Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Project future classic: Fiat 500.

• 18-10-2012 4:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭

Decided to do up a little(maybe big) thread of my little future classic project. :)

The project started from me always being interested in seeing old cars and cars that I remember being around as a kid surviving in good condition and always saying I'd love to keep some modern cars and lock them away until they become classics.

When this Cinquecento sporting came into work over heating I didn't take much notice originally. The customer didn't want to pay to have it fixed so gave us the log book to have it scrapped. It sat in the yard for almost a year until I had to move it one day and noticed something about it(I hadn;t worked on it when it first came in). It as less then 30k original miles, still has its original tyres, hadn't got a single dent or scratch to be seen nor any rust whatsoever. It also has all its original manuals, sales reciept, original PDI inspection sheet etc.

Some pics after I washed a years worth of moss and tree debris off it:

1-1.jpg

3.jpg

2.jpg

In order to get it home it needed a rad which was burst. A trip to our own DGT sourced one and she was fired up. a couple of tests done and all was found ok(i.e headgasket). The car also needs a new headlight and a side indicator that was missing.

During the 70odd km drive home it didn't miss a beat other then a fairly major wheel balance issue at 100kp/h+.

with it home I decided to start with lots of cleaning to get rid of the remaining dirt in all the recesses that would eventually lead to corrosion if left untouched.

To start, another wash to get right in around the wheel arches, door jams etc:

8.jpg

Then the engine bay got a first power wash:

9.jpg

Then I gave the interior a clean and hoover(it was pretty spotless anyway). Original Fiat mats too:

25.jpg

26.jpg

Roof lining with rare(I'm told) sunroof cover:

27.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Next was to get some tyre shine on those almost 15 year old tyres to help prevent them perishing(somehow they haven't already):

28.jpg

29.jpg

Next, the boot and footwell, again already pretty immaculate:

10.jpg

All cleaned and back together with original tool kit and spare, unused, wheel:

12.jpg

Next, the boot lid and boot surround. This had very bad build up of caked on dirt and tree sap etc...so the advantages of a simply assembled car came into play:

11.jpg

16.jpg

Before and after(opposite sides I know)

18.jpg

17.jpg

Boot seal removed and given some rubber care too to stop perishing:

15.jpg

The doors and door shuts where next:

Door bin removed and cleaned(was full of sticky stuff):eek::

35.jpg

The grime:

22.jpg

23.jpg

24.jpg

Removed the rain gutter to clean properly:

32.jpg

And all cleaned:

34.jpg

Fuel filler recess/cap was looking pretty manky too:

30.jpg

31.jpg

Lots more to do, paint restoration and under sealing being the main ones. Headlight and some minor parts needed too but having a work colleague making regular trips tom Poland will make sourcing parts very easy and cheap.

More to follow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭gravity10

Very interested to see how this pans out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Does it have the same engine as newer (2000) Seicento 1.1?
    Asking cause have some parts left over, if that is the same engine i can donate timing belt kit to you(if you want...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

wonski wrote: »
    Asking cause have some parts left over, if that is the same engine i can donate timing belt kit to you(if you want...)

They're both the 1108cc engine anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Same engine, different numbers and crank pulley.

I had one of those sunroof linings, let it go with the other Sei....! :(

Get the car up on ramps and check the battery tray and chassis legs, can go rotten if left lying up for to long

Shall be keeping an eye on this :D

I'd leave the unleaded fuel sticker on for originality

colm_mcm wrote: »

I think its meant to be on the inside of the flap!

A new timing belt kit was on my list of things to do. Very kind offer. I'll check the part numbers when I go back to work(I'm 99% sure they are the same kit) and I'll give you a shout.

dgt wrote: »
    Same engine, different numbers and crank pulley.

I had one of those sunroof linings, let it go with the other Sei....! :(

Get the car up on ramps and check the battery tray and chassis legs, can go rotten if left lying up for to long

Shall be keeping an eye on this :D

Had it on the ramp fitting the rad and there was no signs of rust anywhere:D
    colm_mcm wrote: »

Definatly, along with the mudflaps from the original Fiat dealer.
    I think its meant to be on the inside of the flap!

I must check that. It certainly doesn't look like it was put there recently though.

It' looks like it's been there a while alright :pac:

Both Tempras have an unleaded sticker inside of the fuel flap. The Bravos have them written on the cap itself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭Tropheus

Looks great. I remember those Pirelli P700-z tyres on my 1994 Punto GT. Great as they were, they still couldn't cope with the wheel spin from the 1.4 Turbo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

wallpapers_fiat_cinquecento_1994_1_b.jpg

Seems like it is in the right place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Following this, I had forgotten you got this little yoke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 866 ✭✭✭renofan

Following this too. If I'd the space I'd love to do this to a Ford Ka as it was my wife's, (and probably 1000's of others), first car. I still have mine and intend doing what you are doing to the fiat next summer hopefully as I have no shed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

Nice to see this being saved, those Cinq Sportings are like a little go-cart.
    Pics reminded me they've the smallest acc pedal I think I've ever seen - definitely for Italian loafers not Doc Martens

Have been trawling for a while to find one with that sticker, I guess most were torn off :)

Another nice original feature so..:D

The original paperwork that came with the car:

Service book, owners manual, warranty book, original PDI report, Original sales receipt , original AA membership confirmation and the last tax disk.

36.jpg

Insurance form showing the price £7,700:

371.jpg

Service book showing at was serviced just over 10k ago......although that was also over 13 years ago:eek:

381.jpg

Interesting section in the service book..seems Fiat may have been trying to account for Irish owners terrible maintenance habits.

391.jpg

Semi interesting nugget, owner was obviously a fiat man.

Previous car:

Registration 95WH721
    Make FIAT
    Model PUNTO
    Description 55 SPORT 8V
    Fuel Type PETROL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Wheelnut

A find like this would be my dream come true! I'll be watching with interest.

An added interest for me is that I'm from Athlone and I know the people and garages named in those documents with the exception of the original owner, although I have a suspicion who he might be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Check tyre pressures every 3000 miles? That does sound like it's rightly suited to Ireland... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

i remember seeing this little thing in the flesh a while ago

god that interior is so clean !

i bet MM couldnt even get a carpet that clean and crisp (:pac:)

was this the car that your woman just left in the garage with a fake phone number and laughed as you took it in ?

i remember seeing this little thing in the flesh a while ago

god that interior is so clean !

i bet MM couldnt even get a carpet that clean and crisp (:pac:)

was this the car that your woman just left in the garage with a fake phone number and laughed as you took it in ?

No, she left the correct number alright....just didn't answer it for months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

I think that's fab. There again, I would. I'm a purveyor of all things automotive. I like nice cars. I drive nice cars. I'd some beauts. And some woofs. I'm not un-accustomed to having a Porsche. Or 2.

But, the car that I remember with most fondness ?....my Cinquecento Sporting, which I bought NEW, in 1996. In the best colour, of course - Sporting Yellow :p:) :):)

In fact, ah, I came across another 1-owner small Fiat lately, that would otherwise be destined for the crusher, but I couldn't let it, so entered the world of Bangernomics :D OK, it's the Cinq's ugly sister: the Seicento. And not a sporting, but a lowly SX. Still, it's a hoot. Small cars are Fun.

Timing belt done on it during the week, should be ready for me to 'do a ND Clean' on it, then.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭advertsfox

Hows the progress coming along now @Nissan doctor? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

galwaytt wrote: »
    I think that's fab. There again, I would. I'm a purveyor of all things automotive. I like nice cars. I drive nice cars. I'd some beauts. And some woofs. I'm not un-accustomed to having a Porsche. Or 2.

But, the car that I remember with most fondness ?....my Cinquecento Sporting, which I bought NEW, in 1996. In the best colour, of course - Sporting Yellow :p:) :):)

In fact, ah, I came across another 1-owner small Fiat lately, that would otherwise be destined for the crusher, but I couldn't let it, so entered the world of Bangernomics :D OK, it's the Cinq's ugly sister: the Seicento. And not a sporting, but a lowly SX. Still, it's a hoot. Small cars are Fun.

Timing belt done on it during the week, should be ready for me to 'do a ND Clean' on it, then.

There was and maybe still is a low cost Irish Motorsport event for seicentos methinks, lightning might know, no cages or non standard stuff needed. Check out Leo nulty Facebook

advertsfox wrote: »
    Hows the progress coming along now @Nissan doctor? :)

No much at the moment unfortunately as I've had a couple of other projects on the go at home(not mine).

I've been gathering a few bits for it though, I have a timing belt and water pump to go on, a new cam cover gasket, and some waxoil as the next main job will be a cleaning and undersealing the car.

....update on my Fiat 1.1 'find'...........had new t/belt, basic service done etc, and went in for NCT today.......failed !! :(

Failed on two things:
    1. Handbrake travel 'excessive'. Can't say I disagree - they were shyte, new, they're even more shyte at 13 yrs old !!..........the only issue I had with my new Cinq was the handbrake as well........
    2. Couldn't do emissions test due to a misfire............ hmmm...........it has span new plugs, and when I went out to drive it home, it was perfect. But there is something amiss, just went out now and it's definately out-of-kilter. Are these prone to coil or lead breakdown ND ?? It's worse when cold, seems to completely miss one cyl firing every now and then........

At least I know all else passed, so it's not going to be a big bill either way, but that 1.1 engine should always be eager.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

1. Handbrake travel 'excessive'. Can't say I disagree - they were shyte, new, they're even more shyte at 13 yrs old !!..........the only issue I had with my new Cinq was the handbrake as well........

Assuming you have a standard car you have these shoes

fiat-seicento-11-187-1998-2004-mintex-brake-shoes.jpg

You have 2 options:
    • Take off drum, relieve pressure off shoe and rotate silver collars (round bit in pic) outwards. Adjust shoe up or down to allow drum to fit snugly
    • Above the heat shield is the adjuster for the handbrake cable. 2 x 13mm nuts. Loosen one, adjust the cable to suit, tighten the whole lot up.
    2. Couldn't do emissions test due to a misfire............ hmmm...........it has span new plugs, and when I went out to drive it home, it was perfect. But there is something amiss, just went out now and it's definately out-of-kilter.

Plug leads break down internally, try a new set first if you have new plugs. Cheaper than a new set of coils!

....update on my Fiat 1.1 'find'...........had new t/belt, basic service done etc, and went in for NCT today.......failed !! :(

Failed on two things:
    2. Couldn't do emissions test due to a misfire............ hmmm...........it has span new plugs, and when I went out to drive it home, it was perfect. But there is something amiss, just went out now and it's definately out-of-kilter. Are these prone to coil or lead breakdown ND ?? It's worse when cold, seems to completely miss one cyl firing every now and then........

At least I know all else passed, so it's not going to be a big bill either way, but that 1.1 engine should always be eager.

At 13 years old then the plug leads should definitely changed. Mine has a slight miss when cold too so leads are on the list. Is your rocker cover leaking at all? Its common for these to leak oil down into the spark plug recesses and cause misfires sometimes.

When I fired up the cinq to drive it home after fitting the new rad it was missing badly. Pulled off the leads, cleaned the oil and sprayed wd40 into the leads as a temporary measure and its drove home perfectly.

At 13 years old then the plug leads should definitely changed. Mine has a slight miss when cold too so leads are on the list. Is your rocker cover leaking at all? Its common for these to leak oil down into the spark plug recesses and cause misfires sometimes.

When I fired up the cinq to drive it home after fitting the new rad it was missing badly. Pulled off the leads, cleaned the oil and sprayed wd40 into the leads as a temporary measure and its drove home perfectly.

No oil on the head, plugs etc new. Bought a set of leads on micksgarage last night - 4 new Beru ones for.........€19.00 -delivered ! Wouldn't pay you to even test the old ones !
    Plug leads break down internally, try a new set first if you have new plugs. Cheaper than a new set of coils!

....would you believe new Beru coils for it are only......... €29, delivered - and being twin coil packs, it only has 2, not 4.

Don't you just love cheap car motoring !

Ode To The Motorist

No oil on the head, plugs etc new. Bought a set of leads on micksgarage last night - 4 new Beru ones for.........€19.00 -delivered ! Wouldn't pay you to even test the old ones !

....would you believe new Beru coils for it are only......... €29, delivered - and being twin coil packs, it only has 2, not 4.

Don't you just love cheap car motoring !

We got a second hand 1.2 punto engine for a customer last week and the 'new' engine had most of the sensors/coils/injectors etc still attached so I kept them as spars for the Cinq. Also kept the rocker cover off the old engine to clean up and paint when I eventually get around to tidying up the engine bay properly.

...leads arrived today - 10 mins and new ones on (had to take off airbox to get to two of them), and..........like a new car.

Will drive it a bit first to confirm it's 100% cured, though !

Have to say, got a spin in a Cinq the other day, and much as I love them.......I love the PAS in the Seicento too !!

Ode To The Motorist

....ah wollox.

re-tested today, handbrake 100% cured.

Armed with it's new ign leads, I was able to get it test for.......emissions, however, off the clock. Literally.

Low Idle: CO 10.59% / HC 1,213 ppm
    Hi Idle : CO 13.83% / HC 1,378 ppm

Funny thing is - it ran very well. I didn't start it at all since before Christmas, and it started fine, but there's still something up when it's stone cold. Injector ?

So, this was supposed to be a bangermonics car: its' turning into more 'banger' than 'nomics', so I might just call it a day unless a really simple cheap fix is obvious. I've already spent more on servicing it and t/belt etc than I did for the car, so I need to learn when to call it a day and walk away....... :(

So, any ideas.............or do I just call this EoL ?

Ode To The Motorist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

Rent a cat ! Or maybe Nissan doc will give you a lend of his Cat, although maybe more to do with cold start enrichment not going off when it heats up. Emissions are so far out it must be something obvious like a temp sensor. Keep at it for the sake of 28 euro retest.

I googled running rich after I wrote above , blue sensor on the inlet manifold according to these lads

http://www.fiatforum.com/cinquecento-seicento/315965-running-rich.html

There is not a chance in hell that a replacement cat would sort those emissions levels. There seems to be a pretty major air/fuel ratio problem there.

I did a little more on this today, Just started getting the underside ready for cleaning and undersealing.

40.jpg

A couple of oil leaks from the engine will be sorted down the line when the engine gets an overhaul.
    43.jpg

I removed any heatshields, arch liners and other parts that cover any of the metal underside to check for hidden dirt or rust.

44.jpg

45.jpg

All area's uncovered and ready for cleaning

42.jpg

When everything's spotless it'll be getting a coat of this..

47.jpg

Lots more to come.....and warmer weather hopefully:eek:

ND don't forget to drop the tank, you'd be surprised how much rust that can develop there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

I did a little more on this today, Just started getting the underside ready for cleaning and undersealing.

40.jpg

A couple of oil leaks from the engine will be sorted down the line when the engine gets an overhaul.
    43.jpg

I removed any heatshields, arch liners and other parts that cover any of the metal underside to check for hidden dirt or rust.

44.jpg

45.jpg

All area's uncovered and ready for cleaning

42.jpg

When everything's spotless it'll be getting a coat of this..

47.jpg

Lots more to come.....and warmer weather hopefully:eek:
    A nice car and a lovely project on your hands. Id avoid using that hammerite underseal on the car though especially on the arches. It's very thin and chips easily leaving moisture/grit into the metal.

ND don't forget to drop the tank, you'd be surprised how much rust that can develop there!

The exhaust and tank have yet to come down...but they will. I may even take a leaf out of your book and drop the engine so everhauling that will be easier too :D
    JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    A nice car and a lovely project on your hands. Id avoid using that hammerite underseal on the car though especially on the arches. It's very thin and chips easily leaving moisture/grit into the metal.

Cheers, what type/brand would you recommend? On the subject of chipping though, It will likely be many years before this car see's the road again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

The exhaust and tank have yet to come down...but they will. I may even take a leaf out of your book and drop the engine so everhauling that will be easier too :D

Cheers, what type/brand would you recommend? On the subject of chipping though, It will likely be many years before this car see's the road again.
    Tbh the stuff you have will be grand if the car isn't going to be in use much. I found that when I applied it to my car that it stayed nice and tacky for around three months and then dryed up and started to get chipped from stones on the road. It's just too thin for arches imo.

If I was applying underseal again to my car Id probly use this stuff on the arches http://www.spraygunsdirect.co.uk/product.php?tid=159&products_id=7257 (tbh Iv'e never used the stuff before but Iv'e heard good things about it and it's suppose to be like original rubbery factory underseal). On the chassis id just use clear hammerite waxoil. Btw that car you have looks like a little cracker. It looks like really genuine example.

....ah wollox.

re-tested today, handbrake 100% cured.

Armed with it's new ign leads, I was able to get it test for.......emissions, however, off the clock. Literally.

Low Idle: CO 10.59% / HC 1,213 ppm
    Hi Idle : CO 13.83% / HC 1,378 ppm

Funny thing is - it ran very well. I didn't start it at all since before Christmas, and it started fine, but there's still something up when it's stone cold. Injector ?

So, this was supposed to be a bangermonics car: its' turning into more 'banger' than 'nomics', so I might just call it a day unless a really simple cheap fix is obvious. I've already spent more on servicing it and t/belt etc than I did for the car, so I need to learn when to call it a day and walk away....... :(

So, any ideas.............or do I just call this EoL ?

Just an update.......car flew threw NCT today: cause of mad-as-hammers emissions.... ?..........head gasket.....there goes the cheap car theory !!

Otoh, it's absolutely flying and I have a 2014 NCT Cert !!

Stripped car interior and washed seats last w/end, the rims need doing this w/end - they're shocking !

Ode To The Motorist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

You've wasted money but I applaud you for saving a nice wee little car from the death penalty :)

unkel wrote: »
    You've wasted money but I applaud you for saving a nice wee little car from the death penalty :)

Well I have wasted money. But to buy, repair tax and insure it cost just over the tax on the Saab, so if it runs for 6 months I should be ahead by then.

The Saab won't be used or taxed again, so is on the market.

Ode To The Motorist

...sorry for the hijack, but hardly worth a thread of it's own.......

........update, suitably LIDL'd and tarted Bangernomics, NCT til 2014 :)

245612.jpg

245613.jpg

245614.jpg

Ode To The Motorist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Wheelnut

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    .... Id avoid using that hammerite underseal on the car though especially on the arches. It's very thin and chips easily leaving moisture/grit into the metal.

I've never used that underseal in arches but I've used it elsewhere for repairs. As you say it can be too thin if painted on, so I "plaster" it on using a wide paint-scraper. It's not really suitable for brushing.