Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People are sometimes disgusting.

• 19-10-2012 7:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭

Beautiful unhabited area and one of the most scenic roads in Ireland.
    As what we see? Rubbish.
    Not just regular rubbish but someone must have thrown a big bag full of dirty nappies straight into the middle of the road.

That's the road I drive for every day and amount of rubbish I see there is just horrendous, but this breaks any limits.
    The best view for all the rubbish you can get while cycling. Road stretched for nealy 30km without any building or sign of civilistation, but on the side of the road you can see a piece of rubbish every meter, just hidden in grass. Old lucozade bootle. Someone exhaust. Crisp bag, etc. etc .etc..

I've moved away from all dirt of big city, but unfortunately here it seems to equally bad.
    And it's not done by local people. This is very touristic road. On other local roads which lead only to local houses and farms, there is virtually no rubbish. Just on that one, where thoughsands of tourist travel every weekend.
    Disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭ljpg

it costs 3 quid to dispose of a bag of refuse at a recycling centre,no excuse for this!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

I live in a similar area CiniO and I see the same thing. I wouldnt have stopped though if I wax you in case someone came along and reported you for the offence..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

While playing soldier last Saturday, 7 of us were sitting in a forest just brewing up, eating some food and just chatting when this Passat stops approx 25m away from us on the road. He gets out, walks up and down, opens his boot and throws a bag of crap in our general direction. He got one serious fright when he found out who was looking at him :pac:

Why people do this has me beaten :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

-Corkie- wrote: »
    I live in a similar area CiniO and I see the same thing. I wouldnt have stopped though if I wax you in case someone came along and reported you for the offence..

Good luck to anyone - I have a dashcam recording it wasn't me ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

It's disgusting.

A couple of months ago, I came across a single mattress dumped half in half out of a hedge.

Outside McDonalds/Texaco here, where the "lawds" sit, is constantly a mess of discarded McD's food wrappers. There's a bin behind them.

I really, really don't get it.

But then again, this is a country that has had most small villages stripped of their individuality, and cookie cutter houses and shops inserted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

CiniO wrote: »
    Good luck to anyone - I have a dashcam recording it wasn't me ;)

Never thought of that I have to invest in one...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 866 ✭✭✭renofan

........Outside McDonalds/Texaco here, where the "lawds" sit, is constantly a mess of discarded McD's food wrappers. There's a bin behind them.

I really, really don't get it.

Some people are worse than animals. It makes me wonder if they are like that in public what their houses are like. A friend of mine was sitting in his car across from a shop one day and a group of lads came out and all stood in front of the window eating their crisps/bars etc. As each one finished they just dropped their packaging. Even the fella leaning against the bin. My friend has it all on dashcam/camera and he'd love to send it to a paper.

Around Roscrea where I'm from there is a lot of bog land and people just tip their rubbish in it. And they will keep doing it while they get away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Nice angle of the reek from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

There certainly does not seem to be any sense of civic pride in this country.

I can't really say for sure, but to me since the bin charges were brought in the amount of dumping going on has increased, the amount of on street bins decreased and a lack of education of bringing your litter home.
    A trip across any isolated place will just show the amount of domestic refuse being dumped.

When I notice someone throwing litter about I usually say something along the lines of " I think you dropped something there". Most times they pick it up.

stoneill wrote: »
    There certainly does not seem to be any sense of civic pride in this country.

I can't really say for sure, but to me since the bin charges were brought in the amount of dumping going on has increased, the amount of on street bins decreased and a lack of education of bringing your litter home.
    A trip across any isolated place will just show the amount of domestic refuse being dumped.

When I notice someone throwing litter about I usually say something along the lines of " I think you dropped something there". Most times they pick it up.

Probably the only way to go is to include all bin charges in local/income taxes, so everyone is paying them (in the end we all produce rubbish).
    Then we could make rubbish collection for free, and no one would be dumping house waste into the fields, forests...
    Unfortunately this wouldn't prevent scumbags like that clearing their cars off the rubbish in the middle of nowhere... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭Avns1s

renofan wrote: »
    Some people are worse than animals. It makes me wonder if they are like that in public what their houses are like. A friend of mine was sitting in his car across from a shop one day and a group of lads came out and all stood in front of the window eating their crisps/bars etc. As each one finished they just dropped their packaging. Even the fella leaning against the bin. My friend has it all on dashcam/camera and he'd love to send it to a paper.

Around Roscrea where I'm from there is a lot of bog land and people just tip their rubbish in it. And they will keep doing it while they get away with it.

He should send it to the litter warden in the council. A word in their ear might stop it happening again from the same bunch!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭kindalen

Was in a car in the states, some lad tips load of rubbish out his car window. Yank beside me phones cops straight away, and they caught the dumper.
    We give out here, but for some reason are not willing to phone the guards ourselves.
    We should, myself included.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Probably the only way to go is to include all bin charges in local/income taxes, so everyone is paying them (in the end we all produce rubbish).
    Then we could make rubbish collection for free, and no one would be dumping house waste into the fields, forests...
    Unfortunately this wouldn't prevent scumbags like that clearing their cars off the rubbish in the middle of nowhere... :(

People dumped illegally when we had free bins, I think some people just like making a mess of the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

kindalen wrote: »
    Was in a car in the states, some lad tips load of rubbish out his car window. Yank beside me phones cops straight away, and they caught the dumper.
    We give out here, but for some reason are not willing to phone the guards ourselves.

I reported some illegally dumped domestic waste to South Dublin CC recently.
    It was in a wooded area of a local park, clearly dumped over a back wall of a house. The reply from the litter warden was that he could not see it.
    If the authorities are so apathetic does this lead to a mindset of well feck it, it's a waste of time to report it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

I pulled in to the drive in at McDonald's not too far from where I live and was asked to wait for my order in the parking bay.
    across from me there is a car park full of young guys and girls eating in their cars. and they just toss everything out the window onto the ground. McDonald's have provided lots of bins but no one was using them in fact I suspect they where empty.
    This is a common occurrence and every morning McDonald's staff sweep up half eaten buggers chips and all the rapping and drinks from these idiots... I know where they eat and now from your view I know where they like to go for a drive sooner or latter the bread crumb's (littler trail) must lead to their home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭tippspur

Disgusting people,I hate that sort of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

3 full bags if rubbish dumped on the R347 near me in the last week. Brought visiting yanks to the Burren , near the famous perfumery ....and was mortified at the amount of rubbish we came across.....disgusting ...

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,694 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I have noticed more littering like this locally as well of late.

There are scumbags who throw crap out of cars the odd time, but there definitely seems to be more of it lately. Maybe people can't afford bin tokens?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

kindalen wrote: »

Well said.

I made a point of stopping once to have really good look at some flytipping. Idiot scummer had left his CV on top. Photographed it and reported him with his name dob phone number and address! priceless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Hate dumping/littering, was hammered into me when I was young not to do it.

Was two twenty something girls in Dunnes Stores car park last week, was sitting in my car about 50 metres away from them and saw them loading their big brown bags into the boot. The wind picked up and blew one of the biggest empty bags about 10ft away from the car and they just watched it, no intention of going after it.

They saw me looking at them too, didn't give a toss. I crawled pass their car with the window down, both of them staring at the floor/phones, looking busy. Hate that crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

It's silly really.

I don't have rubbish collection, so I bring my bin bags to the local waste place. Cost me a 5'er for 6 full bin bags the last time I was there. There is no excuse for littering.

/M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭rcdk1

dgt wrote: »
    While playing soldier last Saturday, 7 of us were sitting in a forest just brewing up, eating some food and just chatting when this Passat stops approx 25m away from us on the road. He gets out, walks up and down, opens his boot and throws a bag of crap in our general direction. He got one serious fright when he found out who was looking at him :pac:

Why people do this has me beaten :(
    People who do this should be beaten
    FYP

What did he do when he realised he'd been seen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

any village that has a fastfood outlet will invariably create rubbish about 10 minutes down the road once the car gets to another village and the stuff has been eaten

a good example is Ballinalack on the way down to longford. the village itself is spotless, but the next two villages - rathowen and edgeworthstown always have supermacs rubbish thrown along the verge, even though they don't have a supermacs

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    any village that has a fastfood outlet will invariably create rubbish about 10 minutes down the road once the car gets to another village and the stuff has been eaten

a good example is Ballinalack on the way down to longford. the village itself is spotless, but the next two villages - rathowen and edgeworthstown always have supermacs rubbish thrown along the verge, even though they don't have a supermacs

I've seen bags from McDonalds or Supermacs thrown on the same road as in original post, and the nearest town that has any of those fastfood places is 50km away (an 1 hour drive easily).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

I've seen bags from McDonalds or Supermacs thrown on the same road as in original post, and the nearest town that has any of those fastfood places is 50km away (an 1 hour drive easily).

they were probably slow eaters, or forgot about them
    the fast food outlets should have the location of the chipper on the packaging. at least then you'd know where the stuff is coming from

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

I was behind a van on the M8 at Glanmire one night and noticed that several black bags seemed to be getting flung from the side, Someone must have been in the back of the van throwing them out the side door.

When I travelled the road the next day it looked atrocious with rubbish everywhere but at least the Crows were happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭cena

The woods near me has always got rubbish left in it even on the road.

Anyone see it on the motorway heading from athlone to dublin where you stop for a rest etc always got rubbish there.