Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can i reduce size of extention after planning permisson received

• 22-10-2012 1:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13

I received planning permission for a large extension to rear of cottage in 2009. it was totalling ground floor 96.4 sq m and 1st floor 50.5 sq m.
    ridge height 10.8 meters.
    Due to my finanancial circumstances changing i 've had to review the plans.
    and we have come up with alternative plans with the new extension looking very similiar to the original and is less space also cheaper to build.
    total 33sq meters . There will be no 1st floor. Ridge height will be about meter less than in the orginal and in line with existing roof. window placement will be same as origional plans. Roofs will be similar plans.
    Do i still have to go for planning permission. I do not intend to sell etc., or do i go ahead and build the new plans.
    anyone that has seen both plans have said I should work away. If need be apply for retention if there is problem. From the road it will look similar to planning drawing except not as high.
    any recommendations.
    https://plus.google.com/photos/107140899539821172033/albums/5802134639980771873

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,433 ✭✭✭sinnerboy

Look at condition no 1 on your planning permission. It will state / use words to the affect that you have permission to build in accordance with the drawings you submitted for permision. Any thing else - you don't have permission for.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,450 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

From what you say, your now/current proposed extension is 33 m.sq. Is it to the rear of the existing house? Has the house been extended previously?

If your now/current proposed extension meets the critera for exempt development, then, yes, you should not need planning permission.

See: http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/2001/en/si/0600.html#sched2 for all critera.

If, however, you cannot build your now/current proposed extension as an exempt development (meeting the criteria set out), then you will need to ammend your current permission, by means of submitting a new planning application/obtaining planning permission (for the smaller extension).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 50 ✭✭seanhalpin

Technically, you need to reapply.

But for a small domestic extension, the good-ol, shure 'twill be grand, nod and wink clause will come into play.

If I were you, i'd work away and just do the retention if a problem comes up. 99% of the time, with small extensions of this type you'll be fine.
    You'd only run into hassle if you really start taking the piss with works that are grossly divergent from the original plans.

Shure the house I live in got permission to be built in the next field down the road but when my father and brother came to start construction they decided "Sure Jaysus, wouldn't it be nicer in the higher field? Ah sure jaysus maybe T'would..... shure 'twill be graaaaand"

And it was grand. Thirty odd years later and not a bother.

Same with my sisters house - changed position of house on site and added a storey to the garage. Twas grand.

As I said, you'll only run into difficulty if you start taking the piss altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 CEOLGRA

ive tried to attach img of both plans. to explain.

extension is to rear. with approx 2.5 mtrs popping out to the side. origionally this was approx 6mtrs

As im within the 5 yrs can i apply for change of use etc.,

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,450 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

seanhalpin wrote: »

But for a small domestic extension, the good-ol, shure 'twill be grand, nod and wink clause will come into play.

If I were you, i'd work away and just do the retention if a problem comes up. 99% of the time, with small extensions of this type you'll be fine.
    You'd only run into hassle if you really start taking the piss with works that are grossly divergent from the original plans.

Shure the house I live in got permission to be built in the next field down the road but when my father and brother came to start construction they decided "Sure Jaysus, wouldn't it be nicer in the higher field? Ah sure jaysus maybe T'would..... shure 'twill be graaaaand"

Same with my sisters house - changed position of house on site and added a storey to the garage. Twas grand.

As I said, you'll only run into difficulty if you start taking the piss altogether.

I presume your tounge was in your cheek when you wrote that!?! :o Otherwise, that's terrible advice! Your basically suggesting OP should go ahead and break the law!

CEOLGRA wrote: »
    ive tried to attach img of both plans. to explain.

extension is to rear. with approx 2.5 mtrs popping out to the side. origionally this was approx 6mtrs

As im within the 5 yrs can i apply for change of use etc.,

Had a look at the plans, and from what I can see, yes, you will need planning permission for your proposed smaller extension (in my opinion, but, also see below).

You could apply for an ammendment to the existing planning permission, i.e. reducing the size of what was granted, but, considering they are so different in terms of area, etc., it may be just simpler to make a new/fresh application for what you want now.

Just to note that ammending the existing planning permission would require the submission of a planning application anyway, so making a brand new application does not or should not involve any more cost.

Some may suggest that your proposed smaller extension might be exempt, even though it is extending to the side of the existing house, it is still (wholly) to the rear of the existing house - some councils can interprit what you can and cannot do as an exempt development slightly differently. You could ask the advice of your local authority or seek further advice on this from your certifier.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 50 ✭✭seanhalpin

DOCARCH wrote: »
    I presume your tounge was in your cheek when you wrote that!?! :o Otherwise, that's terrible advice! Your basically suggesting OP should go ahead and break the law!

sure look, lots of people do it. with small domestic jobs you are unlikely to meet trouble.

if you have problems just go for retention.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,433 ✭✭✭sinnerboy

sure look, lots of people do it.

true
    with small domestic jobs you are unlikely to meet trouble.

false
    if you have problems just go for retention.

never gaurenteed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

...and if you get an absolute bollix retention could be refused and you could be ordered to demolish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭martinn123

So that's two houses you will never be able to sell then, any more nuggets of wisdom.
    Remember..
    Madsl wrote:
    if you get an absolute bollix retention could be refused and you could be ordered to demolish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,550 ✭✭✭✭muffler

3 day ban for seanhalpin for breach of charter.

Im going to leave the (misinformed and misguided) posts there to illustrate why people need to be careful with what they post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,550 ✭✭✭✭muffler

Had a look at the plans, and from what I can see, yes, you will need planning permission for your proposed smaller extension (in my opinion, but, also see below).

You could apply for an ammendment to the existing planning permission, i.e. reducing the size of what was granted, but, considering they are so different in terms of area, etc., it may be just simpler to make a new/fresh application for what you want now.

Just to note that ammending the existing planning permission would require the submission of a planning application anyway, so making a brand new application does not or should not involve any more cost.

Some may suggest that your proposed smaller extension might be exempt, even though it is extending to the side of the existing house, it is still (wholly) to the rear of the existing house - some councils can interprit what you can and cannot do as an exempt development slightly differently. You could ask the advice of your local authority or seek further advice on this from your certifier.
    +1 on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭olympicweights

Definitely not exempt in Limerick, I am a planning consultant/house designer in Limerick and once the rear element is visible from the front (steps outside the line of the sides of exisitng dwelling) you are into a planning scenario. So as has been stated you can go in for a change of design from that granted. If you had to upgrade your septic tank/percolation area you may be able to reduce size of percolation area required if your P.E. (no of people - based on bedrooms) has been reduced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 CEOLGRA

Thanks for all the advice. i think i will have a pre planning meeting with area planner and see what advice they give. show them the original plans and proposed change. and apply for change of design from what was granted.
    it is smaller and has 1 less bedroom. so thanks to olympicweights on advice on septic tank etc.,