Basque country.

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/analysis/dna-blueprint-of-the-irish-revealed-2333700.html

Paging Dr. Wibbs to the thread, Dr. Wibbs to the thread please.

:rolleyes: A little knowledge is a dangerous thing.

Enlighten me.

Or will you be quoting a theory postulated by a guy who died in 1953?

Yeah, surnames are as reliable as DNA. Sure.

As both my Grandmothers also have Flemish names it's very unlikely that I don't have any Belgian DNA, just a question of how much & how long ago!

Sorry, thought you were a Bolger :o

Your DNA is required :D

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056760117

I'll send my uncles along :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

Ahem! Did you read the link that you posted? By boat over dry land? Just realise ........ it's Happy Hour down your way :D

"The genetics suggest that, with sea levels low, the Basques simply walked to Ireland, becoming cut off generations later when rising seas created the island we know. Ancient Irish legends say that there were six invasions or migrations from the south many generations before the Celts arrived around 300BC".

Spread wrote: »
    Ahem! Did you read the link that you posted? By boat over dry land? Just realise ........ it's Happy Hour down your way :D

"The genetics suggest that, with sea levels low, the Basques simply walked to Ireland, becoming cut off generations later when rising seas created the island we know. Ancient Irish legends say that there were six invasions or migrations from the south many generations before the Celts arrived around 300BC".

Large Jamesons cheers.

Did spot that inconsistency but well spotted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

Large Jamesons cheers.

Did spot that inconsistency but well spotted.

Salut!

Or if engaging in semantics ........ Topa!